We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Portugese lunch reasonably priced.”
Review of Joao Belhi

Joao Belhi
Ranked #87 of 259 Restaurants in Tavira
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Portuguese
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Newton Abbot
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent Portugese lunch reasonably priced.”
Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

We happened across this restaurant at 3pm Christmas Eve and were delighted with our food (fish soup, shrimp salads ). Very fresh and tasty . We were the only diners as everyone was going home ready to party , most eateries were closed.
Very friendly good service, cheap meal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Devongirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    76
    13
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter GB
Level 6 Contributor
27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A pleasure”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

I'd like to echo the previous review. This is the kind of place you go to Portgugal for: good, fresh fish cooked straightforwardly, nothing fancy, served with care for a fair price.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Rogeroos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Excellent value fish”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

This is an unpretentious family-style restaurant, which we enjoyed very much. The mixed grilled fish was so good, we went back another night and had it again! The first time we were served four medium-sized fish EACH, very fresh and beautifully grilled. With a small side salad and some potatoes, this was amazing value at E10.50. The second time our three fish included a whole sea bream each. We had no room for desserts, but they looked nice, and the coffee was good. No frills, but friendly service and plentiful servings of tasty fresh food. Highly recommended.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank G_M_NGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seville, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good, basic food.”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Loved the chicken piri-piri, loved the atmosphere, loved the prices. Very down to earth, but great food, well served.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xi'an, China
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Tasty and cheap grilled chicken - good local atmosphere”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

This place is nicely located next to the gorgeous river, and is everything you'd expect from a traditional Iberian restaurant, right down to the mute TV up high in the corner being watched by nobody! The chicken was just 7.50 and came with nice fries and salad, and was very nicely cooked, I also indulged in the homemade chocolate mousse - guilty pleasures! Definitely try it out, it's less touristy but very friendly.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LiJames77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joao Belhi also viewed

Tavira, Faro District
Tavira, Faro District
 
Tavira, Faro District
Tavira, Faro District
 

Been to Joao Belhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing