We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”
Review of Quinta da Lua

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Quinta da Lua
Ranked #9 of 29 Tavira B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2012

This place is amazing, it' close to the centre but one doesn't really need to go anywhere because they have everything one could possibly need. The lady who runs it puts so much care in every detail and works super hard to make you feel pampered. It's quiet, clean, relaxing, easy, everything that one expects from a holiday. We really loved our time there. They also offer amazing meals always accompanied by super fresh vegetables and fruit. And at a very good price. The rooms are really nice, we stayed upstairs, which was nicer because we had our own small balcony but also the rooms downstairs have space outside. The only downside is that the staff, except the manager, doesn't speak English but we didn't have any problem communicating anyway. The manager could put more effort in welcoming international guests. We were really happy with this place and would definitely want to go back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Octopus713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 114 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2012

I would agree with most of the positve comments on the Quinta. However it wasnt as peaceful as it could have been. This was down to the other farm houses having numerous dogs which barked off and on all day and sometimes at night. Without the noise it would have been great!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lpjones666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We wanted a quick break and arranged tickets, hotel and transfer just the day before arrival. A little uncertain we arrived at Quinta Da Lua and it seemed we hit jack pot. Just outside beautiful Tavira in between orange groves a wonderful luxurious and relaxing quinta awaits you. A perfect place to unwind or explore the area.

As usual an overview of the good and the bad.

The Good:
+ Very charming location
+ Beautiful gardens
+ Superb suites with nice furniture and karakter
+ Small and peacefull
+ Large swimming pool
+ Food junkies will love diner: all fresh and very tasty!
+ Breakfast is very extensive and served on your own private terrace

The Bad:
- Upmarket prices so you probably would expect all the above.
- Our suite (room 1) was not soundproof and located near the entrance: you will hear guests having breakfast/diner or walking in the rooms above you.

Room Tip: Pick one of the quarto duplo rooms: spaceous and more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pearlfinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Love place on the Eastern Algarve, an area we love. We spend 6 days at the Quinta with our 3 boys and made daytrips to the beach. The area not to crowded and great restaurants with the best Mariscos.
Wish the Quinta would cater for lunch or dinner as their breakfast is good!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diederieke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Hidden amongst the orange trees ,lavender ,datura,olive and palmtrees, lies this small hotel.

A heaven of peace and tranquility. All the rooms refurbished,the staff efficient and kind and
least but far from last, the owner Miguel,who with his charm and good taste,makes something
unique from this place.

This was my 15th visit over 5 years,and hope sincerely to be able togo another15!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 820elza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

I booked two rooms at the lovely Quinta this year as I wanted to show my daughter and her partner what a wonderful haven it was and although I worried terribly beforhand that it would not be as good on a second visit I was totally reassured as soon as we drove up through the fragrant gardens on a very hot sunny day to find Miguel there to welcome us and provide cool fresh orange juice and show us our gorgoeus rooms. My daughter had the beautiful room that we had had previously but this time the bathroom had been transformed into a sleek and very stylish five star area with a double rainshower walk in wetroom.
Our master suite was stunning with lots of space and a lap top set up just for us with tv and dvd's , a walk in dressing room and a lovely sofa area with a log fire ( happily not needed on this trip). Also an extra that we adored this time was the possibilty of eating in the evening at the Quinta and we sat outside our room on a beautifuly laid out table with the vino flowing as Elena , the smashing and witty waitress brought us dish after dish of beautifully home cooked Portuguese fare. The pool twinkled and candles dotted all around the garden making this a magical and very romantic night which we will all always remember, if you get the chance to take up Miguels offer of eating in , make sure you grab it!
There are lots of lovely places to visit around this area as well but the Quinta kept drawing us back for that tranquil late afternoon swim when we often had the pool all to ourselves.
Concencao (hope I spelt that correctly) brought us divine breakfast again setting the table as we slept and turning it into a work of art with fresh flowers and delicate homemade cakes and preserves, and every morning I so looked forward to that lovely start to each day. Absolute heaven and we even forgot to listen to the dog barking that sometimes jars the peacefulness as the days went by, or the neighbours donkey!

Room Tip: Choose a dwonstairs room as you have your breakfast or supper served on your own table right outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joolsTenby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

We spent three relaxing days in this haven of tranquility and beauty in this special place on the outskirts of Tavira. With just eight well-furnished rooms Miguel and his team make you warmly welcome, a feeling enhanced by the beautiful gardens which include a swimming pool. The breakfasts are a delight, and if the opportunity arises you should take advantage of one of Miguel's dinners.

Room Tip: Request a room on the upper floor for maximum privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philip J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tavira
3.5 mi away
Vila Gale Albacora
Vila Gale Albacora
#3 of 15 in Tavira
904 reviews
4.1 mi away
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
#5 of 15 in Tavira
399 reviews
5.7 mi away
Vila Monte Farm House
Vila Monte Farm House
#1 of 4 in Moncarapacho
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Pousada Convento Tavira
2.6 mi away
Vila Gale Tavira
Vila Gale Tavira
#7 of 15 in Tavira
1,117 reviews
5.9 mi away
Quinta Dos Perfumes
Quinta Dos Perfumes
#1 of 29 in Tavira
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta da Lua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta da Lua

Address: Bernardinheiro 1662-X | São Estevao, Tavira 8800-513, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Tavira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Tavira
Price Range: $229 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Quinta da Lua 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Quinta da Lua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Da Lua Hotel Tavira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing