We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pousada”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pousada Convento Tavira
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Tavira
Certificate of Excellence
NYC
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great Pousada”
Reviewed July 5, 2009

Beautiful place. The common areas are very opulent. the Pool and service at the pool was great. The breakfast is fantastic.

The rooms are clean and neat, but not overwhelmingly impressive and could use a little touch. That being said, that is quite picky since the rooms are real nice, just not as such when compared with the common areas which are magnificent.

Good service, very friendly. Overall, positive experience and I would recommend this pousada highly.

Tavira is a really quaint town. The Ihl de Tavira beach is fantiastic and it is a great experience getting the ferry boat to go over. The restaurants have great fish, goto Santa Luzia to eat and try the Musee de Vinho on the other side of the river Gilao.

Great place, great town.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John1164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    173
    49
    19
    5
See reviews for
87
382
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orpington, Kent, UK
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2009

This was the last of four Pousadas that we stayed in and (maybe because it was the latest to open?) the standards of service from the staff were noticably better than elsewhere. The buffet breakfast was more extensive too!
An excellent conversion of a former convent, but difficult to find and not as well signed as other Pousadas.
Tavira is a great place for eating (particularly fish) and the Restaurant Ponto Encontro is well worth a visit - excellent food and reasonable prices.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJGJAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2009

We only stayed one night but absolutely fell in love with the building. The Pousada concept is excellent (converting historical buildings into hotels) and I would be happy to pay a little more to support the concept. This particular Pousada was well done, our room was nice, the bar/common areas fantastic and the staff very friendly. Would defnitely recommend. Try calling the hotel for a better rate...when we did they took EUR30 off the website price. Tavira itself was a little sleepy (we went in off season of March) but it seems to have kept its charm and has resisted (thankfully!) the building boom.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller200802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bucks
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2009

This is a fabulous building in a great location, part of the real Portugal and not the fabricated world of golfing Algarve. A very classy refurbishment of an historic building, it oozes quality and the staff behave as if they really care and I think they do.

I had a suite but was disappointed in it. Natural light was poor, room lighting was dismal, it felt more like a nun's cell. Not worth the extra price by any means.

Great pool for relaxing, no towel problems and always room available on the sun beds. The restuarnt could not be faulted. the quality of the food, the wine and the service were 5 star, pricey but well worth it. Breakfast buffet was extensive but the hot buffet was not hot and the selection poor compared to the cold buffet and for the price of the rooms I would have expected coffee and tea to be served at the table and not self service. There were enough staff around.

BUT the downside - the aircon is not efficient, the two adjacent churches have clocks chime the hour and half hour all through the night, and about a minute apart. The dog chorus accompanies the bells. Sleep was hard to come by.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thamesterrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2008

My husband and i booked a suite for 4 nights - a bit of much needed pampering. The decor was great although more to my husbands taste than mine, the staff lovely and there were enough little touches eg fruit in the room for it to reflect what we paid for it and to overcome the little annoyances (bathroom floor flooding) On the last night we had booked to eat in the restaurant (ok but not good enough for the prices) but were disturbed an hour beforehand by the most awful wedding band ever. We'd had no warning, not even when we booked our table in reception.

Whilst the website does say it does weddings I think this particular hotel is not suited architecturally to combine weddings and guests at the prices it charges. Either the wedding is confined to a (smallish) banquting room - not what I would have wanted for my wedding - or it spills into the bar/swimming pool area already full of guests. Its not fair on either group. I don't think the hotel handled this at all well. Forewarning would have been nice - most hotels that do weddings advertise upcoming events beforehand, we weren't even told when we booked our table and given the hotel layout a quiet meal would have been impossible. Having pre meal drinks (for wedding) in the pool area means that area becomes out of bounds - wedding guests do not always endear themselves to hotel guests - I could go on. Won't return

  • Liked — beautiful building
  • Disliked — ruined by poorly planned wedding
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank rtc99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, UK
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2008

We stayed here both at the end of September and again in October. The staff were all very pleasant, willing and helpful and helped to make our stays in this beautiful place memorable. It is quite difficult to find in Tavira's one way streets, so do get a map off the internet! The pousada is situated on the top of the hill near the Camera Obscura in the old water tower. It is partially within the old castle walls, and has both modern rooms and rooms in the original part of the building, most rooms are located around the square of the old cloisters. In the warm weather you can dine outside in the cloisters which is very pleasant. The rooms are comfortable both in the old and the modern parts of the pousada. There is a small garden and an outdoor pool, as well as a secure private car park with solid metal gates. The staff will unlock these for you if you go into reception. There is only one question you need to ask, "Would you go again?" The answer for us is "Yes!"

  • Liked — comfort
  • Disliked — leaving!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank petally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2008

My wife and I recently spent a week in Tavira staying at the Pousada. We booked on the recommendation of a colleague.
This excellent conversion from convent to hotel is certainly a nice place to stay in.

On arrival the receptionist was very pleasant and welcoming and staff could not do enough for you. We were then given a peice of paper which in fact was a voting form for us to complete at the end of our stay to show who was the best member staff in our opinion. This made us feel the welcome etc was somewhat contrived.

Our room, #1, had a small balcony overlooking the small square outside of the hotel and the adjacent church gardens. I have no complaints about the room and facilities apart from the fact that the rug in the room was somewhat tired and marked/stained and could have used a deep clean.

Previous reviewers have made comment about the hotel interior which has a definite air of peace and tranquility about it and I would fully endorse those comments.

We used the bar only once whilst there as the prices were somewhat expensive. The one occasion we did have a snack, one sandwich ( 2 slices of bread, 1 slice of cheese and i slice of ham and 6 grapes) and 2 small beers the cost was 15.50 euros.
The pool area was very good with a small childrens pool as well. Enough sunbeds and parasols and on only one day was there insufficient towels and that was quickly rectified.

We did not dine in the hotel but chose to go out each night. Dinner (3 courses) incidently was 35 plus euros. Breakfast was very good with a wide range of hot and cold foods and certainly more than enough choices and plenty available. No one can criticise the amount of choice.

Having used TA Forum to look at restaurants I can definitely say Vela 2 was a great choice and certainly it had a good atmosphere in there. It was extremely popular and had a queue outside most nights.

Tavira is a lovely place to visit with some great old streets and buildings to explore and during the month of August the main square in the town hosts local entertainers from 2200 hours each night in an amphitheatre style setting. We visited most nights and found it a great way to round off each day.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank StubbingtonBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tavira hotels
0.4 mi away
Vila Gale Tavira
Vila Gale Tavira
#7 of 15 in Tavira
1,058 reviews
1.5 mi away
Vila Gale Albacora
Vila Gale Albacora
#4 of 15 in Tavira
844 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
#3 of 15 in Tavira
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Maria Nova Lounge Hotel
2.4 mi away
Cabanas Resort Park
Cabanas Resort Park
#6 of 15 in Tavira
641 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tavira Garden
Tavira Garden
#11 of 15 in Tavira
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Convento Tavira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Convento Tavira

Property: Pousada Convento Tavira
Address: Rua D. Paio Peres Correia, Tavira 8800-407, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Tavira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Tavira
#1 Luxury Hotel in Tavira
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tavira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pousada Convento Tavira 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pousada Convento de Tavira is located in the historic centre of Tavira. The Convento de Nossa Senhora da Graça da Ordem de Santo Agostinho from the 16th century was reconstructed, allowing the Pousada to be created. This hotel in Tavira is surrounded by a courtyard and sits just minutes on foot from the Roma Bridge over the Gilão River and only 15 minutes from the Ilha de Tavira beach. During your stay, you can visit the garden, dine at the Mouraria restaurant, take a dip in the outdoor swimming pool and relax in the lounge chairs. The Pousada's cloisters are perfect for relaxing or reading a book if you wish. All rooms have views of the terraces or the garden and pool and have Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pousada Convento Tavira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Convento Da Graca Tavira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing