We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Portuguese - eat with the well to do Tavira families.”

Restaurante Ponto de Encontro
Reserve with
Restaurante Ponto de Encontro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #34 of 248 Restaurants in Tavira
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
uk
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very Portuguese - eat with the well to do Tavira families.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

Great place for fish and portuguese dishes pricies a very reasonable. There is outside seating in the square but as it was raining we ate inside.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BedrockUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    124
    40
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshunt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Recommended to us by locals - we were not disappointed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed in Tavira for 7 nights and visited this restaurant, which is in a square on the west side of the river, on 2 nights. On both occasions the main courses were very well cooked and presented, although I have to agree with a previous review that the choice of deserts was limited. However the place is clean, tidy and the staff friendly and helpful. All in all a good place to dine.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travel_buddy367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

Visited this restaurant in September, ordered chicken which seemed ok but I suffered food poisoning making me extremely ill for 11 days, tests showed it was Campylobactor found in contaminated chicken

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ukvisitor35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best in area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

Ate here 2 nights out of the 7 and both were the best meals we had. We thought the choice was fine - not huge but all good options. Beef fillet is amazing.
Service was very good, not over the top - just friendly.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank frodal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
93 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Always Enjoyable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Had two meals here during our recent visit with family members who had not eaten is this restaurant before and they were very pleased with their fish dishes on both nights. I always have the sole with almonds which I love. My husband is a vegatarian and they do a nice grilled tofu with sauce. Deserts are not great so when you finish you can go to Scoop It for ice cream. No need for starters as covert very good

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank honbun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Ponto de Encontro also viewed

Tavira, Faro District
 
Tavira, Faro District
Tavira, Faro District
 

Been to Restaurante Ponto de Encontro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing