We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A holiday worth repeating”
Review of Vila Gale Tavira

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Vila Gale Tavira
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Tavira
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A holiday worth repeating”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This hotel was booked at the last minute after the Pestana group let us down by double booking and we are very glad it happened. The hotel is a short way from the town centre next to the salt flats where you can spot some very interesting birds. Our room was clean and there was plenty of space to spread out which also applied to the rest of the hotel. The pool area was clean and we watched the staff checking the pool water quality on an evening. We had gone half board and found the food was varied and well cooked in fact choosing what to have took some thinking about because of the number of choices. All the staff were very friendly and willing to help the young man on reception even highlighted the train times on the timetable he handed us following a request on where we could travel to. It was such a relaxing great place to stay that we are looking at returning again next year which is something we rarely do.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alan_Judith6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Tavira, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are glad for the pleasure time you had with us.
We wait for you on next trip to Algarve.

Kind Regards
César Gaspar
(General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,066 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    504
    228
    53
    18
See reviews for
259
504
44
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Purley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 23, 2013

A conveniently located hotel, short distance from the town centre with flat walking.
Spacious accommodation but did find the beds rather hard and didn't like having 2 singles pushed together to make a double.
Nice pool area and had no problem in finding sunbeds whatever the time of day.
Found eating out for evening meals a good deal cheaper than in the hotel.

Room Tip: Balcony on rooms in the front get a good deal of sun in the afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank JohnFJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Tavira, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Mrs Rusty and Mr. John,

We are glad for the pleasure time you had with us.
We wait for you on next trip to Algarve.

Kind Regards
César Gaspar
(General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We spent a week here in mid september. It was our first visit and we thoroughly enjoyed it.
Plus points:-
1. Big airy spacious lobby/reception, nicely decorated in moorish style, with lots of settees etc. Comfortable rooms and beds (albeit singles, pushed together)
2.Good location, a nice 5 mins stroll to the ferry to Tavira Island, and a few minutes more to the heart of the town, all the restaurants etc.Not at all noisy at night in any of the rooms.
3. Good sized pool, lots of sunbeds.
4. Nice friendly helpful staff in restaurant . Rooms well cleaned each day.
5. Generally a very good breakfast, Plenty of nice fresh fruit etc. Fresh pancakes and fried eggs cooked to order, nice coffee, good bread & cakes, soya milk if you have a diet problem.

Minus points:-
1. The one evening meal we tried (buffet Euros22) was only ok, although to be fair that may have been us choosing badly..)
2. The bedroom walls aren't great if you get noisy neighbours, which we had but fortunately only for 2 nights.
3. Cooked breakfast ingredients ok but little variation. Some potatoes, fresh mushrooms (not tinned), would have been nice.

Overall a good hotel, and we hope to go back. Tavira is lovely, especially if you need a nice chilled out week. Also the restaurants on the island are great value, lovely fresh fish etc., and Joao Belhi restaurant along the waterfront is particularly good, low key, understated but great value, lovely fish.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the town have the most interesting views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EssexPeterb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Tavira, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you you’re comments.
Our commitment is improving day by day.

We wait for you on next trip to Algave.

Kind Regards
César Gaspar
(General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Our 2nd visit this year. Again, it is a really nice hotel situated in the heart of pretty Tavira, close to everything. Only a 5 minute walk from the ferry to Ihle Tavira beautiful beach and only €1.90 return. However, as I think I said in my previous review, the hotel's decor is looking really tired and the rooms are becoming quite shabby, especially the bathrooms. Although "cleaned"everyday day, we had footprints in the bathroom all week which were never removed the beds are still very hard.. The breakfast is still really good, cannot be faulted. The poolside was quite busy 1st week (9/9/13) but quieter after the Spanish and Portuguese children went back to school on 17th. Glad we took a city view this time, as the view is really lovely and the traffic noise dies down after 7pm. Would still recommend Vila Gale but would like to see some improvement in the decor.

Room Tip: Choose city view 3rd floor. Best time to visit if you like it a little quieter, May, or from mid Sep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JacquiWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Tavira, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Guest
We appreciate you’re review.
We will analyse you’re suggestions.

Kind regards
César Gaspar
(General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

This is the first time we stayed at this hotel. We were delighted as we arrived as the outside of the hotel was in excellent condition, nice gardens etc, and the Reception area was first class. However on closer inspection the furniture throughout the hotel is dated and well worn and could be doing with being replaced. The rooms were comfortable and kept clean by the maid. We were on the third floor with an excellent view over the town. Directly below was a petrol station but apart from the occasional car-wash there was no problem with noise.

We stayed Bed & Breakfast and were happy enough with the food at breakfast, although the cooked food did not vary throughout the week, but plenty of choice from the buffet. We stayed in one night to sample the evening buffet, mistake, the food that was on offer was not very appetising. Certainly not worth the 22 euros/head + 3euros for a bottle of water, compare to what is available in the town.

Wi-Fi was free in the Reception area but if you wanted it in the room you had to pay!!!
There was a safe in the room but if you wanted a lock you had to pay!!!
Complimentary, as we thought, bottles of water in the fridge until we checked out!!!
Small things, I agree, but all together very annoying, for a so-called 4* hotel this sort of thing should be complimentary.

The pool area was very pleasant but I think this was because we avoided school holidays and so the hotel was quiet. If the hotel was busy I doubt if we would have been able to get a sunbed when we wanted one, normally mid afternoon.

Room Tip: The room (No 3011) we had overlooking the town had an excellent view and was reasonably quiet, but w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Tavira, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest
We thank you for you’re visit to our hotel.
We believe that you’re appreciation is important to us.

Kind Regards
César Gaspar
(General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Stayed here for the third time and everything as expected. Some signs that the outside had been jollied up a little and at some point would be good if the rooms received the same treatment but clean and comfortable. Buffet breakfast predictable and okay with lots of choice from continental to 'full English' and lots of fruit. Very convenient location for the town and trip to the beach via the ferry or free mini bus to the sister hotel and then via their private boat to the same beach. The bar area is dull however although there is an excellent bar on the corner just across the road from the hotel where a generous G&T can be ordered.
Nice pool. Very popular with Saga travellers and Portuguese and Spanish tourists.

Room Tip: Rooms in the area of 2050-2046 have the sun later in the afternoon on their balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Tavira, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you you’re comments.
Our commitment is improving day by day.

We wait for you on next trip to Algave.

Kind Regards
César Gaspar
(General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

This hotel is located right in the centre and has good instalations with newspapers, restaurant, bar, exterior and interior swimming pool and jacuzzi. The hotel was nice and had a balcony. But the service was not sympathetic and to leave the hotel had to stand 30 min to give back the room key, with no respect for the queue line, they would atend anyone that would put themselves ahead of others, and they would ignore how upset the customers got. These last 30 min destroyed the image of the hotel, service is the least they can do ahead of the instalations.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silvia c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Tavira, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest
We appreciate you’re review.
We will analyse you’re suggestions.

Kind regards
César Gaspar
(General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tavira hotels
1.0 mi away
Vila Gale Albacora
Vila Gale Albacora
#3 of 15 in Tavira
853 reviews
0.5 mi away
Maria Nova Lounge Hotel
1.7 mi away
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
#4 of 15 in Tavira
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Tavira Garden
Tavira Garden
#11 of 15 in Tavira
114 reviews
2.0 mi away
Cabanas Resort Park
Cabanas Resort Park
#6 of 15 in Tavira
641 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pousada Convento Tavira
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Tavira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Tavira

Property: Vila Gale Tavira
Address: Rua 4 de Outubro, Tavira 8800-362, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Tavira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tavira
#5 Spa Hotel in Tavira
#7 Luxury Hotel in Tavira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Tavira 4*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historical city of Tavira between this picturesque old town and Ria Fromosa. Here, guests will discover a good selection of shopping and entertainment venues. The fine sandy of the dune island, Ilha de Tavira, is easily reached by ferry and the hotel bus travels to the airport several times a day. The large, excellent golf courses of Quinta da Ria and Quinta da Cima are only 11 km away. Public transport departs from stops located directly in front of the hotel; Faro airport is approximately 30 km away. Built in 2002, this popular hotel offers a total of 268 rooms spread over 3 floors, of which 22 connecting rooms and 6 junior suites suitable for families. Amongst the facilities you will find a stylish reception area with 24-hour service and lifts, free Wi-Fi Internet connection in public areas, a currency exchange desk, a game room and a Kids Club. The hotel is equipped with wheelchair access ways and an air-conditioning. You may take advantage of a restaurant with non-smoking areas and highchairs for infants, two hotel bars, a gaming room, a garden and outdoor areas such as the playground for kids. For and additional cost you may use the hotel safe, the laundry service or the garage. All the rooms have been tastefully furnished and offer air conditioning, electronic safety door look, direct telephone, LCD TV with Cable and Pay TV, Wi-Fi Connection and safe (for and additional cost), Minibar and 24 hour room service, private bathroom with telephone and hair dryer. There is an outdoor swimming pool with sun loungers and parasols all around and a garden area. The hotel is equipped with a Health Club which is composed with indoor heated pool, a Jacuzzi, a steam room and a gym. There is also the possibility for our guests to have massages and beauty treatments. Guests may select their breakfast, lunch and dinner from a wide buffet. Lunch and dinner may be chosen a la carte. Special dietary requirements, as well as individual-specific menus, may be catered to and it is possible to book a half-board stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, Expedia, HRS, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Vila Gale Tavira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Tavira Hotel Tavira
Vila Gale Hotel Tavira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing