We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Chicken”

cantinho do emigrante
Ranked #43 of 253 Restaurants in Tavira
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Portuguese
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Chicken”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Nice situation, helpful staff although overworked and good food at good prices. Relaxing atmosphere sitting outside in the square. We have eaten there many times and not been disappointed. Well worth a try. Nothing fancy - just good food cooked well - you can watch most of it being cooked on the barbecue. Would recommend eating outside as it is VERY warm inside.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    60
    11
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nothing too much for staff”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Read some good reviews from people who had previously stayed in the apartment we rented for the weeks so thought we would give it a go. Placed a drinks order when we sat down and when the waiter realised they didn't have the 'mixer' I ordered with my vodka, he went to another building (not sure if shop or other restaurant) and made sure I got what I had ordered. Ordered a bottle of wind with meal which was reasonably priced and tasty and my fish and husband's steak were cooked to perfection! Will definitely dine there again whenever we visit our newly purchased apartment!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
86 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best piri piri chicken ever”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We were recommended this restaurant by a local and told that there were two specialties - octopus rice and piri piri chicken. As we'd already eaten lots of fish we tried the piri piri chicken - grilled chicken with the house piri piri sauce - and weren't disappointed. Really yummy chicken and piri piri had a good kick. Would definitely recommend.
We also were fairly early and managed to bag an outside table overlooking the wee square and church which was lovely.
N.B. Closed on Mondays.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Aileen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Nice location and great food!”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Read about the chicken and as we'd eaten fish, pork and steak on previous nights decided to give it a try. Fantastic chicken, chips and salad - simple, succulent and great value for money. Sat on tables on the pavement next to the imposing church in the square - great for watching the world go by.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sueevie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Chickenlishes”
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

The most beautiful's grilled chicken ever tasted... Brilliant.. Food is yum yum. Never let's you down

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MariaMcGuinness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed cantinho do emigrante also viewed

Tavira, Faro District
Tavira, Faro District
 
Tavira, Faro District
Tavira, Faro District
 

Been to cantinho do emigrante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing