We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would live here if they let me...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vilacampina Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Vilacampina Guesthouse
Ranked #4 of 29 Tavira B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“I would live here if they let me...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We spent 3 nights at Vilacampina. As we pulled in, we were greeted by Sofia, the owner, who immediately made us feel at home, giving us a tour and recommendations for restaurants and things to do. Everything about the guesthouse is immaculate- beautifully designed and so clean. The outside areas were amazing, but we were there in early March and the weather was not so nice, so we didn't get to enjoy the pool or patios. (This is part of traveling in the off-season, and we feel it is totally worth it.) We did get to walk around, enjoying the almond trees in bloom. I am not sure if I have ever stayed in a cleaner hotel room- I am a huge neat freak, and I could not get a room that clean. I loved that they provided us with face masks in the room, so we could have a little facial! Margarita (Sofia's sister) was there the entire time and she was delightful. She gave us recommendations and helped us with our Portuguese. Anything we asked for, she helped us with. I was under the weather while I was there and they went out of their way to make sure I had everything I needed. We were treated like family. Every recommendation Margarita and Sofia gave us was perfect; they even had lots of tips for the rest of Portugal. The location is really nice, it feels so peaceful and authentic, but is very close to Tavira, Santa Luzia, beaches, just about everything. I would visit the area again just to stay at Vilacampina.

Room Tip: They are all good rooms. We stayed in the smallest room and it was wonderful and very spacious, with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
91
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed here for a week a few years ago....and still dream of it to this day!
We were welcomed with a glass of bubbles which is always a nice start to the holiday!
We stayed in a smaller room for the first couple of nights then moved into a bigger one for the last few with a huge balcony.
We loved the pool area and relaxed there most days as we had no car. It was lovely and quiet as we had it to ourselves most days!
Breakfast was fabulous with home made cake every day!
The house was beautiful with lots of interesting pieces from Sofia's travels. Modern and tasteful.
Even the background music was perfect!
One day we rented bikes and also visited local beaches by taxi.
In the evenings we went to tavera which had plenty of gorgeous restaurants.
We were even treated to an evening of drinks and canapés with a saxophonist at the villa with all the other guests. Superb.
Staff were all extremely helpful and delightful.
We met a lovely Spanish couple who invited us to spend the day with them driving north to some fabulous sights/beaches and whom we have stayed in contact with.
We would highly recommend villa campinia for all ages.
I have a passion for travel and never tend to vist the same place twice.... With the exception of here. We are looking forward to going back next September with our friends!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elsee187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Me and my wife just spent four wonderful nights at vilacampina. What a find, lovely staff and great hospitality from the owner Sofia. Breakfast, what can i say i could not stop eating it was a real treat, especially the cakes. Lovely area with quiet deserted beaches, a lovely part of Portugal. Will definitely be returning.

Paul & Glynis

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 600Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Just spent 7 wonderful days at Vilacampina. The best place we've ever stayed and the best introduction to Portugal we could have hoped for. Attentive but relaxed service, great local knowledge and tips especially beaches, sight-seeing and restaurants. Pool area is fab - relaxing, spacious, stylish. Thanks to Margarida especially for all her help and tips and being so nice. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annemiek d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We arrived in Faro late - around 10.30pm - exhausted after a nightmare flight, feeling slightly apprehensive having never visited the Algarve, but figuring it's a long weekend so if it's not brilliant it's not too long before heading home.

Having visited Vila Campina I have now decided I want to live in the Eastern Algarve, preferably at Vila Campina, just as soon as that unknown incredibly wealthy relative leaves me all their worldly goods.

This place is amazing and so relaxing; everything from the rooms, to breakfast, the pool and the grounds exceeded all expectations.

The one thing that raises Vila Campina above pretty much anywhere else we've stayed was the warmth and friendliness of everyone. Nothing was too much trouble, from booking us numerous taxis to persuading a busy local restaurant to reserve us a table on Sunday lunchtime.

We were sad to leave after such a brief stay and will definitely return - probably with a car as relying on taxis was a bit expensive and there's so much to see.

Room Tip: Take Margarida's advice on places to visit/eat. Try the seafood and rice stew at Marisqueira Fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RiaRy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frome
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Just had 6 glorious nights at Vilacampina - our first trip to Portugal, really feel we landed on our feet. So many superlatives. A wonderful place, great attention to detail, lovely home from home environment. Sofia and her staff are superb hosts. Breakfast is a real treat. The rooms are well appointed. The pool area is delightful and so relaxing. With a car, the Algarve is small enough explore from Vilacampina - the west coast is only 1.5hrs away and the Spanish boarder is only just over 30mins away. However although a car is certainly useful, one can still have a great short break without one (Vilacampina will organise taxis and the nearby surrounding area is certainly pleasant and fulfilling enough). Easy distance from Faro airport. Great lively restaurants within striking distance. A most relaxing and rejuvenating place to stay. We are already planning our return next year. Please don't read this, we don't want to find it booked up!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wavepower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

Vilacampina was a tremendous suprise. Not being cheap, it really was a terrific value for money by Algarve standards.
The place is beautiful and the swimming pool is gorgeous. Sofia and the rest of the staff were very gentle and helpful on helping you to get the most of your time. The restaurant tips where adequate both in quality and price. The breakfast is a must. The rooms would be perfect if they where 3 or 4 sqm larger but who wants to stay in if you have empty sandy beaches on a short drive (it may or may not include a taxi boat :-)) or you can indulge on the swimming pool.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hugo E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tavira
3.9 mi away
Vila Monte Farm House
Vila Monte Farm House
#1 of 4 in Moncarapacho
4.5 of 5 stars 391 reviews
6.1 mi away
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tavira
4.5 of 5 stars 243 reviews
4.2 mi away
Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Vila Gale Albacora
Vila Gale Albacora
#3 of 14 in Tavira
4.0 of 5 stars 632 reviews
4.5 mi away
Vila Gale Tavira
Vila Gale Tavira
#5 of 14 in Tavira
4.0 of 5 stars 856 reviews
0.0 mi away
Quinta Dos Perfumes
Quinta Dos Perfumes
#1 of 29 in Tavira
5.0 of 5 stars 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vilacampina Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vilacampina Guesthouse

Property: Vilacampina Guesthouse
Address: Sitio da Campina | CP 991C, Luz de Tavira, Tavira 8800-107, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Tavira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Tavira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Vilacampina Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vilacampina Guesthouse Hotel Tavira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing