We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel, Staff and Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vila Gale Tavira

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Vila Gale Tavira
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Tavira
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
119 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Good Hotel, Staff and Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed at the Vila Gale for a 4 day break with a 16 yr. The bedroom was well appointed and on the 3rd floor looking out towards estuary (and flyover / petrol station but no noise and not a problem). The room was kept very clean and big enough for three of us. It was the end of the season so the Hotel was not busy and there were no noise issues as mentioned by other reviews. On the last day we were up around 0600 hrs for our plane and did notice a little noise from nearby nightclub (under flyover) but this was the first time and certainly had not been a problem during our stay. Food was buffet style with a good variety and the restaurant staff were very helpful and friendly (as were those at reception). The eveing meal started at 7pm. The outdoor pool was not heated so we used the indoor pool / jacuzzi (both warm) / steam room / gym and these facilities were all very good and well maintained. Around the indoor pool are "bedroom" type beds which have fresh sheets / pillows put on them and these would be better replaced with sun lounger type beds. During our stay most of the guests were older with few children (There was a Saga rep on hand which was a good clue), although there is a small childrens room available.The hotel is a short walk into the main Town Centre and about 10-15 minute walk to the public ferry to Tavira Island via nature area (The public ferry cost 1.50 Euro as opposed to water taxi near to Hotel which was around 18 Euro!). The Town itself was quaint with cobbled streets in places and plenty of restaurants / small shops. It is a little rough around the edges in places, but it is a working town, not Disney, and the nearby fruit / fish market was interesting. A 10-15 minute walk takes you to the main train station (next to Lidl) and we went into Faro for the day (each 6.20 Euro return). Unfortunately the weather was'nt that good on that day which made for a short trip. On the other side of the flyover is a large shopping centre which includes a food hall. Overall we would recommend the Hotel and would return. It is well located and we liked the fact the town was not particularly touristy and very close by.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MKEL09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

973 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    467
    205
    48
    16
See reviews for
215
472
39
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

This hotel looks quite nice on the outside and even better on the inside. Other reviewers have commented on it needing a refurb but everything is decent enough and clean. Now it all starts to go downhill.
The sleep quality is poor. There is little soundproofing and one can hear banging about in the middle of the night, suitcases being trundled around by late arrivals and early departures; then there is the traffic noise which is more than ordinary noise as it includes trade lorries being loaded in the ealy morning. The airconditioning makes a humming noise which keeps you awake after the other noises have woken you up. Be prepared for mosquitoes which probable arrive from the large acreage of nearby salt pans.
The breakfasts are buffet style and fried food soon becomes dried up. Be careful with the fruit as a blue bottle has unrestricted use of this which was kept uncovered.Some of the dinners were quite good although the critiscism of dried up food still pertains especially the vegetables which were largely inedible. The soups were surprisingly good.
Many of the staff were morose and even allowing for language difficulties very inactive in attempts at conversation. The impression of gloom was heightened by their appaling uniforms which are dark and dismal. The kitchen staff had a mixture of black and dirty grey which put one in mind of a North Korean penal institution.
The whole place needs a good shake up as there is potential if it were to be properly managed. This should not be too difficult for them as we spent some time in their sister hotel, the Albucora. The whole atmosphere was better with staff being well motivated.
Don't visit unless the management changes and the staff are given training to improve their abilities.

Room Tip: Rooms overloking the pool probably suffer less road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ResilientWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

Positives - clean and comfy breakfast good but worst evening meals ever had. Shame because staff are excellent park behind the petrol station to avoid hotel parking charges, good location

Spotless no mosi's in nov

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yapper890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed here for a week (adult + 17yr and 14 yr). We stayed on half board and found plenty of choice at both breakfast and dinner. All is buffet style, and while some things suffer a little from not being freshly cooked, trays were constantly replenished and the dining room was very efficiently run. There was some hotel entertainment, but we did not take part in any of it, so would be unfair to comment. It is used by Saga holidays and there was a friendly atmosphere amongst other the guests. We were lucky with the weather and there were always plenty free loungers and only a very few occasionally 'booked' before breakfast! The hotel was clean and our room was well serviced daily. Tavira is a lovely town, acknowledging tourism, but also with local people getting on with their lives. Days trips to Spain, Faro, the island and Seville are all possible. The hotel is less than 15 mins walk to the train station. There were pleasant public areas in which to sit inside and the indoor heated pool was a bonus.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annech10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

We discovered this gem of a hotel on our travels, well deserving of its 4 star rating.
Accomadation, food and facilities were top classs, we really enjoyed our three nights there. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Location of rooms seemed to be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cloonfaughna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a 3 night stay.

The positives
We arrived around 9.15pm and still got some food. We were given a free bottle of wine that evening. The location is good - just 10 minutes walk to the market square. The breakfast is tasty.

The negatives
You need to park behind the petrol station around the corner. Otherwise you risk parking in a space that you must pay for.
The choice of food at breakfast is narrow and does not change. There is no one cooking omlettes or other fresh food.
The rooms are tired and need to be renovated.
There are no double beds in the hotel - not very romantic!
The wi-fi in public areas is free but costs €5 per day in your room and they have to issue a unique account and password at the reception desk.
There was a dreadful smell outside the front of the hotel throughout our stay.

On balance, we won't return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HotrsellTraveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

We have just returned from a 5 night stay in this hotel, we arrived late and was very impressed with the friendly, smiley male receptionist, as we were with all of them throughout our stay. We stayed on the top floor, 3rd, in room 3040 which overlooks the pool and is one of a few that get the afternoon sun. The hotel is a little tired in places, it has an 80's feel about it but for what we paid we felt it was excellent value for money, 310 euros for 5 nights including breakfast found on the Internet. The pool is great, although a little chilly, with loads of sunbeds. The breakfast was good with plenty of choice but we were disappointed with the one buffet dinner we had but when are buffet meals good? Overall a good hotel in a great location, we parked for free in the street but walked into town everyday and evening, great bonus. The one thing we didn't like was that smoking is allowed in some rooms on every floor, there was a faint smell of smoke walking through the corridors, make sure you book a non smoking room if it's important to you. We would return.

Room Tip: The hotel is sandwiched between two fairly busy roads, the rooms facing the pool are quieter general...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyLinda05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tavira hotels
1.1 mi away
Vila Gale Albacora
Vila Gale Albacora
#3 of 15 in Tavira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
#2 of 15 in Tavira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Cabanas Resort Park
Cabanas Resort Park
#4 of 15 in Tavira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tavira Garden
Tavira Garden
#11 of 15 in Tavira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.5 mi away
Maria Nova Lounge Hotel
Maria Nova Lounge Hotel
#10 of 15 in Tavira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Tavira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Tavira

Property: Vila Gale Tavira
Address: Rua 4 de Outubro, Tavira 8800-362, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Tavira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Tavira
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tavira
#6 Luxury Hotel in Tavira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Tavira 4*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historical city of Tavira between this picturesque old town and Ria Fromosa. Here, guests will discover a good selection of shopping and entertainment venues. The fine sandy of the dune island, Ilha de Tavira, is easily reached by ferry and the hotel bus travels to the airport several times a day. The large, excellent golf courses of Quinta da Ria and Quinta da Cima are only 11 km away. Public transport departs from stops located directly in front of the hotel; Faro airport is approximately 30 km away. Built in 2002, this popular hotel offers a total of 268 rooms spread over 3 floors, of which 22 connecting rooms and 6 junior suites suitable for families. Amongst the facilities you will find a stylish reception area with 24-hour service and lifts, free Wi-Fi Internet connection in public areas, a currency exchange desk, a game room and a Kids Club. The hotel is equipped with wheelchair access ways and an air-conditioning. You may take advantage of a restaurant with non-smoking areas and highchairs for infants, two hotel bars, a gaming room, a garden and outdoor areas such as the playground for kids. For and additional cost you may use the hotel safe, the laundry service or the garage. All the rooms have been tastefully furnished and offer air conditioning, electronic safety door look, direct telephone, LCD TV with Cable and Pay TV, Wi-Fi Connection and safe (for and additional cost), Minibar and 24 hour room service, private bathroom with telephone and hair dryer. There is an outdoor swimming pool with sun loungers and parasols all around and a garden area. The hotel is equipped with a Health Club which is composed with indoor heated pool, a Jacuzzi, a steam room and a gym. There is also the possibility for our guests to have massages and beauty treatments. Guests may select their breakfast, lunch and dinner from a wide buffet. Lunch and dinner may be chosen a la carte. Special dietary requirements, as well as individual-specific menus, may be catered to and it is possible to book a half-board stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Vila Gale Tavira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Tavira Hotel Tavira
Vila Gale Hotel Tavira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing