We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveler rating
37
10
5
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
37
10
5
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews other guests manor house unique place grounds are beautiful before dinner modern bathroom delightful experience walking holiday two nights count francisco paco valley horses estate host portugal
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 57 reviews
Reviewed September 28, 2018

A group of four friends (two couples) on a self guided walk trip through Northern Portugal stayed at Paco de Calheiros for two nights. What an delightful experience it was! The rooms are varied but both of us, two couples got to stay in beautiful rooms with lovely views! Count Francisco de Calheiros makes this place special along with the grounds of the house, his love for his home and for Portugal shines through. This house/ experience is not about the food its about the spirit of the area, could not have been happier that we were able to experience his home. We also met some lovely people staying at the same time, since dining is communal you get to have a chance to converse with other travelers. I want to come back!

Room tip: Ask for room with view of the valley
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Katie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2018 via mobile

We spent 3 days with my wife and 2 kids and all really enjoyed this unique historical manor with swimming pool, gardens and tennis
We stayed in the cottage close To the manor
Very charming hosts and excellent breakfast
Amazing view from the pool

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank tteillet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2018

At the end of our walking holiday we arrive rather early on the last morning. We were welcomed enthusiastically by Count Francisco de Calheiros. He insisted we took a tour of the huge manor house immediately and he walked us along long corridors through about 20 rooms all with shiny wooden floors and ceilings and wonderful old furniture and pictures. Our room was in one of the wings of the manor house which was of course very old but with a modern bathroom and large terrace doors to the veranda overlooking the vineyards and the Lima valley. You can walk the grounds which are partly farm land, partly vineyards as well as stable blocks and grazing horses. We are accompanied by the old family labrador Leon. The new pool outside is fabulous and there is a large new building with Sauna, steam room, and large indoor jacuzzi for colder days. Dinner is cooked to order from the massive old kitchen and breakfast is in another large dining room each morning when several guests appear from the various rooms and adjacent accommodation buildings. I could have stayed a week and not got bored. The place is very relaxing and if you want to do short walks in the area the Count will give you walking maps.

Room tip: Depending on the time of year most rooms are quiet unless there are large walking groups at the manor house.
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank foxurs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2018

This hotel is set in beautiful grounds. Room was fine. We ate dinner with other guests and the proprietor. The food was atrocious - very basic poor quality food which, by the time it was served by the pretentious owner and his cook, was cold. He should have been ashamed to serve it. No coffee served with the meal and no facility to make on for oneself later in the evening. In an establishment that purports to be 5 star this stunned us - how hard is it to leave a Nespresso style machine set up in a lounge room if you aren't serving coffee with the meal??? We had to move to a lounge area to get a wi fi connection .

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2018

This hotel/palace is tucked away in beautiful hills about 15 minutes from Ponte de Lima. The drive up is thorough small towns, vineyards and old houses. The driveway is through imposing very narrow gates (warning buses) The driveway is tree-lined leading to nice old stone palace. Count Francisco was on hand to greet us, share meals and give a tour - he is very eager to please and very informative. The we had dinner which was good (I don't care for Cod). Amazing desserts made up for the cod. Breakfast was typical continental fare and fine. The grounds are beautiful with huge camellia and rhododendron trees (not shrubs). The gardens stretch out in several directions giving good walks. The rooms and bathrooms are definitely dated but in keeping with the old palace. We were completely comfortable and in truth a remodel would spoil the panache of the place. Well worth the visit and stay.

Room tip: avoid add-ons on second level in tower
Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank beentheretooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews