We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Comfortable Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Tavira Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tavira Inn
Ranked #17 of 30 Tavira B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very Comfortable Stay”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

The room was very comfortable, clean and spacious. It is a relaxing little inn that is about a 10 minute walk into the centre of town. Our room had a fridge so we could keep a few beverages and breakfast items on hand. The garden setting of the Inn is lovely, the pool area is nice for relaxing and the host Sebastio is eager to help. He suggested a dinner spot which exceeded our expectations. We enjoyed our stay here and would stay again if ever in Tavira.
This was not a negative for us but there is a commuter train that infrequently crosses above the inn. It takes no more than 10 seconds and it is gone. It does not run at night so it was no problem for us.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OHSee1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    76
    5
    7
    6
See reviews for
7
112
23
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
kent
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We went back again this year to Tavira Inn and found it to be really relaxing as usual.The Pool is very good; it is kept so clean and is always enticing. Also there seem to be no mosquitoes around at all, which is real bonus. Best of all though is the location: quiet yet so near to the centre of Tavira.
The host is always most welcoming. All in all this is the place to go if you want peace and quiet n lovely surroundings.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank visitor74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central scotland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We very much enjoyed our stay here. Our main criteria were: central location, quiet, pool and fridge and it scored on all counts. Location is good, near the river,close to bus station, and a short walk to all the cafes and restaurants. It is very peaceful (except when the trains go by on the nearby bridge and then it is really loud - however they are not too frequent and don't run at night). With only a few rooms, the pool almost feels like your own. It is a nice saltwater pool, not large but enough to get a decent swim. Sebastiao is a genial and helpful host.No breakfast is provided and although there is a cafe nearby, we opted to bring a little travel kettle so we could have a simple breakfast of tea, fruit, muesli biscuits on our balcony looking over the river - a splendid way to start the day. The balcony was pleasantly cool with good shading (it was very hot).
This place will not suit everyone of course - there is no servicing of the room, nor daily towel change, and the rooms are simply furnished (though with lots of S's pictures on the walls). The shower was a bit temperamental. However, it is good value, and, yes - different!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank malc16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
131 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Arriving from the hectic north of Europe, it took me 24 hours to chill out and relax to the southern beat; the Tavira Inn is just the place to do so and Tavira's a great town to relax in. Our room was tasteful and comfortable, not opulent but relaxing. If you want coffee makers, face cream and shower caps, a trouser press and your bin emptying daily for you, you've come to the wrong place. If you want to escape all that, you'll be happy.

Host Sebastiao is charming, helpful and fluent in English; I would certainly recommend following his advice on places to eat - we did and therefore found a couple of excellent places that we would almost certainly have missed. There are plenty of nice places to eat in Tavira and the town centre is very picturesque, not overrun with package tourists or lager louts.

Practicalities:
(1) free off-road car parking is available next to the entrance;
(2) there's a small fridge in your room where juice, yoghurts, beers etc can be kept cool;
(3) air con is available for a supplement but we found that we didn't need it in early September as the powerful fan was sufficient to keep us cool;
(4) by local standards there are strangely few mosquitos around the Tavira Inn, which is great, but you'd be foolish to sleep with the windows open. We had no problem - though I did get some mozzie/midge bites on the beach and whilst out in the evenings;
(5) the trains are infrequent and go past so quickly that the noise is not a problem;
(6) The free wifi worked well in our room
(7) there's a cafe next door which opens at 9am on 6 days a week, but we walked to the central square every day (7 minutes) for coffee and excellent cakes in the pastellaria.

Recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Downhill-Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We had a great stay at Tavira Inn! The hotel is 5 mins away from the lovely town center and it has all the commodities one might need with a really nice swimming pool. The owner Sebastao is incredibly friendly and makes all the guests feel very welcome. It is a place with a history, and a very "homey" feeling. I would definitely go back to there, and spend a little more than 4 days...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ehx66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Italy
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I were looking for a quiet place to spend some time in the Algarve. Seems like we hit the spot on the first try. Sebastiao, Tavira Inn's owner, not only is a very fun man, speaking a fluent english (which is not so common in Tavira), but is also a real artist, as you can see by his canvases and artworks around the rooms. He was really kind, suggesting us where to have some real restaurant treats outside the tourist traps. We had interesting conversations in front of a glass of wonderful portuguese white wine he offered us, and also enjoyed the small but cozy salt water swimming pool. The place is not far from downtown if you don't mind a three-minute walk. To be perfect, it should also have breakfast included. It is a matter of time though, since Sebastiao has just finished furnishing his brand new "Outside In" restaurant, which will also be the breakfast spot. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 187823Gabriele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbekerk, the Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

At a 7 minute walking distance from de centre of Tavira we found, with some help of local people, Sebastiao's place. We immidiately liked the atmosphere of the place. Sebastiao explained how it works at the 'Tavira Inn' and gave us some house rules ("don't put glasses or bottles on stony parts in the room, you'll hear it all over the place").
The room itself is OK and the bed is excellent; we slept at least 9 hours every night !
You can hear the neighbours when they use the shower and by daytime sometimes the train when it passes the bridge (10 seconds) but who cares.
The terrace, the swimming pool and the trees/plants are wonderful. We enjoyed having breakfast there and taking a swim now and then.
We had a few drinks at Sebastiao's new challence: the "Outside inn" restaurant, which was not open yet. It looks very "gezellig" (= nice&cosy). Sebastiao: thanks for a wonderful nice stay at your place

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerrit1657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tavira hotels
0.9 mi away
Tavira Garden
Tavira Garden
#11 of 15 in Tavira
109 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel
0.6 mi away
Vila Gale Tavira
Vila Gale Tavira
#6 of 15 in Tavira
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
#2 of 15 in Tavira
314 reviews
1.6 mi away
Vila Gale Albacora
Vila Gale Albacora
#3 of 15 in Tavira
768 reviews
5.4 mi away
Herdade da Corte
Herdade da Corte
#5 of 15 in Tavira
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tavira Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tavira Inn

Property: Tavira Inn
Address: Rua Antonio Afonso 39, Tavira 8800-251, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Tavira
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Tavira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tavira Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delicious place to stay! - Basic needs, reduced in service and price. - 6 En-suit double rooms and a seawater swimming pool. Air conditioning is an option. - Well located by the railway bridge just 3 minutes distance walking to center town. - 5 Minutes distance walking to boat terminal that goes to the beach - Tavira island. Better than this is the guests comments ... 4.5 Points out of 5 along 10 years ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Tavira Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tavira Hotel Tavira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing