We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable evening”

cantinho do emigrante
Ranked #37 of 306 Restaurants in Tavira
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Portuguese
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed October 9, 2012

This is a lovely and unpretentious little place to eat, with many of the customers being local. Attentive, friendly service and great value for money. As others have noted, the interior can be very hot due to the open grill (we sat outside). The grilled chicken was delicious (and only 7.50 Euros).

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Matthew303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (264)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

127 - 131 of 264 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2012

Fantastic chicken on the bar b q really good service, good value for money, a litre of house wine 6 euros!

Date of visit: September 2012
1  Thank MazH190764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

More of a 'locals' place (often a very good sign) and need to reserve one of the tables outside if you want to guarantee yourself a spot outside (too hot inside in July), but definitely worth booking. We had a fabulous meal there as a family, with fresh sardines, huge house salad, piri piri pork chops and jug after jug of great house white, coffees and brandies for afters. Value was amazing, and service really great from the lovely owners, in particular Carlo (or Carlos), who was attentive and funny and really made it a great evening. We would highly recommend.

Date of visit: July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank JandL_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Yes it was warm inside. They always have a nice vase of flowers.
No bread or olives and the owner does ask if you want them instead of just bringing them.
We had salad octopus rice and sirloin steak done in the window barbecue.It wasn't the fattest sirloin I've had but it was tender and tasty, 1L house white wine.
€30

Date of visit: July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kangol1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We had the daily specials here for lunch on 29/06/2012. My wife had the pork feijoada, consisting of white beans, cuts of pork, and pieces of sausage. It was served with rice, and it was tasty and authentic. The cuts of pork were fatty, but, as the Hairy Bikers say "fat means flavour"- just cut the fat off if you don't want to eat it.

I had octopus rice- "arroz de polvo". This contained the tenderest octopus, and the dish had a clean refreshing flavour, with a tomato base.

Starters included black and green olives, and some local cheese, which we ordered, together with some bread. We drank a bottle of good Vinho Verde, and two small bottles of sparkling mineral water. The bill came to an exceptionally reasonable €35.40, and we were so satisfied that we did not need to eat later in the evening.

Service was friendly, and prompt. A cracking local restaurant. A word of caution- there is a charcoal grill set into the outer wall, and the restaurant can get a bit warm.

Date of visit: June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Idler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed cantinho do emigrante also viewed

Tavira, Faro District
Tavira, Faro District
 
Tavira, Faro District
Tavira, Faro District
 
Tavira, Faro District
 

Been to cantinho do emigrante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing