We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good Portuguese food, excellent value”
Review of Casarao Restaurant

Casarao Restaurant
Ranked #46 of 258 Restaurants in Tavira
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Portuguese
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Very good Portuguese food, excellent value”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Based on many recommendations from friends, we visited Xico's for lunch. A limited menu but the food was really, really good, very friendly service and really great value. They have a daily special which we tried to order but was sold out by the time we arrived. However, the waiter bought us up a small portion of the daily special with our lunch which was a really nice touch. We had bread, olives and sardine paste as the cover and a main course, 2 beers each , a coffee and the bill was less than 20 Euros for the pair of use which was amazing. It's in a one way street at the back end of town but an easy walk from the Roman Bridge in Tavira and there was ample parking on the road outside. Well worth a visit if you like great simple Portuguese food in a setting rammed with locals!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NeilBLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    58
    9
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Simple Portuguese food done very well”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We visited on a recent trip due to the reviews here and weren't disappointed. Menu is limited but was it does it does very well. It is frankly a cheap meal - no starters or desserts (but we went off to a pastellaria for cake, coffee and brandy- joy!). I had prawns and my partner pork: both very good. Appears very popular with the locals. Recommended.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WaltonSmiffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great!”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We have been visiting Xico's now for years and the standard is very consistent. A small menu Portugese menu, but food is excellent and everything is cooked fresh and products that are used are whatever is in season at the time. Prices here are good, you will have to go a long way to beat this restaurant for prices and quality of food.
Keep up the good work!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chriswoodsPortugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Brilliant value and great food”
Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

Nothing touches this for value for money in Tavira. Great dishes (love the pork kebabs) and don't miss lamb shank Fridays!
House wine is excellent value - you'll struggle to spend more than 15 euros a head. Also great place to practice your Portuguese. Friendly service and it seems to be consistently packed including with locals which is always a good sign. A must visit

Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa Emery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Did not know what to expect”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We have been in Tavira several times and this was recommended by one of the ex pats we met in a local bar. It is a local restaurant serving simple Portuguese food. The surroundings are basic with bright strip lighting but the food is very good and inexpensive. The first thing we noticed was that it was busy for a Tuesday nite at the end of October.

We had the prawns to start (as recommended by the ex pat), a generous portion and plenty of flavours. We all had different mains courses and enjoyed them. Will definitely be back – oh and great value to.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hayles7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casarao Restaurant also viewed

 
Tavira, Faro District
Tavira, Faro District
 

Been to Casarao Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing