We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Tavira
Certificate of Excellence
North Devon
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Restaurant”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We did not stay here this visit as we were staying in Quelfes, but made a point of visiting the restaurant, which as before was excellent and the staff most helpful the food was beautifully presented and it was delicious, we shall of cause visit again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    172
    48
    18
    5
See reviews for
83
376
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland
Level 6 Contributor
277 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Now looking slightly faded but still comfortable and not too expensive. Pool was empty when we were there that added to slight air of dilapidation. But some interesting courtyards and good public areas. Really excellent and helpful service. Handy hotel secure car parking. Quite close to centre of town on top of hill. 5 minutes downhill to town. Breakfast was excellent. Dinner seemed very expensive for what it was. Rooms were excellent and spacious with all the usual facilities, some rooms with views -ours overlooked empty swimming pool. Very quiet location. Can be difficult to find by car, look for big yellow building on top of hill!
Overall a pleasant stay not fantastically memorable but good value for price in a nice location.

Room Tip: Some rooms on higher floors might have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ninebanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

The Pousada de Tavira is a neat hotel but still a of a 'work in progress'. I give the staff an 'A for effort' but execution was a little off - even though everyone tried very hard. The hotel itself has a very nice location - slightly off a main thoroughfare area and next to a historic castle and church. They also have built a neat archaeological ruins viewing area underneath the hotel (to view actual ancient ruins on the convent site).

The staff is so nice that it makes it easy to forgive the slight lack of polish on the finer details...which if you bring them up, sound small and petty...but the compounding effect makes it noticeable. (example: you should not run out of juice glasses at the buffet for long periods of time and be forced to use a champagne flute for your breakfast juice...yes, definitely a champagne problem!) Weird as it sounds, the door locks were also very annoying...a very little thing but a little thing that shouldn't ever be a problem. The bed pillows were also inadequately flimsy (and only two total on a king bed).

They have a nice, gated private parking lot and the hotel is within short walking distance to a main square area as well as several restaurants just on the other side of the river. Once you park the car, you don't need to use it again while in town, though if you're staying multiple days, you'll likely want to as the town will get a little small after a few days. Lots of beach areas within a short driving distance both towards Faro as well as towards Spain.

Overall, the place was very nice and unspectacularly solid. The staff is incredibly nice, helpful, and friendly. Overall, I would definitely stay again though my expectations would be aligned to not expect perfection.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BaldEagleWings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We visited the Convento da Graca on our honeymoon in March 2013 and thought it was just fabulous. The staff were outstandingly friendly and helpful from the moment we arrived and the decor and setting were utterly charming. Here are a few plus and minus points from our stay:

+ Setting: tall corridors, elegant courtyard and spacious room
+ Staff: consistently professional and friendly - always keen to offer advice on the local area
+ Food: the breakfasts contained a wide range of fruit, cold hams, cheeses, pastries, cooked eggs, bacon and more, all of which were excellent.
+ Location: a two-minute stroll into the town and situated on a beautiful plaza by the church.
+ Live music: the attached chapel was the setting for a wonderful Fado concert while we were staying (and inspiringly cheap at just €5 for a 90-minute event).
+ Price: off-season our rooms were discounted by ~20%. It's still a relatively expensive place to stay, but we absolutely felt we were getting our money's worth.

- Noise from the street was a little loud, but this was easily solved by closing the windows and using the air con
- Matresses were a little old and unsupportive (a real shame, but not a huge problem)
- No kettle in the room (quite typical across Europe)
- Pool wasn't in action (barely an issue, as we visited in March and it is unheated)
- er... that's it.

We would highly recommend this wonderful hotel and will certainly be staying there on our next visit to Tavira. Thank-you to all the staff!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

My partner and I have just spent a week at the hotel and had a wonderful time.
About a week before we we due to arrive we received emails from the hotel to see if there was anything we needed and they arranged for a taxi to pick us up at Faro airport. From then on the staff of the hotel were unbelievably helpful, with nothing being too much trouble for them, and they always had a smile on their face. A special mention has to be made for Jorge who, despite working long hours was always smiling and cheerful.
The rooms were excellent. The mattress was a little on the hard side for our liking but the private balcony and rustic charm of the room more than made up for that. We didnt mention the bed to staff, but I am sure that if we had they would have helped with the problem. The wooden floor had a carpet around the bed and the annoying "sausage" pillows mentioned by a different reviewer were not in our room.
Breakfast was supreme, with a selection of meats and cheeses, bread and rolls, and croissants and cakes, as well as cereal and fresh fruit. There was a wide variety of tea available as well as fresh fruit juice and coffee. They even had soy milk as well.
The hotel, being a converted convent, was so relaxing and quiet. We were woken every morning to the sound of birdsong and church bells chiming the hour were audible but not annoying.
Whilst we did not try the restaurant for lunch or dinner, we did relax in the bar occassionally. Whilst the it did not always have a member of staff in it, there was a message to call recepton on the phone provided if anything was required.
I would happily recommend this hotel to anyone. Indeed we have all ready told friends and family members how good it was and would willingly stay there again.

Room Tip: Let the hotel know in advance if you have any special requests as they are more than willing to do w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bobelmwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Delightful rooms in this converted convent--a much more modern conversion than I would have expected.

We had a WONDERFUL dinner in the hotel restaurant--apparently, the Pousadas (owned/managed by the central tourist agency in Portugal) are each charged with specializing in regional cuisine, and the chef at this restaurant didn't disappoint.

Strongly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Member000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

A wonderful historic building, and a privilege to stay there. If I'm honest I'm not sure about the decor. On the one hand the dining rooms have beautiful wooden ceilings that don't seem out of place. The bar, on the other hand, could well be a Starbucks and is as bland as can be. Same with the rooms. Meaningless "sausage" cushions on the bed which just annoy and you have to throw out of the way. Bare wooden floors that are cold on the feet. I put a towel down out of the bathroom. The evening meal was adequate. Breakfast was a laughable test of initiative with complimentary ingredients (for example, milk and cereals) on different tables. I am convinced I spent more time walking around trying to find things than eating. Burners gone out on the warm options. Such a shame, as the staff seemed really pleasant. Okay, so I imagine a former convent is an expensive place to keep going. But so was my room. It should all be better.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tripper064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tavira hotels
1.9 mi away
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
#3 of 15 in Tavira
344 reviews
1.5 mi away
Vila Gale Albacora
Vila Gale Albacora
#4 of 15 in Tavira
822 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vila Gale Tavira
Vila Gale Tavira
#8 of 15 in Tavira
1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Maria Nova Lounge Hotel
2.4 mi away
Cabanas Resort Park
Cabanas Resort Park
#6 of 15 in Tavira
632 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tavira Garden
Tavira Garden
#11 of 15 in Tavira
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel

Property: Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel
Address: Rua Dom Paio Peres Correia, Tavira 8800-407, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Tavira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Tavira
#1 Spa Hotel in Tavira
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tavira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pousada Convento de Tavira is located in the historic centre of Tavira. The Convento de Nossa Senhora da Graça da Ordem de Santo Agostinho from the 16th century was reconstructed, allowing the Pousada to be created. This hotel in Tavira is surrounded by a courtyard and sits just minutes on foot from the Roma Bridge over the Gilão River and only 15 minutes from the Ilha de Tavira beach. During your stay, you can visit the garden, dine at the Mouraria restaurant, take a dip in the outdoor swimming pool and relax in the lounge chairs. The Pousada's cloisters are perfect for relaxing or reading a book if you wish. All rooms have views of the terraces or the garden and pool and have Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Convento Da Graca Tavira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing