We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Vila Gale Albacora
Nearby Hotels
$158
$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Monte da Eira Apartments(Tavira)(Great Value!)
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$139
$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$122
$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$133
$125
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Formosa Guest House(Tavira)(Great Value!)
$46
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$84
$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$216
$209
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (949)
Filter reviews
949 results
Traveler rating
360
429
116
35
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
360
429
116
35
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstunariver viewfishing villagenatural reserveterra estreitanatural parktavira islandevening buffetsalt flatssalt panscourtesy busboat serviceunique hotelsmall museumtakes minutesfamily hotelhotel is situated
Filter
Updating list...
187 - 192 of 949 reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We spent 5 days at this hotel and generally enjoyed our stay. The architecture is beautiful, it's like being in a village with church and school. It was good having a school cos the kid could play inside with all the toys, though there was nobody there to take care of it. Breakfast was ok, English one with eggs, baked beans, mushrooms, tomato and bacon and continental with many different types of bread and cakes. Oddly enough, there was no marmalade or jam, but I bought myself a jar at the nearby Continente in the mall. The bedroom was smallish, bathroom fine but they have a cleaning issue. If you walk barefoot, you'll soon get your feet dirty with dust and grit. They should improve cleaning. Another (worse) flaw is the awful stench that fills the hotel grounds at night, coming from the water treatment plant. One night it was so terrible that it filtered through the closed windows and I had to cover my head with the duvet so as to sleep. In the morning, the stink was gone. I suppose they can't do anything about it. The swimming pool is good, there were not many people so plenty of sunloungers and very quiet and relaxing atmosphere for reading, etc. The best part of our stay was the morning boat trip to the paradisiac island of Terra Estreita. It was lovely and Captain Armando is extremely nice. He would let our 3 year old steer the boat all the way to the mooring point! Everybody on the boat had a good laugh (and we arrived to port safe and sound).

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank kayapetai2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Albacora, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Dear Guest
We thank you for you’re visit to our hotel.
We believe that you’re appreciation is important to us.

Kind Regards
César Gaspar
(General Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Just come back from a one week stay and thought I would pass on my thoughts. Firstly I have to say all the staff are very friendly and go the extra mile.Due to noisy neighbours the hotel quickly moved us to a quieter room. We booked though Jet2 holidays and booked a standard room - but on arrival we paid around £90 to upgrade to a river view room - which is well worth it. But I suspect the standard rooms may be quieter. Travelling at the end of the season the hotel was quite empty - so no queues. This may be a negative point if you were a single traveller. There is a free bus for times a day to their sister hotel in the centre of Tavira, although for walkers you can get into Tavira in around 45 mins.The bus only runs Wed - Sunday. A taxi will cost around 7 euros. We often walked in and then caught the bus back. The food was a bit of a disappointment - 22 euros got you the buffet - but was often a bit cool - may not be a problem in season. The Al a carte option was similar in price and was hot. There was no entertainment apart from a keyboard player on the Saturday evening. One thing lacking was an on site shop - which meant the trip into town became a necessity. Would recommend the boat trip to the sand banks which have restaurants and lovely beaches - more convenient from this hotel than the hotel in the town. Apparently the hotel in town was generally fully booked in winter. They charge 2 euros a night for the key to the room safe and the water in the fridge also comes at a cost. Wifi is free in the reception and bar but is 5 euros a day in the room.

Room Tip: River view south facing have a better view - standard rooms may be quieter
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank derbymike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Albacora, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are glad for the pleasure time you had with us.
We wait for you on next trip to Algarve.

Kind Regards
César Gaspar
(General Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed for one week All Inclusive towards the end of September and really enjoyed our holiday.
We paid the supplement for a River View and are pleased we did, our room was lovely and we really enjoyed watching the boats come and go. The hotel is very nice, quiet and atmospheric with a real feel for the history and tradition of the area. We liked the peace and beauty of being out of town but it was lovely to visit Tavira too, it has a very traditional and welcoming atmosphere.
We found everyone very friendly, staff were excellent and we absolutely loved the a la carte dinner which was part of our All Inclusive package.
On the negative side:We did find some of the buffet food could be disappointing, what should have been served hot had often gone cold, but we still managed to find something nice to eat everyday.
An onsite shop would be useful - there must have been one in the past but it seemed to have been replaced by a bike hire shop that was never open so there was nowhere to buy the little essentials, newpapers, sun creams etc.
Towards the end of our holidays the outside bar/snack bar closed, and the beach boats stopped running, which was a shame. If going again we would go a little earlier in the year to take full advantage of these two amenities.

Room Tip: It's worth paying the extra for a River View
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malandpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Albacora, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are glad for the pleasure time you had with us.
We wait for you on next trip to Algarve.

Kind Regards
César Gaspar
(General Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

The hotel is situated in a very pleasant area, away from the city centre. The hotel area is very well preserved, and as the rooms are spread around in little villas you almost forget that you are in a hotel.
The swimming pool area is confortable and very pleasant.
There are several beaches that you can try, but you have to go by boat or by car.
We went with our three children, and this is really a perfect spot for them. Plenty of places to go around and play, many other children to play with. Most of the guests of this hotel are families with children. The animation team is simply incredible, and they keep the kids occupied and happy all the time!

Strong points: quality of the beach; animation team; hotel surroundings
weak points: the rooms could be a little bit more confortable; restaurant to costly; there should be more boats to and from the beach

Definitely a place to return to!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Joana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Albacora, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are glad for the pleasure time you had with us.
We wait for you on next trip to Algarve.

Kind Regards
César Gaspar
(General Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Lovely hotel, big rooms, great view over the boat harbour, pretty gardens. All very telaxing for a long stay. The bustle of town is long way away. There are buses to town and boats to the island. A fantastic buffet breakfast really got us going in the morning.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the boat harbour were quiet.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HelenPatric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Albacora, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are glad for the pleasure time you had with us.
We wait for you on next trip to Algarve.

Kind Regards
César Gaspar
(General Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews