We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“two days in Tavira”
Review of Residencial Mares

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residencial Mares
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Tavira
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Good location overlooking river. Since Tavira is a small town pretty much everything is in walking distance - the castle, the roman bridge, indoor market, bus and train stations. The ferry to the beach was probaby the furthest away - a 15-20 minute walk, but it takes you past the salt ponds which are kind of interesting. The rooms are quite small but clean. When we wanted more room we just went to the common area or the rooftop terrace - which we had to ourselves both evenings, probably because it was before the summer season. The included breakfast was good and the hotel restaurant was excellent. Staff was very accommodating when we asked for an extra bed for one of our adult sons. For the price, this was a great place to stay.

Room Tip: We noticed that there were some tiny rooms up on the terrace, probably just big enough for a bed and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kabincolorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (204)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 204 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2012

Great location right in the centre of town, well appointed budget style accommodation with breakfast included which is always a bonus! Tavira town is over rated, I really didn't see much that was of interest nor is there any beautiful scenery or the like, so I would suggest to spend no more than one night here (if even that!) but this hotel is perfect for a quick stopover. The hot water worked well with a nice bath tub, airy rooms with small balcony overlooking the street. Service was great and hospitality welcoming, a selection of books to read and pay metre parking right opposite the hotel which is very convenient when lugging suitcases around. Great budget stay in a sleepy holiday town with which we were very impressed. Our room was located directly above the restaurant which can be quite noisy at night up until about midnight.

Room Tip: Perhaps suggest requesting a room away from directly above the restaurant as it can be quite noisy a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnnikadeBruijne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Excellent downtown location (overlooking river estuary - fishing boats, birdlife - if you get a front balcony room). Train and bus stations within walking distance, ferry to beaches nearby. No lifts, parking in public carpark (adjacent but need to pay). Hot water and heating a bit hit-and-miss. Breakfasts fairly basic, restaurant (under different management) expensive, but plenty of others in close proximity. Reasonably comfortable, staff try hard. Good base for touring round (walking, beaches)

Room Tip: Balcony rooms at front overlook the river, but didnt get the sun (February)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SidcupWhinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

Residencial Mares was a nice little place. The reception staff were extremely friendly and helpful and asking us if there was anything we needed help with. The hotel was located in a central part of Tavira, close to the shops and to the bus station. The room itself was quite basic and no real luxuries, the television was quite small. No internet provided in the accommodation. There was a place to do laundry just down the road so that was good. Breakfast was included in the price, so that was appreciated. Good value for money as it was reasonably cheap to stay there. Overall, if you are on a budget and looking for a cheap, basic place to stay in Portugal, then I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 29AJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

I thought it was okay, but my family was skeved out. Terrace was great though. Town is overrated by travel guides. The seafood and rice at the hotel -different than paella - was terrific.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

Although staff were very friendly, they did not seem to have much knowledge about local information that related to anything outside the immediate zone of their hotel. We received a lot of 'I'm not sure where that is' and 'maybe, I woudn't know' type responses. Considering Tavira is a small town, we were surprised at the lack of knowledge. Also, the breakfast buffet was very poor quality. We did not bother going back for our second morning but went to a local cafe that was far superior. The bread and eggs were of low quality, the coffee lukewarm, very little fruit selection, the cold cuts and cheeses were clearly cheap and out of supermarket packets with no flavour. This was a shame because it seems so easy in a place like Tavira to do breakfast cheap and well.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ethansparty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2011

They must have given us the best rooms in the building, overlooking the river (whence we watched the fireworks from the June festival). Staff were always helpful. Location is excellent: across the street from the ferry to the beach island, five minutes from the main square and castle, and minutes from great restaurants.

Room Tip: definitely make reservations early!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidByKayak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tavira hotels
0.4 mi away
Maria Nova Lounge Hotel
0.4 mi away
Pousada Convento Tavira
1.1 mi away
Vila Gale Albacora
Vila Gale Albacora
#3 of 15 in Tavira
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
#4 of 15 in Tavira
400 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vila Gale Tavira
Vila Gale Tavira
#7 of 15 in Tavira
1,120 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residencial Lagoas
Residencial Lagoas
#11 of 15 in Tavira
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residencial Mares? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residencial Mares

Address: Rua Jose Pires Padinha 134-140, Tavira 8800-354, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Tavira
Amenities:
Beach Spa
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Tavira
#6 Spa Hotel in Tavira
Price Range: $49 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residencial Mares 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Residencial Mares reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residencial Mares Tavira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing