We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Goulas Hideaway”
Review of Goulas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Goulas Hotel
Ranked #17 of 23 Hotels in Monemvasia
Kalamata, Greece
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The Goulas Hideaway”
Reviewed December 3, 2008

Sweet little room with balcony facing south over the Mirtoon Sea!...one on many rooms the Goulas has on offer scattered around the main office a minutes walk from the main access into Monemvasia. Nice touches abounded such as towels coiled into hearts onto our bed! Lovely little kitchen and all decorated in dark wood with a lovely Greek feeling. The weather was cool so we were glad of the warming air-con system!

We were out of season of course, staying a night as a birthday treat away from our holiday home in the Mani, so Monemvasia was very quiet with little open but this was fine....it made it a lot easier to negotiate the tiny passages and climb to the old citadel above! We could imagine that this destination would be packed in summer! By the way, you can park a car by the main entrance to Monemvasia out of season....and the little seaside town of Gyfira on the mainland is charming with a decent bank too. Highly recommended...well done Toula!

  • Liked — Traditionally greek interior
  • Disliked — Leaving it!
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    10
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
17
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2008

My stay here may very well have been the best 2 days of my life. It is clean, cheap and simply amazing. If I were the owner I would charge far more. Really, If you don't stay here and you stay in the new town, I think you are making a huge mistake. I WILL be back!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Markos83898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2007

We spent two wonderful nights in a suite at this hotel. Every window in our room had a beautiful view of the ocean, gorgeous flowers blooming, and an awesome huge lemon tree filled with lemons. We had a large balcony where we could sit, and enjoy the clean fresh air, and of course the beautiful ocean. The room had AC, t.v., refrigerator, coffee pot, and a hot plate. The lady working the front desk was very charming and helpful! We loved our stay in the castle!

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Blaize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2007

We splashed out 90 euro for the suite with balcony and it was worth it. A large sitting room, double bedroom, kitchenette & bathroom with amazing views of the sea and old Monemvasia.
Very well equiped, very tastefully furnished and spotlessly clean.
Our hosts were friendly and spoke good English - we booked over the phone & confirmed by email, which was answered almost immediately.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — -
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SPG_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monemvasia hotels
0.1 mi away
Likinia Hotel
Likinia Hotel
#1 of 23 in Monemvasia
434 reviews
0.1 mi away
Malvasia Traditional Hotel
Malvasia Traditional Hotel
#2 of 23 in Monemvasia
286 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ardamis Traditional Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Byzantino Boutique Hotel
Byzantino Boutique Hotel
#3 of 23 in Monemvasia
233 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bastione Malvasia Hotel
Bastione Malvasia Hotel
#7 of 23 in Monemvasia
200 reviews
0.0 mi away
Moni Emvasis Luxury Suites
Moni Emvasis Luxury Suites
#5 of 23 in Monemvasia
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goulas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goulas Hotel

Property: Goulas Hotel
Address: Monemvasia, Monemvasia Municipality 230 70, Greece
Location: Greece > Peloponnese > Laconia Region > Monemvasia Municipality > Monemvasia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 23 Hotels in Monemvasia
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Goulas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goulas Hotel Monemvasia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing