We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurante Lagoas Bica

Restaurante Lagoas Bica
Ranked #67 of 246 Restaurants in Tavira
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“great restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

we found this restaurant while visiting Tavira last week, it is tucked away in a back street on your right after you cross the roman bridge. It looks very un-assuming from the outside, but once in you are made to feel very welcome and you will get the most delicious food, i can recommend the beef portuguese style, we came back twice during our stay and will definately return when in the area, great atmosphere and very reasonable prices.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hogster62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    93
    26
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Local favourite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Always busy and very good simple portugese food at more than reasonable prices. Simple surroundings, nice atmosphere, well worth a visit.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank briani35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sicilia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Slow service but amazing food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

I went twice to this restaurant once for dinner ond once for lunch and I can say is that food is amazing and very cheap (the day we went for lunch we had starter, 2 mains and a bottle of wine for just 27 Euros!!)
From starters to desserts (the "delicia de alfarroba, figos and walnuts" - sorry I do not remember the exact name in portuguese :-) - was absolutely amazing). The wine we got was nothing special - one day we ordered a vinho verde and got a bottle on whiche it was written vinho branco... the owner said that it was vinho verde and I was in agood mood so I said ok and I just enjoyed the dinner without complaining at all... Next time we just asked for the wine of the house.
Be advised that, as it is always packed, the service can be very slow, so if you are starving, maybe it is better to go somewhere else... I was there at the beginning of august so I guess, hopefully, that it should be fine on other periods of the year...

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Irru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caterham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friendly family run restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

I have been coming to Bica's now for almost 10 years - visiting approximately twice a year with different friends. The restaurant is a family run and owned business, all the food is cooked from fresh, so as long as you are not in a rush, then just sit back, relax and enjoy. The owners always greet me with a friendly smile and remember every time what my favourite dish is (the Atum de Casa in case you were wondering - which is a delicious tuna steak, on top of a bed of boiled potatoes, smothered in onions that have been sauteed in butter and white wine....). Every time I bring friends to Bica's, the next time they visit, they always request to go back. From the outside, the restaurant does not look like anything special, but the fact that a majority of people eating in the restaurant at any one time tend to be Portuguese, speaks volumes. Good honest food, freshly cooked, friendly waiters and a large selection of homemade desserts followed by good coffee make this a firm favourite. The bill is always reasonable, normally coming in at about 12 euro's a head, including wine and coffee!! Already planning my next trip back......

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KatsCaterham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent local dishes & amazingly fresh fish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

A taxi driver recommended this restaurant on our first evening in Tavira and lucky for us it was a great experience. We visited the restaurant on 3 consecutive days and recognized other customers from previous visits too. The fish was amazing, and desserts to die for. Very cheap and the staff were lovely. Average meal is between 8 - 12 Euro, a 3 course meal for 2 is approx 35 Euro.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Breda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Lagoas Bica also viewed

Tavira, Faro District
Tavira, Faro District
 
Tavira, Faro District
Tavira, Faro District
 

Been to Restaurante Lagoas Bica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing