We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (401)
Filter reviews
401 results
Traveler rating
243
100
39
11
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
243
100
39
11
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews town square toilet and shower spiral staircase hotel boy reception room an amazing selection fairy tale loved our stay a great sea view hotel's reception visiting greece the main street old town sleeping area walled village carry our bags upper castle
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
126 - 131 of 401 reviews
Reviewed March 10, 2016

The room was basic. It needs updating especially the bathroom is very uncomfortable.
The balcony's furniture need replacement as here are very old and in bad condition.
Also the entrance of the room is very difficult as you have to climb a very narrow stair case.

Room tip: good breakfast
Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank theop660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna_Traiforou, Ιδιοκτήτης at Byzantino Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2016

Dear Theo,
thank you for your review. I'm happy that you liked some aspects of your stay, like our breakfast and the behaviour of the staff but I'm very sorry that you felt uncomfortable with some parts of your room. We have taken note of your comments and we have replaced the furniture of the balcony for the new summer season. Unfortunately, we cannot do much with the structural elements of the buildings, because they were built in order to serve the needs of their era and now are considered as monuments, thus leaving very little space for structural modifications. In any case, each room is different, so the next time you come, you may see more rooms in order to choose the one that best suits your needs and taste.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2016

The hotel is located inside the Castle and the rooms are facing the main square. The rooms are traditional in character but honestly the bathrooms are VERY small! I wonder how an slightly overweight person will fit to have a shower. Whatever your weight, the bathrooms can become a swimming pool at no time! :S Other than this contractual issue, the staff (especially the ladies), the location and the breakfast is amazing (maybe the best I ever had) with a traditional sense. Overall a very pleasant stay. :)

Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mari T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna_Traiforou, Ιδιοκτήτης at Byzantino Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2016

Dear Mrs. Mari,
thank you very much for your review and for your personal mentions. We are very glad that you liked the location of your room, the breakfast and our services and that you had an overall nice stay. Regarding the size of the bathrooms in a few rooms, you are right, they are very small. we know the problem and that's why we don't sell these specific rooms online anymore (since a couple of years). Until we renovate them, we keep them as a backup and we rent them only when the hotel is full and only after showing them to the guests, as happened in your case. Of course, the bathroom won't get larger, but at least the guests are fully aware before they make a decision. And for the same reason their rate is very attractive.
The next time you visit us, we would certainly like to offer you one of our rooms with a big bathroom.
Best regards,
Anna & Giota

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2015

This fortress town in amazing and there is nothing quite like staying in a 13th century townhouse. Our room was located in the cellar but it had a charming garden and our own ancient water fountain right in the room. Sleeping under the vaulted ceiling was very romantic.

As lovely as our room was, I am very glad that we left in time for breakfast. The owner says she prepares everything with love and this was very obvious from the amazing spread of Greek dishes she had prepared. No store bought food at this hotel. Her Greek yogurt with honey, prunes and almonds was so tasty.

If you are coming to Monemvasia, treat yourself to wonderful stay at the Hotel Byzantino, you won't regret it.

Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarieinSlovenia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna_Traiforou, Ιδιοκτήτης at Byzantino Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2016

Dear Mariein,
thank you so much for your enthusiastic words about Monemvasia and for the special mention you made about our breakfast. We feel a genuine passion for the timeless charm and the romantic atmosphere of the Castle of Monemvasia and we are constantly trying to share this strong feeling with our guests, so we were more than happy when we read your review. It will be a pleasure having you again with us when you come back.
Best regards,
Anna & Giota

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2015 via mobile

Went for three nights and stayed in a amazing room with a arched ceiling, exactly what you would expect from a castle town. Room was kept in top condition daily. The staff were extremely kind and helpful. The biggest surprise was the breakfast included in the price, that was fit for a king. Excellent choice!!! Highly recommend!!!

Date of stay: November 2015
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
3  Thank GeorgeWhitediver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna_Traiforou, Owner at Byzantino Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2015

Dear George,
thank you so much for your enthusiastic words. We are very happy that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you again to the Castle of Monemvasia. Best regards,
Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2015

We stayed there for 2 nights! From our room we had fantastic view. It was next to the main square. The room was very clean and we had apivita products in the bathroom. We had a very pleasant stay. The breakfast was made with greek products and it was really good.

Room tip: ask for rooms with view at the sea!
Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank vivian v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna_Traiforou, Owner at Byzantino Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2015

Dear Vivian,
thank you very much for your thorough review. We are very glad that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay (room, view, cleanliness, breakfast) and that you appreciated our dedication to offer only the best products and services, in this case high quality natural "Apivita" toiletries.
See you again,
Anna & Giota

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews