We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in Southern Portugal!”
Review of Monte do Alamo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Monte do Alamo
Ranked #18 of 28 Tavira B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A gem in Southern Portugal!”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My wife and I stayed in Monte Do Alamo in September 2012. We were lucky to stumble upon this place through a few blogs on southern Portugal. The B&B is beautifully designed with a very comfortable, homey, feel. Rosario and Luis are very nice hosts. The rooms are charmingly decorated, and we had a double bed and a bathroom. Just outside our room was a nice gazebo and the location is a 15 minute walk from Tavira. We participated in a bread making workshop, which also included dinner. Dinner was a wonderful experience shared with our host's family. It was a nice change from eating at different restaurants and cafes. I would highly recommend this place to any friends and family!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dev1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    10
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
46
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2011

Monte do Alamo is a beautiful house in a lovely setting. The house is stylish and and allows for a relaxing break just outside of Tavira. We visited during the springtime and the wild flowers in the surrounding area were beautiful. The owners make for great hosts and can provide delicious home cooked meals where required.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hazel a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2011

After reading such great reviews, Monte do Alamo failed to live up to my expectations. Actually, it was our worst experience in Portugal. Breakfast was poor, although fresh, and we found it a bit annoying having to decide what we wanted for our daily breakfast when checking in. The owners are really nice people, but we felt uncomfortable when they decided to join us for dinner and didn't leave our table. Don't get me wrong, I enjoyed talking to them, but my husband and I wanted some alone time and we felt trapped in the situation. Room was average size and decoration was bland. Not good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kaufro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2010

We booked for 3 nights beginning of October 2010 and booked an extra night because we loved it so much. We stayed in the suite, a beautiful, spacious room with a big bathroom and a gorgeous big private terrace with view on the distant sea. The house and the owners are very welcoming and make you feel at home right away. Delicious breakfasts outside in the garden with view on the sea, excellent home cooked dinners, warm and personal advice from the very friendly owners help you to make your stay in Tavira unforgettable. The city is beautiful and quiet and can be reached by foot, but is advisable by car or by taxi. I will not hesitate to come back here.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bono2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolzano, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2010

Cosy atmosphere, great meals :-), lovely guests, gorgeous environment. You could not ask for more! Great holiday!

Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Franz_takeaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
Level 4 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2010

I really liked our stay in Monte Álamo. You will probabily need a car to get there but it pays off: very peaceful and quiet, and near Tavira at the same time. The view is great. Everything was great: the room, the staff, the breakfast. It was a good surprise. I would come back anytime.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Capitao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2010

Nice price and clean facilities.
The view over Tavira is beautifull during afternoon.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zesilvaportugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tavira hotels
2.4 mi away
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
#3 of 15 in Tavira
344 reviews
2.3 mi away
Vila Gale Albacora
Vila Gale Albacora
#4 of 15 in Tavira
822 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hotel Rural Quinta do Marco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Tavira Garden
Tavira Garden
#11 of 15 in Tavira
111 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel
1.2 mi away
Vila Gale Tavira
Vila Gale Tavira
#8 of 15 in Tavira
1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monte do Alamo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte do Alamo

Property: Monte do Alamo
Address: Poco do Alamo 111-z, Tavira 8800-254, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Tavira
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Tavira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Monte do Alamo 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a private estate near historic Tavira, this former farm house has been converted into a beautiful country getaway, nestled amongst almond, fig and olive trees.Just a short drive from Tavira, Monte Do Alamo offers a small number of individually furnished and comfortable rooms. Wake up to the scent of flowers floating into your room from the garden. Start your day with a delicious breakfast served outside, facing the sea. While you sample regional deliciacies, the hosts can arrange several programs such as horse-riding, boat trips or other activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Monte do Alamo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing