We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mercearia da Vila
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Paco de Vitorino(Ponte de Lima)
$153
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Imperio do Norte(Ponte de Lima)(Great Value!)
$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inlima Hotel & Spa(Ponte de Lima)(Great Value!)
$87
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paco de Calheiros(Ponte de Lima)
$141
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tempus Hotel & Spa(Ponte da Barca)(Great Value!)
$85
$72
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eido do Luou(Ponte de Lima)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Fonte Velha(Ponte da Barca)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (133)
Filter reviews
133 results
Traveler rating
104
23
5
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
104
23
5
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgrocery storefantastic placethe ground floorthe riverfull kitchenattic suiteno elevatorsituated rightwarm welcomecamino portugueseyogurtexcellent locationthe ownerchurchtownrefrigeratorbells
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 133 reviews
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We loved the Mercearia da Villa! We had the loft room...'Sugar' .... which was very tastefully decorated all in clean pure white and stylishly kitted out. I especially like the little touches like the small swift and swift nest in metal on the air conditioner! The smell that greeted us as we entered the room was of clean linen and that stayed with us for the three nights of our stay. Views from the room of the square, the church and out to the river are perfect chocolate box stuff! Common areas of the vila are also lovely... beautiful metal work on the stairs, antiques dotted around the place and a kitchen that looks like it is out of the 30s which you can use if you so wish.
The hostess (whose name... sorry... we have forgotten) was incredibly helpful and probably the best ambassador for the country we met on our whole stay. She had many tips about where we might go and what we might want to see and was truly enthusiastic about the region. It was on her recommendation that we took the best walk of the holiday in the national park just 30 minutes drive away.
Breakfast was simple, as is the norm in Portugal, but perfectly presented and it had everything you would want. Coffee here is superb!

Room Tip: Loft room is wonderful...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We booked a family room, suitable for four. In most hotels and B & B's this would be a normal double room with extra beds squeezed into the space. Here, we were given the attic room - beautifully decorated and with so much space it felt more like an apartment rather than a hotel room. It was a room so full of character and tradition and yet felt very modern and well equipped. The view out of the window was stunning.

Breakfast was served in the cafe downstairs and was continental but with a lot of style. Beautiful breads, homemade jams, excellent meats and cheeses and hot chocolate that was made in heaven. Marta and the staff could not help you enough. Deservedly number one in Ponte de Lima and THE only place to stay if you are visiting this wondeful town full of character. Oh, and have a portuguese custard tart (natas) - so cheap and yet so lovely.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gnreid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

When you enter you feel that wonderful smell of home made cookies leaving the oven. The room was just wonderful. Very simple, but with a magnificent natural light and a great view to the square. Location is perfect.
I will be back as soon as possible!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

This is the perfect place to be in town. Right in the heart of Ponte de Lima, Mercearia da Vila it's an old family business (local grocery), "recycled" in a charming guest house and a cafe at the ground floor.
If you are visiting Oporto, go to Ponte de Lima for a day and stay here. This is the best value in town! For sure, one of the best places in Portugal to gastronomy fans!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pamorim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

we had 2 nights in this delightful little B&B & found everything about it just wonderful. The staff are extremely friendly & helpful, the breakfast is terrific & the rooms are clean, comfortable & beautifully decorated. It is situated right in the middle of Ponte de Lima , a lovely Portugese town that is well worth a stopover.

Room Tip: we had a corner room which was large , light & airy. there are stairs & no lift, but the owners are more than happy to help with luggage if you need .
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 54dee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews