We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for what we were looking for”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cabanas Resort Park
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Tavira
Certificate of Excellence
Devon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect for what we were looking for”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

I got a very good price on this hotel online, so was slightly apprehensive prior to our arrival. However I needn't have worried.

The location is away for the hustle and bustle, but still within a 10 minute walk of shops/ supermarket/ bars restaurants and the boat to the beach.

The hotel was very quiet and you do have to make your own entertainment, but with a 2 year old that was just fine. The pool was clean and well maintained.

Breakfast and dinner were both buffet style, and whilst neither were gourmet, we always found something to eat. Drinks were also reasonably priced.

The room was basic, but suited us just fine and the air conditioning worked well. We had a room on the 3rd floor over looking the river, again very peaceful.

All the staff we encountered were professional and helpful, a special mention should good to Christina in the restaurant who was lovely with my little girl.

All in all if you are happy to do your own thing and make your own entertainment a very good base for a relaxing holiday. If you are looking for kids activities and evening entertainment, with bars and restaurants on your doorstep, I would look else where.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DevonHungrymonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    274
    81
    17
    4
See reviews for
166
334
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

just returned back from a week at the cabanas park hotel the staff were very friendly the room was clean and the pool was clean as well.BUT there was not much if any entertainment in the evenings also we found the food very poor for a 4* hotel and very limited choice for the British we Hardly ate anything all week we were quite disappointed for the money it cost us.Would we go back NO.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GillianMaciver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

The hotel is set back in a quite area, the receptionist when we arrived was very nice although the other woman which works on reception can be nasty!

The hotel has a somewhat prison look to it with its open plan walk ways on either side.

The rooms where just your average nothing good about them really,

We has room service once, We phones them to order food the person didn't even know they offered room service? i thought this was a 4 star hotel! anyway it came I ordered a burger i got a Russell hobs microwave burger! with crisps haha i didn't bother complaining not much point. My partner ordered a salad and received a bowl of lettuce with a tomato!

I would say this is a 3 star hotel it just ticks the boxes to qualify for a 4 star!

the restaurant was very nice i couldn't not fault it at all it was great and had a good selection of food

The hotel has a boat which takes you over to the private beach which is beautiful with white sands and blue seas!

The overall area where the hotel is situated and is very quite its not somewhere for children, we got bored after the 2nd day.

The wifi is very very slow and you need to sit next to reception to get signal.!

I would recommend a car to get around! if you do stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom210218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Cabanas is a very nice little town by the "ria formosa" beach. This 4 stars hotel is located in the west part of the town near the water in a quiet place. The apartments have a good room, a living room with sofa beds, a well equiped kitchen,a nice bathroom and a balcony. Has aircon well functioning and the other guests noice isn,t much. The best rooms are those with pool view but don´t choose the ground floor because has more noise. The sofa beds are really hard but the beds are ok. The kitchen has no oven and the fridge has no frozen. on tuesdays and saturdays there are no cleanning. The swimming pool is very nice with lots of sunbeds. there´s a large lown where you can play voleyball, football, badmington... In the last floor is the solarium, sauna , jakuzzi and gimnasium. If you like to walk there are several tours in the protected area of ria formosa, as well as boat trips. to go to the nearest beach you have to walk a bit to catch the boat ( 1min to cross the river) but the beach is beatiful and without many people. The hotel restaurant is very good, home cook meals not expensive. But you could walk 15min to Cabanas and go to some fine restaurantes - Noélia&Gerónimo, Ideal and to eat the best ice creams at Gelataria mimosa. This is the place for those who love the sun, sea and good food

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariarloucao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

We flew into Faro on the 15 June for a 10 night stay at the Cabanas Park Resort hotel, from the outside the hotel is smart and well kept.
I choose this hotel as it borders the Rio Formosa nature reserve, so it suited my hobby of bird watching and had everything my wife required on site. About 30 of the rooms have splendid views of the nature reserve and I requested one of these at the time of booking and later by email. On checking in the receptionist apologised but said the hotel was fully booked and our room only had a partial view of the reserve, the following morning my wife noticed a couple checking out of one of the rooms overlooking the reserve and asked at reception if we could switch, the receptionist told her that they were far too busy and this wasn't possible. So our initial reaction to the Cabanas was fairly negative, I found the Portuguese unfriendly and unhelpful. Over the period of our stay we grew to like the hotel very much, the rooms food and general standard is excellent.
We decided that the Portuguese were just reserved and became friendlier as the holiday progressed and they got to know you.
We enjoyed having to catch the boat to the beach it's a short walk from the hotel and then another walk to the beach, from the hotel to the bar on the beach takes 25 minutes as the bar is opposite the main ferry in Cabanas town.
There are plenty of bars and restaurants in Cabanas and the prices are very reasonable its only a small resort but has a lovely atmosphere in the evenings.
Tavira is beautiful and well worth a visit, it is easily reached by bus or you can cycle there through the reserve, takes about 35 minutes or just over three hours if your a birdwatcher!
Take mosquito spray as the proximity to the reserve attracts many or buy it locally.
Several people commented on the hard beds, we found them very comfortable they were hard but they are good quality.

Room Tip: Just avoid the few rooms by the restaurant entrance door as it seems to bang when closing and don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lauriepearce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

It's a beautiful area of Portugal with a plethora of shops, restaurants, history and culture to experience. The shops and restaurants are located within a 10 minute walk from the hotel along with the transport boat to the beach.
However, the room wasn't very accommodating. The bed was very uncomfortable and consisted of two singles pushed together. Along with this, the shower was held together with duct tape to stop leakage and water leaked onto the tiled floor due to the shower design.
Overall, the only problem with the stay was the room, but the area is fantastic with a vast amount to experience whether it's site seeing, culture or history you desire.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isa645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Our stay here was lovely. There is only one drawback really, when we arrived to the hotel at around 1.30am we got to the hotel which was locked and dark with no staff to be seen anywhere. The hotel did know we would be checking in late as i had contacted them so we rang the number printed on the door of the hotel (lucky we had our phones) and the woman told us- in fairly poor english- that the key was in a mailbox... it took us about 35 minutes to understand the woman and find the key then we had to find our own room and check in the following morning.

pool is lovely, a little cold at first but clean and big. If you want a sunlounger then get to the pool early because many people stayed on theirs all day.
The food is a little hit and miss, lovely some days and alright on others. The drinks are not included in half board and are a little on the pricey side at 2.5 euroes for a small can of coke.
Cleaners come regularly and fetch clean towels.
We went on a trip with the hotels tour guide for a very good price and had an excellent day learning some local knowledge.
We also went to Palako's bar and quasi in the town close to cabanas, this is the nearest thing to night life in this area but we managed to get very bad hangovers and great memories each time!
The wifi broke twice and the hot water broke once but other than that these things were fine. Our room did not have a pool view but if you prefer privacy (which we did) then a room overlooking the grassy area and entrance is better.

We had a great time in this hotel and would go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bethany D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tavira hotels
1.0 mi away
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
#2 of 15 in Tavira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
1.3 mi away
Vila Gale Albacora
Vila Gale Albacora
#3 of 15 in Tavira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
2.0 mi away
Vila Gale Tavira
Vila Gale Tavira
#5 of 15 in Tavira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel
1.6 mi away
Tavira Garden
Tavira Garden
#11 of 15 in Tavira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
7.6 mi away
Herdade da Corte
Herdade da Corte
#6 of 15 in Tavira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabanas Resort Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabanas Resort Park

Property: Cabanas Resort Park
Address: Cabanas de Tavira, Tavira 08800, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Tavira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tavira
#4 Luxury Hotel in Tavira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cabanas Resort Park 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cabanas Resort Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabanas Resort Park Hotel Tavira
Cabanas Hotel Park
Cabanas Hotel Tavira
Cabanas Park Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing