We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a little jewel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quinta da Lua

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Quinta da Lua
Ranked #8 of 30 Tavira B&B and Inns
Kapellen, Belgium
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“a little jewel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

Hidden amongst the orange trees ,lavender ,datura,olive and palmtrees, lies this small hotel.

A heaven of peace and tranquility. All the rooms refurbished,the staff efficient and kind and
least but far from last, the owner Miguel,who with his charm and good taste,makes something
unique from this place.

This was my 15th visit over 5 years,and hope sincerely to be able togo another15!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 820elza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    19
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
13
80
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
tenby
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

I booked two rooms at the lovely Quinta this year as I wanted to show my daughter and her partner what a wonderful haven it was and although I worried terribly beforhand that it would not be as good on a second visit I was totally reassured as soon as we drove up through the fragrant gardens on a very hot sunny day to find Miguel there to welcome us and provide cool fresh orange juice and show us our gorgoeus rooms. My daughter had the beautiful room that we had had previously but this time the bathroom had been transformed into a sleek and very stylish five star area with a double rainshower walk in wetroom.
Our master suite was stunning with lots of space and a lap top set up just for us with tv and dvd's , a walk in dressing room and a lovely sofa area with a log fire ( happily not needed on this trip). Also an extra that we adored this time was the possibilty of eating in the evening at the Quinta and we sat outside our room on a beautifuly laid out table with the vino flowing as Elena , the smashing and witty waitress brought us dish after dish of beautifully home cooked Portuguese fare. The pool twinkled and candles dotted all around the garden making this a magical and very romantic night which we will all always remember, if you get the chance to take up Miguels offer of eating in , make sure you grab it!
There are lots of lovely places to visit around this area as well but the Quinta kept drawing us back for that tranquil late afternoon swim when we often had the pool all to ourselves.
Concencao (hope I spelt that correctly) brought us divine breakfast again setting the table as we slept and turning it into a work of art with fresh flowers and delicate homemade cakes and preserves, and every morning I so looked forward to that lovely start to each day. Absolute heaven and we even forgot to listen to the dog barking that sometimes jars the peacefulness as the days went by, or the neighbours donkey!

Room Tip: Choose a dwonstairs room as you have your breakfast or supper served on your own table right outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joolsTenby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

We spent three relaxing days in this haven of tranquility and beauty in this special place on the outskirts of Tavira. With just eight well-furnished rooms Miguel and his team make you warmly welcome, a feeling enhanced by the beautiful gardens which include a swimming pool. The breakfasts are a delight, and if the opportunity arises you should take advantage of one of Miguel's dinners.

Room Tip: Request a room on the upper floor for maximum privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

This is a beautiful small boutique hotel with excellent staff and a vey helpful owner (Miguel)
we stayed for 8 days in October and had a wonderful time.

Room Tip: The first floor rooms have the nicest views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joncompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2011

This is an amazing place. In the midst of orange, olive, fig, date and plam trees, this luxurious but not at all elitary BnB is the prefect place to come down. The Breakfast is high-end regarding freshness and diversity, the people are lovable. The pool and bar area reminds you of a Hemingway place. The room we had was very spacious, the bathroom clean and the bed very good. Owner Miguel is very helpful and has a lot of tips for Tavira and surroundings. You definitely need a car, though. If you're a foodie, Tavira is a tricky place, check out Bistrot and Amore vero, though the latter has quite a kitschy interior.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mauro G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tenby
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2011

We discovered the lovely Quinta da Lua on Booking .com and quickly snapped up a gorgeous ground floor room which looked out onto the ecological , tempting swimming pool. We recieved a brilliant welcome from Conceiceo who creates all the luscious delicacies that appear at your breakfast table and our room certainly lived up to the web pictures. Stunningly decorated with great taste and style, the only gripe was that the bathroom needed updating( shower very awkwardly placed over the bath)but Miguel, the very sweet and kind owner told us that this was soon to be renovated.
The Quinta is in a brilliant position for exploring and Miguel told us of so many excellent restuarants , all of which were superb ,that we quite fell in love with the Eastern Algarve, Tavira is a sublime city , wonderful to walk around with easy access by ferry or a little train to so many breathtaking beaches, most with lovely pleasant beach bars nearby to supply lots of cold Aqua and crisp delicous sardines or octopus for very little Euros. many lovely golf course nearby too if you ahve the energy and inclination to move from Miguels sensory garden, ( it was very hard to leave)

Room Tip: the ground floor rooms all have double doors which open onto the pool and your breakfast is served o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joolsTenby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2011

A charming hotel situated within a very stylish designed proprietary. Tastefully decorated rooms. Heartwarming friendly people giving you a good quality service. And top of the bill was the excellent breakfast served in the garden. Really a place to enjoy and dream about the good things of life.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EAUD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tavira
2.2 mi away
Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel
4.1 mi away
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
#4 of 15 in Tavira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
3.5 mi away
Vila Gale Albacora
Vila Gale Albacora
#2 of 15 in Tavira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Vila Monte Farm House
Vila Monte Farm House
#1 of 4 in Moncarapacho
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
4.4 mi away
Herdade da Corte
Herdade da Corte
#6 of 15 in Tavira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.0 mi away
Quinta Dos Perfumes
Quinta Dos Perfumes
#1 of 30 in Tavira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta da Lua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta da Lua

Property: Quinta da Lua
Address: Bernardinheiro 1662-X | São Estevao, Tavira 8800-513, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Tavira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Tavira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Quinta da Lua 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Quinta da Lua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Da Lua Hotel Tavira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing