We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Black Anchor

Ranked #3 of 12 Nightlife in Tavira
Attraction details
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

Visited the Black Anchor twice this year and last year. Food is excellent quality and location perfect. Very friendly staff and reasonable prices. Fully recommend.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jackdan123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    16
    7
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texline, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Black Anchor Bar in Tavira”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

I visited the Black anchor several months ago, before tourist season, I enjoyed the pub, and the food even more so, the staff were pleasant and attentive.
Definitely plan on returning again.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JWootton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

A friendly Irish bar. The food is of good pub standard, we ate their twice during our week. We went most evenings for a drink and sat outside overlooking the river. The tables are nearly always full....which says it all.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Watson83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Very Irish/British food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

We had an enjoyable evening meal here - don't expect true Portuguese cuisine. A great glass of Guinness was enjoyed as was my wife's steak.

Go there for straight forward unpretentious food.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank pjamesw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
county down
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Friendly, fun & good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

Had a great night at the Black Anchor. Went to watch the football, but stayed to eat & enjoy bar singer. Fantastic value, lovely staff and great setting!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank spanielize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Black Anchor also viewed

Tavira, Faro District
Tavira, Faro District
 
Tavira, Faro District
Tavira, Faro District
 

Been to The Black Anchor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing