We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything great....except the weather!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cabanas Resort Park
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Tavira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Just back from a very enjoyable 10 day stay at the Cabanas Park Resort on the outskirts of Cabanas, a short bus ride outside of Tavira.
We were a party of 3, myself, husband & our lively 15 month old son. I booked everything independently online with flights from Monarch & accommodation through onthebeach.co.uk.
The apartments are great, we requested 3rd floor looking over the stunning Ria Formosa. We were given 2nd floor but with the view we asked for so we were happy with this.
They are spacious with a separate bedroom and a living area/kitchen which is pretty well equipped, I managed to rustle up quite a few decent dinners on the nights we decided to stay in.
The complex itself was very quiet, the only slightly annoying nose was the sound of chairs being dragged across the floor in adjoining rooms. There is quiet chilled music piped throughout the hallways and several lifts to each floor so access is great.
The grounds and pool areas are very well looked after and the main pool is huge, our toddler loved the small splash pools but the downside for us was that none of them are heated and, due to the weather not being great, we couldn't make as much use of them as we would have liked.
There is also a bouncy castle (only inflated if the weather is good & not too windy) and a lone see-saw which was crying out for a couple of other pieces of play equipment to keep it company! We made good use of what was on offer but it would have been even better if there was a little more available for children.
There is a restaurant on the complex with a good menu that changes daily but we didn't have any evening meals here, we did however have toasted sandwiches one lunchtime and they were fantastic!
The small village of Cabanas is a 10-15 minute easy walk away and here you can find many snack bars & restaurants plus a handful of 'touristy' shops and 2 very small & not very well stocked supermarkets.
We enjoyed food in a number of places but 2 were exceptional and you would be crazy to visit Cabanas and not eat at Vert-In and the Cabanas Brasserie, you can read more about these in my separate reviews on here.
Tavira is a beautiful town with a really friendly atmosphere, it's easily reached by bus from the bus stop at the roundabout as you enter Cabanas. The buses aren't massively regular, there is a timetable online, and they cost €2.20 per person each way to Tavira. The journey takes about 20 minutes.
On the way you pass the big shopping centre and although there isn't really a designated stop for this, if you ask the bus driver he will stop nearby.
Tavira also has many snack bars & restaurants as well as some shops & a couple of decent supermarkets if you're wanting to stock up and cook some meals in your apartment.
If you're a beach-lover then you have a couple of beaches within easy access, Cabanas beach can be reached using the free boat provided by Cabanas Park Resort, you catch the boat from the nearby apartments (reception will give you directions) and it takes just 2 minutes to cross the narrow strip of water. The beach is isolated, quiet, vast, sandy and stunning but has no facilities so be prepared and take with you what you will need. It can also be quite exposed when windy so depending on the weather you might want to take some sort of shelter.
The second option is Tavira beach, during the summer months you can reach this via a ferry from Tavira (this only runs June to Sept) so outside of this time you would need to take a boat taxi from Cabanas or travel to the alternative ferry port just outside Tavira (taxi required to get there). The beach itself is beautiful and there are a handful of bars / restaurants and facilities.
All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Cabanas Park Resort, we can't blame them for the weather which sadly they had no control over!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
6  Thank Beside_the_seaside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (666)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

313 - 319 of 666 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2013

We travelled as a couple and had a really nice stay here. There were hardly any families when we went and it was mostly couples it seemed. The hotel is not close to anywhere really, apart from Cabanas where there are a few shops, snack bars and a bank. Very little there really and it was a 10-15 minute walk to get there from the hotel. Nice to get out of the hotel though and explore a bit. The hotel is nice too and the room was set into three individual rooms, bedroom, bathroom and living area with a kitchenette. These rooms were set off the small entrance area. Bed was hard, but we slept well. It was actually two singles put together to make one large bed. Plenty of storage space. TV was mainly foreign channels so didn't use this really. Nice large balcony too with plastic furniture. Pool area was nice but it's very open, and therefore breezy. Pool was freezing cold! Never been in such a cold pool actually. The beach is about a 10 minute walk to the boat, which takes you about 20 feet across the river and then there's another 15 minute walk to the actual beach, so the hotel is not actually set on the beach. There was nothing on the beach, just sand and the sea. No chairs, parasols, entertainment and no where to get anything to eat or drink so be prepared!
The best thing about the hotel was by far the food and service there. If you like your food, you'll love it here. It's a buffet from 19:30 and the food was varied and plenty of it for everyone. Soups were just beautiful. There were also vegetarian options but this was usually a pasta so could get a bit boring every day. However plenty of salad etc too and you have to pay for drinks.
Whilst we had a great stay, we couldn't help but think the hotel was missing a few things...no where to buy anything/essentials etc. No shop. No proper bar that was outside, you had to go into the restaurant. You have to pay for using the in room safe (€13 we had to pay). Not a lot else around and on site at the hotel. Just wasn't a lot of activity at the hotel but maybe people like this?! We just thought they were missing a trick.
The "local" supermarket is a good 20 minute walk and is very disappointing. Hardly anything on the shelves the whole week we were there but ok for bits. So cabinets were completely empty!!
We had a nice stay though but glad we only booked 1 week in the end.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank scnickr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Splendid clean and spacious apartments and very helpful staff. A 12 minute walk to the village but all on the flat. Wonderful local restaurants and snack bars especially the 'ish canteen' which is the closest bar to the hotel with very friendly staff . Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JudithB16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Apartment is a really good size & very clean with lovely views. The swimming pools are big & well maintained, with plenty of sunbeds. We were on the top floor so no noise from above. The only down side I would agree with other reviews that the beds are very hard other than that could not fault. We planned to eat out which is just as well as the supermarkets are not well stocked & struggled to find some milk. Cabanas itself is quaint with a few bars & resturants, nice if you are looking for a relaxing holiday. Through no ones fault but my own for not doing my homework properly, I believed I had booked to go to Tavira as these apartments come up No.1 on trip advisor for hotels in Tavira & after reading the reviews stating bars & resturants only 10 min walk I thought they were talking about Tavira but was indeed Cabanas.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank richardlizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

The Cabanas is a nice and simple hotel in the resort of Cabanas, Tavira, near Faro, Portugal. It is very well located, clean and good for families on vacation. It is not expensive, has a very good breakfast and the restaurant is also good.
The swimming pools are big and clean, very well maintained.
I recommend it for families in hollidays.

Room Tip: Try to book your room in higher floors facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank OASette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Try getting an apartment on the top floor. We were on the second floor and the people above us
started dragging chairs on the tiled floor from 6.45 am. Even though we complained
at reception, it continued for the whole 10days of our holiday.
The beds were very hard, also sofa in living room. There was unusual smell in our bedroom,it smelt as if a dog had pee in the room.
The kitchenette was well stocked, all the utensils were clean
Our apartment was clean, clean towels were issued every couple of days
The free WiFi was very useful.
The local supermarket was very sparse, had to drive into Tavira for supplies.
Resort was very quite, local restaurants served good food. Great walk along the river front.
March 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
7  Thank PRIZE2210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We have visited this hotel on several occasions both in season and out staff are always helpful & welcoming my only complaint is spend some extra money on decent mattress beds are not the best but in all we always have a pleasant stay

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Michelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tavira hotels
2.2 mi away
Maria Nova Lounge Hotel
1 mi away
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
#5 of 15 in Tavira
400 reviews
2.1 mi away
Vila Gale Tavira
Vila Gale Tavira
#6 of 15 in Tavira
1,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Pousada Convento Tavira
7.6 mi away
Herdade da Corte
Herdade da Corte
#8 of 15 in Tavira
249 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tavira Garden
Tavira Garden
#12 of 15 in Tavira
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabanas Resort Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabanas Resort Park

Address: Cabanas de Tavira, Tavira 08800, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Tavira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tavira
#7 Luxury Hotel in Tavira
Price Range: $52 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cabanas Resort Park 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Otel, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cabanas Resort Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabanas Resort Park Hotel Tavira
Cabanas Hotel Park
Cabanas Hotel Tavira
Cabanas Park Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing