We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply perfection”
Review of Mateo's

Mateo's
Ranked #3 of 39 Restaurants in Monemvasia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: Greek, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed June 30, 2014

OK this is not by any standard fine cuisine but what it does it does very well.
All we were after was a Greek salad some squid tazziki and chips, he does not do chips but he "would get some from next door" the food was fresh and the salad photo attached excellent think the reviewer from yesterday must have got the wrong restaurant.

Service was excellent nothing to much trouble clearly an owner that is passionate about his business I think the number of excellents and very good great do this man justice rather than the one poor review who was to cowardly to say any thing to him - shame a great miss use of trip advisor

2  Thank petermaidenhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (453)
There are newer reviews for Mateo's
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

174 - 178 of 453 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2014

I was in Greece for 18 days and can honestly say that I had the worst meal of the holiday in this restaurant. The bread was stale, the tomatoes from the Greek salad were very soft and the cucumber was brown! On the upside the owner was very friendly, as most owners of Greek restaurants are, and it was next to the sea. If you're looking for somewhere nice to eat go next door, sit at a table next to the jetty and watch the turtles while you're enjoying your dinner.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank UKlibby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Yes the place and the owner are friendly, but please do not go there to have what you expect to find in a 5 star restaurant, you would be disappointed. What you get is very good, but this is only a snack bar.

6  Thank jauterlot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathaiosp, Ιδιοκτήτης at Mateo's, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2014

Dear jauterlot,
thank you for taking the time to review us. We are glad that you liked "what you got" and we are sorry that you were not satisfied but I think you were looking for something else. We never said we are a 5-star restaurant. As you can see above, our title is Snack Bar. And our full menu is posted online everywhere: on our website, facebook page, etc. so everyone can check it before he comes. In any case, as your review is very general and doesn't mention anything specific, we would appreciate it if you sent us a short email with your specific comments, so we can improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Great food - fresh octopus, fish, wonderful marinated anchovies. Huge selection of interesting beers and ouzo, and the best spot in town for people (and world cup) watching!
The cafe is right next to the little harbour and if you're lucky you may get to see the local turtle. Mateo and Yannis are fantastic hosts and full of local knowledge.
We'll be back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MSSJ2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Being a Belgian myself, I highly recommend Mateao's Cafe & Snack not only for the excellent food served (breakfast, Dinner) but also for the extensive choice of the best Belgian beers and good wines. The owner and his family are very nice and friendly people who always makes time to chat with the guests.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Raf-Sofie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mateo's also viewed

Monemvasia, Monemvasia Municipality
Monemvasia, Monemvasia Municipality
 
Monemvasia, Monemvasia Municipality
Monemvasia, Monemvasia Municipality
 
Monemvasia, Monemvasia Municipality
Gefyra, Laconia Region
 

Been to Mateo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing