We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple luxury!”

Chrisovoulo Restaurant & Wine Bar
Ranked #4 of 39 Restaurants in Monemvasia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $38 - $114
Cuisines: Diner, Delicatessen, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: With the inspirational guidance of the internationally acclaimed chef Michalis Dounetas, the new restaurant ‘Chrisovoulo’ offers all the wholesome freshness that the Laconian hillsides have to offer with an enticing array of regional specialties served with his signature avaunt-garde cuisine. Traditional past meets the present with selective gourmet cuisine aimed to delight our guests with a unique gastronomic experience, guaranteed to impress whilst, served in a glamorous setting for a relaxed candlelit dinner.
Patras, Greece
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Simple luxury!”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We knew that this restaurant was something different from the traditional taverns in the main road! We choose it to dine during the most beautiful night of April with full moon and we didn't regret it! The view was breathtaking, the food was well-cooked and the wine in the right temperature! Even if it is a little bit expensive to dine every single day the quality of the ingredients and the service is beyond all the prices! Fresh vegetables, nicely cooked dishes and the young lady in the service payed back our money! I definitely recommend it as one of my favourite restaurants in the castle of Monemvasia!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Anna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nektaria B, Owner at Chrisovoulo Restaurant & Wine Bar, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Anna V,
thank you so much for your nice words. We are very happy that you have enjoyed every single aspect of your dinner at Chrisovoulo: the view, the food, the wine, the quality of the ingredients and the service. You made us feel very proud. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    66
    18
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
65 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A great - non greeck food - place in monemvasia!”
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I were planning to stay 5 days in Monemvasia. Even though Greek food is nice, five days of it is a killer in my opinion (I am a foreigner living in Athens, so Greeck food is not a holiday thing for me any longer :-)).

I found Chrisovolou via Tripadviser, checked the menu (no traditional Greeck cuisine, but good (?) greeck ingredients!) and reserved a table for the 25th of Dec.. I cannot rate the view as it was dark. However, the lovely waitress lit up the inside of the restaurant with her superb service.

We ordered one saltet pork/cheese platter as starter, then lobster linguini as main and hot chocolate soufflé as desert. All shared and no problem about the sharing part. It was all delicicous! We even got an additional local salted pork mini tasting plate, because we so much raved about the pork. We prefer the lobster grilled, above cooked in general (it can get a little 'tough' cooked), but the linguini had a lovely lobster taste.
The great service and food made this a memorable Xmas day dinner and we will definately visit again when visiting Monemvasia!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank estdk_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nektaria B, Owner at Chrisovoulo Restaurant & Wine Bar, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear estdk_10,
thank you for your kind words. We are very happy that a seasoned traveler and eater like you have enjoyed our food and service and remember this dinner as a memorable one.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again to Chrisovoulo Restaurant the next time you visit Monemvasia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassel, Germany
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Luxury experience with a beautiful sea view”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Our last lunch in MOnemvasia! In a nice balcony with a beautiful sea view. Food very tasty, good quality! The staff was very friendly & the service excellent. They even prepared food for our son, who was sleeping during the lunch & although they don't have the appropriate packages (as they don't deliver of course outside), they found a way, so that our son could enjoy his pasta once he would wake up!
Keep on like that! Businesses like yours bring our tourism one step forward!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MSforA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nektaria B, Owner at Chrisovoulo Restaurant & Wine Bar, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear MSforA,
thank you for your nice words. We are always trying to satisfy the needs and offer an enjoyable dining experience to ALL our guests (even the youngest ones). We hope your son has enjoyed his pasta in your hotel room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Level Contributor
84 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Perfect view, great lunch”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We really enjoyed our lunch on this beautiful balcony. Great value for money lunch choices (dinner menu is more expensive), tasty dishes and good, though a bit slow, service. A good option if you want to try something different than the ordinary greek taverna

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jolotravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nektaria B, Owner at Chrisovoulo Restaurant & Wine Bar, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear WorldTravelgrl,
thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor and for your kind words. Since the moment we conceived Chrisovoulo Restaurant, we wanted to offer a completely different dining option compared to the other restaurants in the castle regarding the atmosphere, the design and, of course, the food. I think we have accomplished that in a genuine way and comments like yours are the best confirmation for that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greece
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“what a view!”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We only visited Chrisovoulo for breakfast, but we fell in love with it.
The view is magnificent! The sea on one side, the town on the other. The breakfast menu was extensive, everything was tasty and well presented, and it was remarkably cheap as well. The service was attentive and very friendly.
We had just one day and night in Monemvasia, or we would have definitely visited again and again. And next time there, we are going to stay at Moni Emvasis Suites too!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dafnitin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nektaria B, Owner at Chrisovoulo Restaurant & Wine Bar, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear dafnitin,
thank you for your kind words. A couple of months ago, we decided to "open up" our breakfast, so every visitor of Monemvasia could enjoy it and wouldn't be limited to the guests of our Suites anymore, as it used to be. The number of people that tasted our breakfast as well as their comments proved that that was the right way to go. Our aim is to offer the most sumptuous breakfast in Monemvasia with special attention to the freshness, quality and provenience of all ingredients. Your comment gives us courage to continue on the same path.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chrisovoulo Restaurant & Wine Bar also viewed

Monemvasia, Monemvasia Municipality
Monemvasia, Monemvasia Municipality
 
Monemvasia, Monemvasia Municipality
Monemvasia, Monemvasia Municipality
 
Monemvasia, Monemvasia Municipality
Monemvasia, Monemvasia Municipality
 

Been to Chrisovoulo Restaurant & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing