We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Morski Oko - half walk, half hike”
Review of Lake Morskie Oko

Lake Morskie Oko
Book In Advance
More Info
$182.51*
and up
Krakow Private Day Trip to Morskie Oko Lake and Tatra Mountains
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Kaiserslautern, Germany
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Morski Oko - half walk, half hike”
Reviewed May 8, 2014

So, overall I thoroughly enjoyed this trip, but let me lay out the truth of it to anyone interested in going. Parking is 20 zloty, and entrance to the hike is 5 zloty. After parking at the main parking lot near the slovakian border, there is a about a two hour walk up a paved road. It's pretty, but far from a hike. There are horse drawn wagons taking people up to the lodge and back. The road ends at the lodge right at Morski Oko. So to "hike" up to Morski Oko, is really a long walk up pavement. The trail is heavily traveled by kids, families, runners. Way more people than I would have thought, and it was rainy and cold when I went (May 3). From the lodge at the top of the road, you can see the Morski Oko lake, which was still 95% frozen. It was a beautiful view. From there, you can take different paths up higher. I forget the name of it, but right before you reach the lodge, there is a trail to the right that brings you around the west end of Morski Oko and up to another small lake. There was still soft snow up high and the views were incredible when the weather cleared up. The trails are all nicely made with large stones layed out making the trail. Overall, it was worth it but a lot of paved road going up.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeremii V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    352
    81
    35
    9
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
343 reviews
144 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Absolutely stunning!”
Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

The park, the mountains, lots of varied trails to check out, of various levels. Spectacular views after it snows!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank AKWShix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful views and great strolling place”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

The stroll you need to take is worth what you see at the end of the trip. Lake inside and around are mountains. You go through forrests but there is asphalt road. Morskie Oko is 2,8 km (50 minutes stroll) from last auto/bus stop and it is an easy route.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
150 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Beautiful but mind the long walk”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

I did a day trip to Morskie Oko from Zakopane in November. You have to get a minibus from the main bus station in Zakopane to Morskie Oko. The bus drops you at the entrance to the national park. From here it is around a two hour walk to Morskie Oko. I was slightly nervous about this, being a solo female traveller and it being winter, however it was fine and reasonably busy. It is obvious which way to go as there are signs or otherwise no alternative. There is the option to take the horse and carriages but you have to wait for them to fill up before they leave. The walk is boring in places but beautiful in others with gorgeous mountain scenery, waterfalls and cascading wildnerness descents into the unknown. The walk itself is relatively easy, slight uphill but I am very unfit. Once at Morskie Oko the view is magnificent! By this point the weather was bordering monsoon so I decided against the option of walking round the lake which I did want to do. There is a small café/bar in a sheltered building.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Kayleigh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Julian's, Malta
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Postcard Perfect Scenery”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

I did this trek 2 times in 2013, once in Winter when Morskie Oko was frozen over and again in October when it wasn't. Both times were simply amazing and such contrasts when it's a winter wonderland and in spring. The lake itself was a mirror reflection of the trees and mountains around it and from the sky above.

I also did the walk around the lake as well as climbed up to the lake above it, Czarny Staw (black lake). The views of Morksie Oko below it were breathtaking and a fabulous spot to enjoy my lunch. The hike to here though is a hard one, so only do it if you're fit enough and in good health.

if you don't wish to walk it, you can take horse and buggy (sleighs in winter) although I don't recommend it as you'll miss so much of the stunning scenery along the way if you do.

I highly recommend this to you when you're in Zakopane.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank DownUnderDundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Morskie Oko also viewed

Zakopane, Lesser Poland Province
Tatra National Park, Lesser Poland Province
 
Zakopane, Lesser Poland Province
Zakopane, Lesser Poland Province
 

Been to Lake Morskie Oko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing