We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ardamis Traditional Guesthouse
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Monemvasia
Certificate of Excellence
Parigi, Indonesia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Magic”
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Already you feel magic the opportunity to spend three nights in monenvassia
Then u end up in a place like this
Romantic funny and confortable
Just a few meters from the wild sea of monenvassia
The host is a sunny and smiling greek woman ready to help with everything
There is a terrace
A grass to see the stars
They offer the best breakfast ever
You have the opportunity to walk in this amazing medieval pearl and swim when you feel
Let's not forger the hammam in the apt....

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sinisca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    30
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
20
75
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
80 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We spent 3days in this amazing hotel.

Big rooms, clean, comfortable beds, friendly and really hospitable owners. The view from their terrace is unique and the scenery wonderful.

We went also to Elafonissos. It's an amazing place one hour away from Monemvasia but there are not good hotels there. What really worths is the beach. Caribbean sand with salty mediterranean waters.

Monemvasia is one of its kind as it is an old castle, community that has been restored and it's operated by very interesting people. You can find shops, restaurants and nice traditional hotels like Ardamis, but as I have been to most of them, Ardamis is the best. Unfortunately the access to Monemvasia is impossible for people with mobility problems due to the stoned paths and the stairs...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Konstantinosss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Great:
Great location, right in the middle of the castle
Excellent terrace to view the town, beach and have breakfast. Really the best location.
Awesome room (the premium suite) with multiple rooms and levels and the old water well. Sweet suite
A lot of space
Friendly and helpful owner lady.
Nicely decorated, great design. Combination of authentic and modern facilities.
Service for carrying suitcases is provided upon request (for a tip for the poor guy lugging your heavy stuff) (just communicate with the hotel. (you have to park outside the castle, could be a 5-15 minute walk))
A truly unique experience.
Could be better: variety of breakfast

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DutchinFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

The room was very spacious , had a sofa , tv, and dvd player.It was well decorated and the matress and beddings was of the best quality. The bathroom was small for such a spacious room and the breakfast was not so good. They served coffee, a boiled egg, croissant (pre baked), bread (pre baked frozen) and marmelade . The view was magnificent and it is near to the exit of the castle , and this is very good if you have things to curry.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aleka38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
117 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Very polite owners. The villa we booked is at the other side of the castle, only 2mins walking from Ardamis main building in a very quiet area. Very nice house, very clean and very comfortable. Perfect sea view! If you are staying with very young kids, please bear in mind that there is an inside stair, connecting the 2 levels. With every bedroom equipped with A/C and sattelite and a separate sattelite, fireplace and A/C at the upper level, you will be easily manipulte the inside temperature - rather hot - inside this house. Furniture at the upper level is tranditional of high quality, but some pieces are rather unconfortable for everyday use (eating table). The kitchen was well equiped and coffe, refreshments a bottle of water and fruits were included in the price. However, we expect coffee to be kept fresher. Although staying in a castle is a unique experience, the whole castle experience is a bit overpriced for the Greek-in-crisis era. Nevertheless, it was a great experience, which worth to live!

Room Tip: If you are a family or 2 couples, go for room #21. It's a 150m2 house split in 2 levels; bathroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank docklas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I spent three days at Ardamis hotel. Monemvasia is magnificent so is the hotel. The room we stayed at was cosy, clean with an outstanding view. Ideal for relaxation. I really appreciate it when hotel owners respect the customers' time and money and definitely Mr and Mrs Ardamis did so.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prvasso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Mr and Mrs Ardamis are going at great lengths to ensure you have a wonderful stay in Monemvasia castle.
Located in the best part of the fortress, rooms are very well built, with attention to detail.
Breakfast is 5 star with fresh orange juice, and coffee and a basket filled with buttery croissants, buns honey and jams.
Go for room 15: it opens to a green terrace in the castle and in a beautiful internal yard.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vangelis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monemvasia hotels
0.1 mi away
Likinia Hotel
Likinia Hotel
#1 of 23 in Monemvasia
415 reviews
0.1 mi away
Malvasia Traditional Hotel
Malvasia Traditional Hotel
#2 of 23 in Monemvasia
267 reviews
0.0 mi away
Byzantino Boutique Hotel
Byzantino Boutique Hotel
#4 of 23 in Monemvasia
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bastione Malvasia Hotel
Bastione Malvasia Hotel
#7 of 23 in Monemvasia
191 reviews
0.0 mi away
Moni Emvasis Luxury Suites
Moni Emvasis Luxury Suites
#5 of 23 in Monemvasia
110 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lazareto Hotel
Lazareto Hotel
#14 of 23 in Monemvasia
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardamis Traditional Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardamis Traditional Guesthouse

Property: Ardamis Traditional Guesthouse
Address: Castle of Monemvasia, Monemvasia, Monemvasia Municipality 230 70, Greece
Location: Greece > Peloponnese > Laconia Region > Monemvasia Municipality > Monemvasia
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Monemvasia
#4 Luxury Hotel in Monemvasia
#5 Romantic Hotel in Monemvasia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ardamis Traditional Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Traditional Guesthouse Ardamis is housed in the most significant building of the Monemvasia castle, whose history goes many centuries back. It was the governor's house during the Venetian rule and a residency during the Ottoman rule, while two Byzantine emperors have also been welcomed there. The building was renovated with respect, without absolutely any alteration of the areas, keeping its particular architectural elements intact, thus highlighting its beauty and history, while at the same time offering all modern luxuries. When the renovation started a Byzantine coin was found in the ruins dated back to 711 A.D. which is now exhibited in the Numismatic Museum of Athens and is unique in its kind. Some of the guest house special elements are the unique Castle tower, 14 meters high with seven windows, an 800 years old marble well, a true copy whereof is exhibited in the Museum of Istanbul and a picture whereof is exhibited in the Castle Museum, and of course the guest house 100 m2 balcony right above the sea which many Greek and foreign magazines and visitors have called . Currently the guest house is an amazing complex of rooms, suites and apartments joining the history with the living present of Monemvasia. Ardamis Traditional Guest Houses is the ideal destination for honeymoon. Quality never suffers a crisis; this is our firm belief which we prove everyday to all our clients. We shall continue to offer state-of-art services so that you may enjoy the comfort, the amenities and the ambience of Ardamis guest houses. Thousands of readers of various magazines have classified us as the best guest house in Greece, for three consecutive times; we are awarded for our efforts but also committed to constantly improve the quality of our services, even in difficult periods as this. In our website you will find various press releases, and awards. One of the voting procedures was held by the "Voyager" magazine which conducted a poll among 60,000 readers; with a percentage of 96.68% our guest house won the first prize across Greece!!!! Selecting your accommodation based on the price is unfair to both us and you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ardamis Traditional Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardamis Hotel Monemvasia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing