We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb - yet again!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Quinta da Lua

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Quinta da Lua
Ranked #9 of 30 Tavira B&B and Inns
Cirencester Glos
Level Contributor
74 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Superb - yet again!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

4th visit - can only give the same glowing reviews as previously.
Wonderful staff, spotlessly clean, glorious garden and pool area, spacious and comfortable room and delicious (and very healthy!) breakfasts. If you need a peaceful, relaxing place for a chilled holiday, this is it. Keep up the excellent work Miguel and the team.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2pards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    19
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
13
80
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Somerset
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

Absolute heaven. Luxurious rooms, fabulous food and great staff. Only problem could be in rain since you have to walk outside to get from one room to another. Don't be put off by those who say you need GPS to get there. Their directions on their website are fine.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterWestSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed four nights, everything at Quinta da Lua was perfect from the food to the welcome and hospitality. The room was clean and beautifully furnished and the bed was very comfortable. Lovely gardens, pool and lounging area. The breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnoz2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed here for three nights, as a full relaxation, before flying home from our holiday.

It was our first visit, and what a find.

Beautiful gardens, calm atmosphere, great and very helpful owner (Miguel), and very busy staff (one of whom cooks your evening meal - as long as you say you're eating with them that night in enough time. Fish or meat?) The fixed, 3 course meal, was lovingly prepared and eaten outside under the stars. Glorious.

Lovely air conditioned rooms, beautifully furnished and very clean. Great gardens, pool and lounging area, with an honesty bar - with the items added to your bill when you settle up.

Two negatives. For this style of hotel I'd expect free tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms. This should be addressed. Free wifi is available, but incredibly intermittent and of a very limited range. Don't expect to have constant access to the outside world - although that might be a good thing!

We'll be back.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are bigger, there is more shade from your own porch. And your breakfast and eveni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobHolman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Great comfortable rooms with an amazing breakfest served right at your doorstep (poolfront) in the morning. Very nice and helpful staff. Perfect for couples in search of romance. This place actually looks nicer than on their website. Maybe a hint for the owners...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deadfishie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed here by chance after our initial hotel choice was not able to accommodate us on the first night. We are so lucky that this was the case.

The hotel is a boutique in the truest sense of the word. There is a lot of attention to detail. Rooms are serene, clean, and feel luxurious but also authentic. The pool area is peaceful and perfect for sunbathing among the absolutely stunning gardens that are filled with fragrant flowers and trees and there is an honesty style bar where you can get drinks.

We had both breakfast which was fresh and plentiful and a 3 course dinner which was served by candlelight in the garden and cooked by a very talented in-house chef. While there is no menu, we were asked about any preferences we had. The food was wonderfully fresh and true to Portuguese cuisine.

Miguel, the manager, was wonderfully welcoming and helpful, however when he is not there, the other staff have little understanding of English but personally I like this as it makes the whole experience feel more traditional and exotic.

The hotel is not particularly close to the town or beaches and definitely requires either a rental vehicle or you will need to use taxis. Miguel organised a very affordable scooter for us and for a couple, was a really wonderful and romantic way of getting to the nearby beaches and towns. However if you are only staying for a night or 2 then there would be no need to even leave the hotel. Without a doubt I would return to stay here again.

Tips: Bring some insect repellant- while the gardens are stunning, they do attract loads of insects and wasps and without repellant they can become annoying

There are no nearby shops, so bring all the essentials you may need such as suntan lotion, snacks etc.

Room Tip: The First floor rooms are a little more private, as while the ground floor rooms have terraces that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We discussed not sending a review to tripadvisor because we wanted to keep Quinta Da Lua a secret but I guess the word is out.
There are only 9 gorgeous rooms so its never busy by the pool or in the well tended gardens.
The beautifully designed rooms are spacious with super soft bed linen, DVD, TV, CD player, Dolce Gusto coffee machine, lots of wardrobe and storage space, separate sitting area. There are twin rainshowers in the bathroom, loads of big soft towels, nice shampoo and products...
We were in a downstairs room so our terrace was right by the pool and the (help yourself) bar which is well stocked and not expensive.
A fantastic breakfast arrives by magic every morning. While you are asleep the little terrace table outside your room is set for breakfast with crisp white linen etc. When you venture outdoors into the sun you are soon greeted by a super friendly lady bringing what can only be described as a local taster breakfast. Fresh squeezed juice, fresh cut fruit, muesli, yoghurt, breads and croissants, ham, cheeses, home made marmalade and jam, honey - all accompanied by never ending coffee and tea. Gorgeous.
Dinner is optional - you just need to say if you'd like it at breakfast time. There is no menu so everyone eats the same. We had a few meals in - fresh fish, veal, codfish, chicken - all with seasonal vegetables or salad. Super tastey. Starters and desserts were great and the local wine is much better than you'd think.
Everything from the pool towels and the DVD/CD collection in your room to the reserved sunloungers at the local beach has been thought through very carefully to make sure you have the best possible time.
The local town is not very touristy and has a good selection of restuarants. Taxis are easy to find and abobut the same price as at home.
I have no idea why Quinta Da Lua is not No1 in Tavira on tripadvisor. Its a mystery to me.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aus10p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tavira
2.2 mi away
Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel
4.1 mi away
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
#2 of 15 in Tavira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
3.5 mi away
Vila Gale Albacora
Vila Gale Albacora
#3 of 15 in Tavira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Herdade da Corte
Herdade da Corte
#7 of 15 in Tavira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
5.8 mi away
Vila Monte Farm House
Vila Monte Farm House
#1 of 4 in Moncarapacho
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
12.4 mi away
Praia Verde Boutique Hotel
Praia Verde Boutique Hotel
#1 of 3 in Castro Marim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta da Lua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta da Lua

Property: Quinta da Lua
Address: Bernardinheiro 1662-X | São Estevao, Tavira 8800-513, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Tavira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Tavira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Quinta da Lua 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Quinta da Lua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Da Lua Hotel Tavira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing