We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really great but will take a carriage next time.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lake Morskie Oko

Lake Morskie Oko
Book In Advance
More Info
$177.38*
and up
Krakow Private Day Trip to Morskie Oko Lake and Tatra Mountains
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Ireland
Level Contributor
148 reviews
109 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Really great but will take a carriage next time.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

You arrive in a carpark and then have to make the decision whether to go hike up to the lake or catch a carriage, I never realized that it was 9km from the car park and chose to walk up. It was all up hill and when we finally reached the top our legs were broke! I would recommend a carriage to the top and walk back down. It was amazing though and I really want to go again. So worth the trek up. You are right on the Slovakian border and the Slovakian Tatras were incredible all around you.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Heyimneise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    344
    80
    35
    9
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Choose your day to come here carefully”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

This lake is the right of passage for every polish person thus it's usually very busy even more so on weekends and sunny days. Not easy to get to, you catch a shuttle for 30 min from zakopane and then either walk uphill for 9km or get on a horse drawn vehicle for 50 zloty. The horse cart still takes around an hour. Make sure you bring extra warm clothing and something in case it rains. At the top you are at 1400m ASL. The refuge at the top is very stylish and you can buy drinks and meals. Then when you are done sightseeing you can either walk down the 9km or catch the horse drawn cart again for 30 zloty. It's a long day out but if you get good weather then it's pure heaven. I think the entry to the park is 5 zloty per person.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Arkadiusz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“AMAZING!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014

Paved path, about 4 hour trek up and down. Horse and buggy can give you a lift for a small fee. Washrooms available and shortcut stairs to cut the serpentine path. Breathtaking view at the top! And there's a restaurant there too if you didn't pack a snack. You can take a bus there from the main bus terminal in Zakopane, just be aware that it may be a little... exciting. :)
There were a lot of families on the path, it's definitely one of the most popular trails there. I think there's a fee of about 3zl though, but it's for maintenance and completely understandable.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank galantka101 .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful lake”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

Beautiful. Lake.in theTatras, Rather boring walk to get there or you can ride up the road in a horse and cart. It is a good paved road & can't see the point in not allowing cars to drive there ,except that they would loose income from horse trip.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank 27AnnieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiserslautern, Germany
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Morski Oko - half walk, half hike”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

So, overall I thoroughly enjoyed this trip, but let me lay out the truth of it to anyone interested in going. Parking is 20 zloty, and entrance to the hike is 5 zloty. After parking at the main parking lot near the slovakian border, there is a about a two hour walk up a paved road. It's pretty, but far from a hike. There are horse drawn wagons taking people up to the lodge and back. The road ends at the lodge right at Morski Oko. So to "hike" up to Morski Oko, is really a long walk up pavement. The trail is heavily traveled by kids, families, runners. Way more people than I would have thought, and it was rainy and cold when I went (May 3). From the lodge at the top of the road, you can see the Morski Oko lake, which was still 95% frozen. It was a beautiful view. From there, you can take different paths up higher. I forget the name of it, but right before you reach the lodge, there is a trail to the right that brings you around the west end of Morski Oko and up to another small lake. There was still soft snow up high and the views were incredible when the weather cleared up. The trails are all nicely made with large stones layed out making the trail. Overall, it was worth it but a lot of paved road going up.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeremii V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Morskie Oko also viewed

Zakopane, Lesser Poland Province
Tatra National Park, Lesser Poland Province
 
Zakopane, Lesser Poland Province
Zakopane, Lesser Poland Province
 

Been to Lake Morskie Oko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing