We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful Pousada”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Tavira
Certificate of Excellence
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
106 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Peaceful Pousada”
Reviewed December 15, 2009

We stayed in November 2009 at the Convento da Graca on our way home and had an outstandingly good impression of the pousada. The hotel as the name suggests, is a renovated convent with bags of character and history.
The reception staff were very welcoming and friendly and spoke excellent English. We were given a beautiful room overlooking the gardens at the front. Very clean and quiet, the room had a very large and comfortable bed and was very well appointed.
The restaurant staff were also very helpful and put themselves out to make us feel welcome; they ensured we received a discount for being Golden Age guests. We had a top quality meal at a very reasonable price considering the standard of the hotel.
The town centre is literally a stone’s throw away and is pleasant for a stroll.
Just one small point, we thought that for a hotel of this category, the wireless internet should have been complimentary. A computer terminal was available for guests, but this needed a serious overhaul as it was full of viruses; the antivirus installed was well out of date.
Nevertheless, we can thoroughly recommend this pousada and hope to be able to stay longer next time. Well worth treating yourself!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rockmonkeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    171
    47
    18
    5
See reviews for
83
369
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2009

This is a rather new poussada opened in a former convent. Accordingly, it is very inward looking, with the rooms giving on the inside courtyard, which also hosts the outside area of the bar and of the breakfast room. The bar also has a terrace with a city view. The rooms are a bit dark and loaded with furniture, but that is an issue of test. The bathroom was really very nice, very large with a window and a separated toilet. The rooms are very quiet. Staff was very helpful and forthcoming. As usual for a poussada, it is quite pricey.

Tavira is worth a visit at least for a night, as it is very different from the other cities in the Algarve: much less tourists, but in someway also more well off. For some reasons, there is a large community of dutch expats.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CB_CH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The staff are polite but do keep very much in the background, maybe this is what some of the previous criticisms were about? It is a genteel kind of hotel with no touristy gimmicks, which suited us well. It is great to be staying in a hotel (and town) which has a completely mixed clientele, with the majority not being British! We did not feel the restaurant was good value; the various restaurants in town are so good and much better value for money, plus they have the ambience which the hotel restaurant was lacking in the evening. Breakfast however was fabulous! We caught the local bus to Vila Real and then the ferry across to Spain for the day; this proved to be a great day out if you're wanting a change of scenery.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StirlingMorgans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2009

This was our second stay in Tavira and in the Convento de Graca. We had a wonderful holiday there last year and were truly looking forward to our repeat visit this September when we booked in early August. About 10 days before our departure we were informed by email from a central booking "person" that there was an unforeseen event at the Pousada and we were now booked into the Pousada in Estoi (35kms away) for our first night. Wehad chosen Tavira as it is perfect for a shorter break (4 nights) and after getting a private transfer from and to Faro you would need to get a car to get around in the town and to get to the beach. Needless to say we were not happy with the rather anonymous rearangement of our holiday. After a couple of emails back and forth in which copied the hotel we finally came to the arrangement that we would spend the first night in Vila Gale Tavira and somebody would collect our suitcases the next day and bring them to the Pousada. When we arrived late at the Vila Gale Tavira (and had let our Taxi go) we were told that instead we had been booked into the Vila Gale Albacora, which is another 15 minute taxi drive away. The hotel I am sure is fine, but it was not how we like to holiday. We were collected the next day by the Pousada staff and in fairness to them they complemented our first night's accommodation and dinner. We had a lovely few days in Tavira but I found the Pousada dissappointing this time around. It seemed that the staff were somewhat tired. Maybe they had a busy season but in my book every night is "opening night" in the hotel business. We had a few issues with housekkeeping which were not addressed satisfactorily. Overall, and I may be unfair to the Pousada, we will be returning to Tavira in the future but will try our best to find a suitable alternative to the Convento de Graca!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daneire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 22, 2009

We too had booked to stay in Tavira for a week, and we too were asked to stay in Estoi for the first two nights, because of a wedding in Tavira. We had a wonderful stay in Estoi.There was a horse Fair on for four days while we were there. The costumes were wonderful. It was lovely to mix with local people. We had an upgraded room, a complementary three course dinner, no restriction on menu,and they came and collected us and took us to Tavira on the third day. Our room in the Convento was also upgraded, and very comfortable. Our flight was very early on our last day, and we had a wonderful breakfast in our room. The staff could not have been more helpful. We will return!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClassiqueDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2009

We booked to stay at the Pousada in Tavira for a week in September. The booking was made in January 2009 but the week before we were due to arrive the hotel contacted us and told us that because of a wedding that they had taking place the weekend we arrived, we would be unable to stay for the first night. They refused to accept that we had a prior booking and tld us we could stay in a neighbouring Pousada (Estoi) which was 30km away. They left us no choice but to stay elsewhere which meant a weekend spent checking in and out of two hotels (not ideal in a weeks holiday).
The Hotel was unapologetic. They did offer us a free meal in the restauant, only to then limit our choice on the menu. Overall, not the service I would expect in a hotel of this quality and price.
The Hotel itself is very nice. Beautiful setting and good rooms. However the service overall was poor and unconcerned with the inconvenience that they had caused. There are other similar quality hotels in Tavira which may offer better service.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonJohnlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2009

We enjoyed our stay, and as others have stated the staff is most helpful. We stayed in a superior room, and it was large and well appointed. We dined in the restaurant twice, and it was very good. Breakfast was a treat as well. Once again, the staff was wonderful. The location is perfect for exploring. The common areas are beautiful, and there was always a quiet corner to relax.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LxryTrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tavira hotels
1.9 mi away
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
#4 of 15 in Tavira
333 reviews
1.5 mi away
Vila Gale Albacora
Vila Gale Albacora
#3 of 15 in Tavira
812 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vila Gale Tavira
Vila Gale Tavira
#8 of 15 in Tavira
1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Maria Nova Lounge Hotel
2.4 mi away
Cabanas Resort Park
Cabanas Resort Park
#5 of 15 in Tavira
621 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tavira Garden
Tavira Garden
#11 of 15 in Tavira
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel

Property: Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel
Address: Rua Dom Paio Peres Correia, Tavira 8800-407, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Tavira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Tavira
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tavira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pousada de Tavira is set in the 16th-century St. Augustine’s Convent and is just a few minutes walk from the Roman Bridge over Gilao River. All of the rooms in this central Tavira hotel overlook the courtyard or the hotel’s pool garden, while some have balcony. Each has a private en-suite bathroom with tub and hairdryer. Guests can relax under shady umbrellas on the poolside sun loungers. A daily breakfast buffet is offered in the dining room or in the courtyard outdoors. The restaurant serves delectable local and international cuisine for lunch and dinner. Ilha de Tavira’s white beaches are situated just 15 minutes’ drive from the Pousada. Excellent golf opportunity is offered by Benamor Golfe Course, 7 km away. Plenty of restaurants are found near to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and getaroom.com so you can book your Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Convento Da Graca Tavira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing