We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and with excellent setting overlooking the river” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residencial Mares

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Residencial Mares
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Tavira
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
254 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Comfortable and with excellent setting overlooking the river”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights. It was our first time there but our fourth Tavira stay and we rated it as the best accommodation that we have had there. It was all very clean and well decorated with all modern conveniences - including a powerful electronic wall hairdryer! The rooms were a good size and well furnished and with an attractive mix of more traditional Portuguese nd more modern style.

The shower was also powerful and there was always plentiful hot water. The beds were firm, which we like. There was a flat screen tv and en suite bathroom.

It was the only place we stayed this time which had a fridge in the room and which was welcome. It also had A/C. Unfortunately, the free wifi was very hit and miss, and this included for the desk staff too. A number of guests complained of this and one said he would never book accommodation without wifi. We were told variously that this was to do with their server and also the need for stronger routers and which were on order.

Reception was 24 hr pd and with English speaking staff.

Breakfast as taken at the restaurant downstairs via the Residencial, though it belonged to others and functioned as a separate business after breakfast. It was a reasonable buffet and with good coffee. It was cramped given the massive and squashed together furniture unless it was warm enough to eat outside.

We made the mistake of having dinner there one night and were distinctly under impressed with the quality of the food and the general presentation. A real shame as there are so many good places to eat in Tavira. This time we especially enjoyed Brisa do Rio, Jamie's Cozinha and Rive Gauche. The ice creams are also generally great!

We coincidentally arrived on April 25 (Independence Day), a public holiday and the start of a 4 day festival of local foods and crafts by the river. Each evening there was also a free concert, our favourite being the 2 young women singing fado (the national type of nostalgic music), and that evening a lot of the local older women were in the audience enjoying the entertainment.

The Residencial is beside the Rio GIlhao, near the fishermen's landing, though we only heard the 7.30 am siren once. It is only two minutes walk to the old fish market, which is the start of the central town. The building is a typical one in that it rambled all over upstairs in an attractive manner with 2 floors of bedrooms on varying levels. Rooms at the front overlook the river; first floor ones have French balconies, and the second floor ones have good size balconies. We had 212, which was the one nearest town and, we thought, the best view with the end corner balcony.
The restaurant was not busy, and we had no rising noise as some reviewers wrote.

There is also a several levels roof terrace for guests.

At the eastern edge of town is a modern shopping centre - large Continente sign identifies it. There are lots of good shops there as well as the afore mentioned supermarket. On the 2nd floor is a food court and a large sun terrace with stunning views over the salt pans and towards the sea.

Room Tip: 212 on 2nd floor overlooking the river. No undue noise as others reported. Better balconies on that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FandRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    78
    43
    15
    4
See reviews for
29
108
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Located right on the river, in the old town, Residential Mares is perfectly located in Tavira. The reception staff didn't have the traditional Portuguese warmth, though wee helpful enough. Rooms were a bit basic, though had a bit of local 'colour' and were clean, fair sized and quiet - all we needed.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell River, B.C.
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

We really liked the ease of finding this hotel. It is very small as are the rooms. The staff is very friendly. Nice breakfast included.
We did not like the siren going off in the mornings at 7:30. On questioning the desk clerk on found that it means the fish boats have come in.

Room Tip: not the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank champion51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beckenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

We spent three days in Tavira and stayed at Residencial Mares. Our room (12) was spacious and clean with a large separate bathroom. There is a flat screen TV, fridge and free wi-fi. Breakfast is served in the restaurant next door. There was plenty of choice and the tables overlooking the river were very nice in the morning sun. The hotel is a small family run place and the staff were friendly and helpful. The location is great - 5 mins walk from the pretty town centre and 2 mins from the ferry terminal to take you to the beautiful beaches of Tavira island. There is a good supermarket called Pingo Doce on the other side of the river for supplies. Lots of restaurants and bars in Tavira itself.

Room Tip: Room 12 was near the back so is quieter and more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank millymitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xi'an, China
Level Contributor
207 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

Unable to get a nice river-view double room due to being full, I ended up with a single overlooking the back street, but this in itself was quite pretty and I ended up with a very comfy double bed, so it was a bonus. The room was clean and the fridge was a nice bonus on hot evenings, though, albeit clean the bathroom was a little on the tatty side.
A very nice place to stay in terms of location, but Tavira itself is the real star.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LiJames77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

We found this was in an excellent position, just opposite where you got the boat to the beach. It was clean and the staff were all very helpful and friendly. It was nice to sit and have breakfast outside, we would recommend this hotel as a clean and good value place to stay and also very quiet at night.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

Wehad no idea what to expect for the (almost ridiculously reasonable 45 euros per night, including breakfast) price for this hotel, but we were far, far more than just satisfied with our air-conditioned room with small plasma TV, quiet, as requested-it was at the back- and with a quaint bathroom, with lovely old cream-and-blue tiles. It has a lovely sun terrace on the roof, with tables and loungers, and fantastic far-reaching views. The breakfast is not luxurious, but has a good range of breads, jams,fruit, yoghurt etc.-impossible to leave hungry.Reception was helpful and friendly-and had good English. Tavira itsself is a fantastic place-loads of lovely churches and buildings, and a beautiful Roman bridge. The river (which the Mares overlooks) is lovely-arguably the best site in the town. We could,for a little extra, have had a room with balcony at the front. We found several very reasonable restaurants within easy walking distance. We will most certainly return, both to Tavira and this hotel (although maybe when it's slightly cooler.

Room Tip: As the restaurant is at the front, a room at the back might suit people looking for a quieter stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank greenfingersfishes8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tavira hotels
0.4 mi away
Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel
0.1 mi away
Vila Gale Tavira
Vila Gale Tavira
#5 of 15 in Tavira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tavira Garden
Tavira Garden
#11 of 15 in Tavira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
#4 of 15 in Tavira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
1.2 mi away
Vila Gale Albacora
Vila Gale Albacora
#2 of 15 in Tavira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cabanas Resort Park
Cabanas Resort Park
#3 of 15 in Tavira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residencial Mares? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residencial Mares

Property: Residencial Mares
Address: Rua Jose Pires Padinha 134-140, Tavira 8800-354, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Tavira
Amenities:
Beach Spa
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Tavira
#4 Spa Hotel in Tavira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residencial Mares 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Residencial Mares reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residencial Mares Tavira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing