We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved the place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Byzantino Boutique Hotel
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Monemvasia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 29, 2011

The hotel is made up of separate rooms spread around the village with breakfast taken in a small cafenio on the town square. We had room no/ 1 which was absolutely charming. It had a view over both the square and the sea, was dark and cool and decorated with an eclectic mix of antiques. The bathroom was modern, clean but only large enough for one person at a time. However, our favourite part was the balcony that we shared with a sparrow who brought crickets and moths back to disassemble and eat at our feet.
Across from the balcony, the full 6ft width of the main street, was the picturesque3 story bell tower. It literally lulled us into a false sense of security until 7.30am on Sunday morning when we were shot out of the bed by the noise of the bells.
The only problem is that the car needs to be left on the approach road which even in June was pretty full.So unload in the turning loop and then park.

Room Tip: Ask for room 1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luap1847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (254)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 254 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2010

very nice, renovated,medieval houses and tasty local food.

Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
Thank TaniaL3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2009

Almost everything everyone says in their reviews is true. Firstly Monemvasa is an ancient Venetian/Byzantine/Turkish/Frankish fortress. Yes I know all the fortified towns in the Peloponnese went through all these owners - usually several times. But here the town has been restored and many of the rooms converted into hotel rooms..

So to answer a few complaints of others...
1.Where else can you stay in a World Heritage Site? Stay in the city , blow a few hard earned dollars, the village on the mainland is pretty uninteresting unless factor #2 applies to you...

2. If you like a Holiday Inn (yes, am speaking to North American citizens here) with a standard room and nice big bath room with the whole lot indentical in every city in the commercial world, this is NOT for you. Neither is the rest of Greece for that matter! Here the rooms are converted ancient town houses. Rooms and especially bathrooms vary in size, view, location. ASK to see what is available. The rooms are in several buildings .Even in October , some rooms were booked up and we had to move rooms. Both rooms were very spacious, one balcony had better views than the other, one bathroom was small , one minute. Some cielings were at head banging height. Altogether...wonderful.

3.Price. Expensive in season;in October we haggled and were offered super prices.

4.Aussie and Greek service was superb;good advice on food..and everything else.Yes , you need a car to see Southern Laconia- some wonderful roads and beaches.

5.As you all know, in Greece 'Speak softly and carry a big can of Fly Spray' .

6.The town has a good swimming spot below the castle walls.

All in all I would not have missed Greece, the Peloponnese, Laconia or this town or hotel for anything.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ScottishRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2009

The hotel is right in the centre of the old town of Monemvasia. The first thing to say is that you will need to leave the car outside the old town and you will need to walk to the hotel. The reception is in the main street and the rooms (at least ours) are around 100 meters uphill. Someone helped us, but consider this if you have a lot of luggage! We had 3 rooms. One was lovely, quite large with sea view, If we had seen only this one we would have said that the place was fantastic. Unfortunately our friends were not so lucky. Their rooms were extremely small and quite run down. One in particular had an extremely noisy air conditioning that made it almost impossible to have a good night sleep. The bathrooms (if they can be called so) were tiny, almost claustrophobic, with barely the space to accommodate one person (and we are not particularly tall or big). On the other hand the place itself is spectacular. The old town is great and the view amazing. The place is definitely worth visiting, but I will suggest you discuss the rooms you are going to get when you make the booking as they are so different that you may end up very happy or extremely not happy (borderline want to leave the place…).

Stayed: August 2006, traveled with friends
5  Thank Rany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2008

Monemvasia has beautiful views and if you want to stay on the "rock" there are very few options for accomodations. I can't speak for the others, and in hind-sight, I do not think that I would have stayed on the rock as there was a significant premium associated with doing so. Byzantino has nice rooms, the bathrooms are EXTREEMLY small, even for European standards, and were very dark. Our room was well appointed with a fireplace (it costs extra to use it) and nice pillows on the floor. The room had a fridge which was convenient for drinks. Housekeeping did not fix up or beds or change our washroom garbage during our stay. This was particularly ugly, as in Greece, you throw all used toilet tissue in the garbage can, and I had "runny bum" during my stay... YUCK!

Staying in the Byzantino is supposed to entitle you to a continental breakfast for $5 Eur, per person at a specific restaurant. When we were there (low season) the restaurant was never open. One of the clerks at the front desk had excellent English, the others had extreemly limited English and none were particularly warm, or helpful. Also note, they do not accept any traveler's cheques. We had AE traveler's cheques in Eur, and the response was "Problem!". Alpha bank cashes traveler's cheques for face value, no commission, just as an FYI.

The restaurants on the rock are very limited, all serving the same thing, all expensive, and the food that we had was not good. Greasy and salty was the norm. On a whole, we enjoyed the food in Athens, but throughout the Pelopeneese, the food was much the same, only the price varied.

Out of the 14 days we spent in Greece, the Hotel Byzantino was the most expensive accomodation, but far from the best. I had been determined that I had to stay on the rock, but like I say, now, I would not tell anyone to do the same thing.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pablo_from_Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2008

This is a charming hotel just a few steps inside this walled town gate entrance. As this village is pedaestrian only and you will have to carry your luggage to your hotel being so close to the gate and parking is a real advantage. Our room was clean and spacious with wooden floorboards and a traditional feel due to the charming furnishings and had a small balcony overlooking the main laneway where we could sit and drink, write postcards and watch the passing parade below.

It was also a relief to find a soft bed in Greece (known for its lack of matresses a 'pea princess'' could get any sleep on). However, if you like a firmer mattress this hotel does have a small range of quirky rooms to choose between. I certainly recommend staying in the village on the Rock rather than the mainland.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank explore_&_indulge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2007

Last Weekend of May was long weekend in Greece so I decided to go to Monemvasia, a famous historical place in south east Peloponesse in Greece.
In Monemvasia guest has two options to stay, one out the castle in small same named village and the other choice is to find a place inside the castle. Here I have to underline that it is difficult especially on high seasons to find place in castle.
I choose Byzantino, which is one of the most famous in castle places. Price for a double room with balcony and without breakfast was aranged for 120E/night.
We have arrived on place late Friday evening. Entering the castle is a unique experience as you can feel a little bit of the old years' magic. The reception of Byzantino was in other place than room. We "checked in" and they drove us to room.
Room was good, with nice windows to sea plus the balcony. but, the first disappointment came that we shared the balcony with another couple living in room aside us. Terrible, not privacy at all, as we could see in their room, and they to our room. Of course the view was great.
Room didn't have television, the frigerator wasn't functionable and moreoover bathroom was one of the smallest, poorest, not so good I have ever seen. For a room priced 120euros per night, bathroom should be more than good. and that it wasn't. Plus, the vendilation was poor, as result smells entered the room.
Byzantino is a nice place to stay, but not for 120E/night.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Giorgos A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monemvasia
0.1 mi away
Likinia Hotel
Likinia Hotel
#1 of 23 in Monemvasia
470 reviews
0.2 mi away
Malvasia Traditional Hotel
Malvasia Traditional Hotel
#2 of 23 in Monemvasia
331 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bastione Malvasia Hotel
Bastione Malvasia Hotel
#7 of 23 in Monemvasia
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Moni Emvasis Luxury Suites
Moni Emvasis Luxury Suites
#5 of 23 in Monemvasia
119 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Flower of Monemvasia
The Flower of Monemvasia
#11 of 23 in Monemvasia
120 reviews
3.7 mi away
Kinsterna Hotel
Kinsterna Hotel
#1 of 1 in Agios Stefanos
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Byzantino Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Byzantino Boutique Hotel

Address: Monemvasia Castle | Laconia, Peloponnese, Monemvasia, Monemvasia Municipality 230 70, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Peloponnese > Laconia Region > Monemvasia Municipality > Monemvasia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Monemvasia
#6 Romantic Hotel in Monemvasia
Price Range: $62 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Byzantino Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As byzantine and authentic as the Castletown of Monemvasia itself, BYZANTINO is the hotel where the history, the architecture and the modern facilities meet the warm hospitality, the home made tastes and the quality services. All year round fairy tale stay! Great advantage... the unique hospitality of Monemvasia provided in every level. The service, the friendly interaction and the personal interest of its people, who are always eager to accommodate you and inform you on anything you need. Special recommendation... the delicious handmade Greek Breakfast, made with select local products, based on traditional recipes, is prepared with the personal care and meticulousness of Mrs Anna and carries certification of the Hellenic Chamber of Hotels. Invaluable experience... the stay at Byzantino Boutique Hotel which targets "seekers" of memorable experiences, incurable romantics, keen nature lovers, cosmopolitans and history enthusiasts, who dream of a journey into yesterday with today's conveniences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Byzantino Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Byzantino Medotel Monemvasia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing