We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Beautiful well kept complex.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tavira Garden

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tavira Garden
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Tavira
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Beautiful well kept complex.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

We have just had a fantastic week here. The complex is stunning & well kept with one large pool & a smaller one & we mostly had the latter to ourselves. It was quiet but will almost certainly be busy in high season. Its a 15-20 minute walk into the town through a quiet residential area & there's a good supermarket just up the road. You can walk but its along the busy N125 so maybe not ideal if you have kids. Our appartment was nice with plenty of room with a balcony that got the sun from 4pm. It did suffer the usual holiday let woes of odd mismatch of kitchen ware, bizarre ornaments & slightly dated furniture but it was clean & comfortable & the towels were changed twice. Maybe a midweek clean & change of bedding would be good for a weeks stay like ours. I would recommend a stay but not in high season unless you like crowds & if you book with Owners Direct the appartments are privately owned holiday homes & from reviews i think may be to a slighlty higher standard of decor/furnishing.

Room Tip: Near the smaller pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KellyGreenteam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    39
    15
    4
    5
See reviews for
34
32
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

We have just returned from our second visit to Tavira Garden (booked through Owners Direct) and it’s just as lovely as we remembered – immaculately kept, generous grounds with lovely gardens, and great facilities. Our apartment was superb. It’s obvious it’s someone’s second home as it’s so comfortably furnished and had everything we could wish for and more, with lots of extra personal touches that made all the difference. And it was great to meet Mike and his staff again at the Tavira Garden Bistro, and enjoy more nights of great food and great company.

We love Tavira, an elegant, unspoilt Portuguese town with historic buildings, narrow cobbled streets, lots of little shops to browse around, and so many restaurants and bars to choose from.

There are lots of places to visit as well as the beaches. We particularly enjoyed Nora Cacelo, a picturesque village about 10 km along the N125 and also recommend a drive up into the hills – try lunch at the Mesa Do Come.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Judith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

We are absolutely astonished to read the recent review headlined 'Rats' about the area around Tavira Garden's restaurant. We have been regular visitors to Tavira for ages and have visited the complex and excellent restaurant many times including this year. We have never ever seen a rat anywhere near the restaurant, or indeed in any other part of the gardens or complex.

Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank CandAWorcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortuGolf, Manager at Tavira Garden, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
This review is far more in keeping with the reality of Tavira Garden (and with the generality of reviews) than the previous review to which it refers. Thank you for coming to our defence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

We went to eat at the restaurant last Friday,30/03/2012. As we went up the steps to the restaurant we realised that the trees surrounding it was ALIVE with RATS, we could not believe our eyes. Not just a few but loads in every tree. What did we do RUN

Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank carole233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortuGolf, Manager at Tavira Garden, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
Rather obviously the unexpected sighting of a rat can be disturbing and my sympathies go out to Carole in this regard. In a garden area where carob and other fruit trees abound, rats are always attracted. Tavira Garden has an ongoing, and rather successful, pest control program. While I would never claim that it is possible to eliminate rats entirely, my experience is that they are few and far between. The notion of rats swarming in the trees seems, however, simply not credible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisboa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

We had 10 days in September with family.
The apartement was nice,big with dishwasher.microwave,and almost every electric equipment.
Near a main road but quiet place.The center villa is a litlle bit far ,about 20m. There`s a shopping center 10m walk with cinemas wich is good when it´s raining.
Near from almost every beachs and Spain by car.
We liked very much and we will return.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maria04Lisboa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortuGolf, Owner at Tavira Garden, responded to this review, November 16, 2011
Many thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leven , Beverley , UK
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

Stayed for 1 week in September. Nice one bedroom apartment. Excellant site. Convenient for walk into Tavira (15 mins). Would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FCman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

My family and I had 8 superb nights at Tavira Gardens . We stayed in a private rented apartment. The facilities are exellent , especially for the kids, pool table, wifi, 2 pools, bar and restaurant on site. There is even a friday night barbecue and Karaoke for the kids! We ate in the restaurant and found the food to be of top quality , with excellent service. Mike and his staff are perfect hosts! We will definintely return... not least because my 3 children keep nagging me to. Thanks for a great time.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tavira hotels
0.9 mi away
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tavira
4.5 of 5 stars 244 reviews
1.3 mi away
Vila Gale Albacora
Vila Gale Albacora
#3 of 14 in Tavira
4.0 of 5 stars 637 reviews
0.9 mi away
Vila Gale Tavira
Vila Gale Tavira
#5 of 14 in Tavira
4.0 of 5 stars 859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Cabanas Resort Park
Cabanas Resort Park
#4 of 14 in Tavira
4.0 of 5 stars 524 reviews
6.0 mi away
Herdade da Corte
Herdade da Corte
#6 of 14 in Tavira
4.5 of 5 stars 191 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tavira Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tavira Garden

Property: Tavira Garden
Address: Sitio Cara de Pau, Estrada Nacional 125, Tavira 8800-221, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Tavira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Tavira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tavira Garden 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tavira Garden, Algarve, is a modern holiday rental apartment complex. Set on a low hill looking out to sea over Tavira town, it is an expressionist rendition of the medieval Moorish style. The lush, mature gardens boast an impressive array of palm, carob and ancient olive trees, set off by lovingly tended shrubs and flowers. The family-friendly complex is ideal for those seeking a relaxing location from which to enjoy the sun, sand and sights of the Algarve or the magnificent golf courses, hills and countryside! Disco bars and lager louts are in short supply in Tavira but two night clubs are to be found! The complex has main pool 20mx10m, second pool 15mx6m (plus 2 kids pools), full gym (with personal trainer), tennis, boules, 2 kids play areas. On-site bar, restaurant (off-season opening limited) ensures convenient wining and dining. Large supermarket 300m. Car rental on site (airport drop-off OK) but many visitors walk (10-15 min) or taxi (4 Euros) to town centre. Free WiFi internet on site in Tavira Garden main reception area (guaranteed during office hours). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Tavira Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tavira Garden Hotel Tavira
Garden Hotel Tavira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing