We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tavira Garden
Nearby Hotels
$158
$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$159
$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$139
$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$216
$209
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$133
$125
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Residencial Lagoas(Tavira)(Great Value!)
$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$84
$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (123)
Filter reviews
123 results
Traveler rating
35
52
24
7
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
35
52
24
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbusy roadhuge loungeself cateringsofa bedwashing machineminutes walk awaysmall poolsmall supermarketapartment was cleanout of seasoncomplexpoolseurosgymtownpropertiessalt
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 123 reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We have just had a great week in Tavira Garden. The complex itself is superb. All kept immaculately clean, I.e. pathways, swimming pools, gardens etc. We were in both pools eveyday with our little girl. The house we stayed in was also more than adequate. (15e, duplex apartment.)
The downside I would say was where the complex is situated....this caused 2 drawbacks for us. 1) we couldn't walk into town as we expected...it is simply too dangerous to get over the main road, and around the island to then walk what would be a pleasant short stroll. We might have risked it with 2 of us, but with a 2 year old in a buggy, no chance! We just got taxis (4-6 euros each way) or buses, which stopped right outside (1 euro each) the bus was lovely, very chilled and tookmus right to the train station, or into the centre or to the ferry for the beach, would recommend using them. Secondly our apartment was right next to this busy road, so sitting out on the balcony wasn't quite as idyllic as we had imagined. The playground wasn't very good for our toddler, and the boules pitch was infested with mosquitos when we went, so that put us off going back again. That said none of these things spoiled our holiday, I would just check where on the site your accommodation is though, as everywhere else seemed peaceful! Oh and we also got a takeaway meal from the restaurant on the final night to eat in our flat. It was one of the best meals we had! Was unsure because of the cost, but highly recommend eating there.
Overall a pleasant experience,

Room Tip: Not on the corner near the road, I.e 15e or near
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank covjt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortuGolf, Owner at Tavira Garden, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

What can I say? Most reviews are highly complimentary of the complex facilities, the criticisms of the boules court and of the kids playground are certainly a first! And most people seem to find their way to the old town OK -- even with push-chairs! But, thankfully, you conclude that it was a pleasant experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

My wife and myself Stayed Tavira Garden complex for 10 nights self catering, we had an excellent stay in a very nice 1 bedroom appartment. Not done self catering for a very long time pleasant change from hotels we usualy stay in. The complex gardens and the 2 pools were well maintained as was the tennis court on site 10/10. The restaurant we were told had just changed hands and was OK but needed more staff couple of times we used it one person was the cook and bottle washer beside trying trying to serve tables. We did not hire a car so if like us walking into Tavira at the side of the busy roads not to be recommended and certainly not with small children. Best use the bus or a taxi.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bradshawbolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Myself and my partner spent a lovely week staying here. As the accomodation was very good value I had not expected much but the apartment was very pleasant and bigger than the photos on the booking website had suggested. It was very clean and despite the warm weather quite cool inside. The kitchen contained everything you would need to stay self catering, though we just ate breakfast there and ate out the rest of the time. As noted by others there is a supermarket in the shopping centre 5 minutes walk away so it is convenient. It was a 15 minute walk into the town, you do have to walk alongside the busy main road for a few minutes but then it is a really nice stroll through a quiet residential area. There is also a bus stop outside the apartments (though we did not catch the bus) and the reception staff gave us bus and train timetables and information about the area and were happy to ring for taxis etc for us.
The swimming pools were great and we used them everyday, there were plenty of sunloungers too though can imagine they get busy later on in the season and we enjoyed beers in the bar/restaurant which is located next to the pool.
I would stay here again and think it is really nicely located. The apartments are in a relaxing setting, in the Moorish style. Tavira itself is a very pretty historical town which we loved exploring,

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ruth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

My friends and I wanted a quiet, relaxing and charming get-away place close to Tavira and that is exactly what we found. I saw the pictures and read reviews posted on tripadvisor, enquired about availability on one of four properties owned by Mr. Mooney and promptly received a response. We confirmed the booking and received very detailed information about the apartment, the complex and the town itself. From first to last contact the experience was a joy.

The instructions to find Tavira Gardens were a bit confusing - given the number of roundabouts and the proliferation of signs we attempted to read as we made our way to the complex - but, at least for us, it was half the fun.

Once we arrived, we met Mr. Mooney. A wonderfully helpful, friendly man who showed us to our apartment (in which he had placed a bottle of wine and some treats) and then kindly acquiesced to our desire to check out his other properties as well.

All of them were first rate. However, the one I shall comment on is 19B, the garden flat in which we stayed. It instantly felt like home.The location of the apartment within the complex - it is set in a mature landscaped garden area near one of the pools - was ideal. As we chose to visit Tavira in December, we found the complex extremely quiet and really quite lovely. It is conveniently located very near shopping complex and cinema, and within easy walking distance of the city center.

The apartment itself boasts a first rate kitchen and breakfast bar from which you step down to a living/dining area and semi-enclosed terrace. There are two good sized bedrooms and two baths - one with a heated floor and both with heated towel racks. In brief, you'll find everything any traveler would expect, plus other features that continued to surprise us during our four day stay.

The reception office near the restaurant is equipped with a wireless connection. We opted to have a wireless hot-spot set up in the apartment. It functioned intermittently before refusing to connect. A call was then made to Mr. Mooney who made every effort to cheerfully resolve the issue. He returned several times and kindly refunded a portion of the internet charge. You cannot ask for more in terms of service.

I plan to return. My friends and I loved Tavira, we truly enjoyed Tavira Gardens and genuinely enjoyed the time we spent with Mr. Mooney.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rabsunlak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews