We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,038)
Filter reviews
1,038 results
Traveler rating
409
456
126
36
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
409
456
126
36
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tuna river view fishing village evening buffet nature reserve salt flats private jetty salt pans courtesy bus ate a la carte insect repellent tavira town takes minutes small patio hotel is situated outdoor pool bird watching
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 1,038 reviews
Reviewed February 27, 2017

Food excellent and available throughout the day from restaurant or bar, the latter selection especially good and convenient. I would especially commend Ricardo Oliveira for his excellent service as the chief bartender
Nice ambience. Excellent location even if a bit difficult to find. You will need a sat nav if you go by car (we were rescued by the police unable to find the hotel who kindly escorted us for 3 kilometres!)

Room tip: Nice to have a room with river view
Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank TedLankester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2017

The location is really pretty but is really difficult to get to the hotel with the car.
The room are normal size and the decoration is a bit tacky. The were lots of ants and other bugs inside my room.
The swimming pool is really nice as well as the beach which you have to go by boat (free of charge) .

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inês D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHotels, Gerente geral at Vila Gale Albacora, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2017

Dear Mrs. Ines D.,

We thank you for having taken the time to fill out our questionary with your comments about your stay at the Eco-Hotel Vila Galé Albacora. We welcome all your comments and suggestions, they deserve our best attention.

Our main objective is to continuously improve to better serve our guests, always trying to exceed your expectations. Your comments and suggestions are therefore very valuable for us and help us in correcting eventual deficiencies and in improving our service levels.

We sincerely hope to be able to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future and look forward to greeting you personally upon your arrival.

With sincere regards,


João Meireles
(General Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2016

In such a beautiful place, just beside Tavira's Ria with wonderful surroundigs ( river, sea, beaches, the salinas and all natural fauna - sea birds such as herons, storks, flamingos and much more ), expectations are higher.
Vila Galé is a chain of hotels known and recognized. The service and contitions were bellow, really bellow expected. The room was dirty with dust, some ashes on the bed and hairs on the pillows, shoe-sole brands on the ceiling and blood spots on the walls ( a battle with mosquitoes ) and the bathroom was dirty as well ( bathtub, washbasin and toilet ) and the toilet was not t sealed! I even found cobwebs and spiders.
After complaining, hotel's reception sent the cleaning team to check and clean everything....beacause it was taking to long and it was already very late, I called the hotels reception once again and said that no longer wanted to stay in that room and asked for another one. ( they should have proposed the change of room as soon as they received the complaint since the room was in fact not in conditions )

I trully hope they improve the cleaning and staff ability to solve problems because its a beautifull, peacefull and realaxing place surrounded by the nature!

Visited int September 2016

Room tip: Choose the rooms that are turned to the river side
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Judite P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHotels, Gerente geral at Vila Gale Albacora, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2017

Dear Mrs. Judite,

We thank you for having taken the time to fill out our questionary with your comments about your stay at the Eco-Hotel Vila Galé Albacora. We welcome all your comments and suggestions, they deserve our best attention.

Our main objective is to continuously improve to better serve our guests, always trying to exceed your expectations. Your comments and suggestions are therefore very valuable for us and help us in correcting eventual deficiencies and in improving our service levels.

We sincerely hope to be able to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future and look forward to greeting you personally upon your arrival.

With sincere regards,


João Meireles
(General Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2016 via mobile

A lovely spacious hotel with all the amenities you could ask for great outdoor area great gym and spa (yes you can get a kettle for the room just ask).
Lovely little beach adjacent.
Or take the ferry to the famous island with fabulous beaches and restaurants.
You need a car or taxi to get into town but the vast majority of guests have their own transport.
You could walk takes 20 minutes through the salt pans very popular with twitchers.
Would I return? Absolutely we thoroughly enjoyed the stay

Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank rabnud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2016

I stayed with my daughter (7) and we had a pleasant stay albeit a quiet week with not a lot going on.

Pros:
Lovely kept hotel
Great spa facilities
Good choice of foods
Good swimming pool area
Friendly staff
Massage was fantastic and my daughter was made a fuss of.

Cons:
No cash machine
Need transport to get anywhere (nearest cash machine facility - 40/45 min walk there)
Hotel is very remote
no shop within walking distance
No entertainment for kids
Our sheets weren't changed for the duration of our stay - but our beds were made.
The bath wasn't cleaned either but we had fresh towels every day.

Our stay was nice, food was good, jetty near by to take you to the beach on the little island across the water, I was expecting more in the evenings, kids club wasn't very entertaining and no one pointed out where it was/when it was open so my daughter didn't go.

I probably wouldn't return to this hotel purely on the basis it was out the way, there was no facility to obtain money, and there wasn't enough entertainment for us.
I can imagine in the peak season, it would be very busy with families looking not to venture out and older people looking to sight see.
Overall a nice hotel.

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Alpharooms
Thank Amy81London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHotels, Gerente geral at Vila Gale Albacora, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2017

Dear Mrs. Amy81London,

We thank you for having taken the time to fill out our questionary with your comments about your stay at the Eco-Hotel Vila Galé Albacora. We welcome all your comments and suggestions, they deserve our best attention.

Our main objective is to continuously improve to better serve our guests, always trying to exceed your expectations. Your comments and suggestions are therefore very valuable for us and help us in correcting eventual deficiencies and in improving our service levels.

We sincerely hope to be able to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future and look forward to greeting you personally upon your arrival.

With sincere regards,


João Meireles
(General Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews