We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really charming and great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Theophano Art Hotel
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Monemvasia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

The owner is really nice and talkative :) the rooms and ambience are amazing... The breakfast has a really good quality but it was missing in variety and quantity...! The rooms were from the 17th century!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michele_A_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (291)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 291 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013

A beautiful hotel in a magical setting- however, be warned this place is not for everyone.
Firstly, it is about 1/2 mile (800m) walk through narrow alley ways and charming little streets to get to the hotel. Although help with luggage can be arranged- it is a trek up and down steps, cobble stones and rough paths to get there. This is not for the infirm or elderly, push chairs, strollers or wheelchairs!
Fortunately, if your still in then the reward is lovely. Theophano (the owner) is a likeable character if you accept her interesting, convincing and eccentric ways. We happened to like it? But we can see where and how other reviewers did not. Relax and be charmed.
Stars at night were like none other and give it 10-15 minutes for your eyes to fully adjust to see them 'all'.

Breakfast is good (coffee, OJ, egg, bread, cheese, homemade preseves, yogurt and peaches- how much do you want!!!).

Within Monemvasia, there some lovely and some not so lovely restaurants/bars and shops. A little touristy and quite a bit if crap, but see last this and Manolis the artist (First on your left as you enter the main gate), olive wood shop, great cocktails and wonderful food at Matoulas will be long-term memories for us. Make your own magic- swim off the rocks, eat the local fish, drink the local wine and relax.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Markwilson78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Monemvasia is a truly unique journey back in medieval/Byzantine times but with all the modern luxuries.available. Theophano Art Hotel (and the name Art Hotel is 100% justified) is the ideal Hotel to match this experience. Its aesthetics are unique, down to the last detail, with items collected through a period of time to match the occasion, a discreet but always present service, a magnificent breakfast and an amazing view of both the castle above and the sea below, It only takes a second after entering this Art Hotel to know that your stay there would be ideal. And a visit in Monemvasia can and should only be such.
And for us who cant escape the modern dependencies there is free Wi-Fi available all over the hotel, A/C which we did not have to use and TV..

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yorgos P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

First of all, let me spend few words on addressing you this amazing place in the world which is Monemvasia...a must in yr life.
Then, about our experience, we decided to spend 3 nights in this medioeval village. After having checked 4/5 options through their official websites, we happily ended in touch with Fani.
Since the first step into this brand new building(Aug 2012), you feel mostly like a friendly guest of Fani.
Words are not enough to describe the village/hotel&experience....
Of course, we booked for the best room "Theopano", so shop around before picking yours. They are all different, so better to ask.
The only micro issue(not personally as we both do small breakfast) is about on what you can really get in the morning....but we will sort it out directly in our next visit...hopefully soon
SO...DO IT!!!! WHAT ARE YOU WAITING FOR?

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alessandro s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Theophano Art Hotel is the best way to enjoy your time in Monemvasia Castle. Beautiful common spaces, decorated with unique items and view to Myrtoo sea!!!
The place, the service, the room and of course the breakfast is perfect!!! It was very very relaxing!!!

Worth visiting Monemvasia Castle and Theophano art hotel!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Agathi-Kef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

A very nice gustehouse in an excellent spot inside the castle of Monemvasia. Nicely decorated and spacey rooms, tasty breakfast.
Had some disadvantages, though... The bathroom was not supplied with bath products which were brought only upon request and only for one person. It was also very small (in spite of the really big room) so when you showered there was water everywhere -and they had a mop for you to use! You didn't have the choice to eat more than one serving dyring breakfast and the fact that you had to share the table was maybe a bit awkward... The door to the central building was locked after 10am making it impossible to communicate with the owners.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank desptsouk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Z, Co-owner at Theophano Art Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Dear Desptsouk,

Thank you for your review and for your positive remarks regarding the hotel's decoration and breakfast.

You stayed with us in April 2012, which was during the first couple of months of the hotel's operation. Since then we have accumulated valuable experience and we believe that many aspects of our hospitality have improved.

Your comments about the bathrooms are now OUT OF DATE as these have been renovated for the vast majority of rooms, including the one you stayed. Most bathrooms now feature a closed cabin shower. However, you should bear in mind that the traditional settlement of Monemvasia is an archaeological site with very strict renovation rules that often do not allow accommodations to fulfil typical hotel standards, especially regarding the bathrooms.

Regarding the bathroom toiletries, we assure you that this was a one-off incident and we are sorry for the inconvenience.

Of course you can ask for as many servings as you want for breakfast and we are sorry this was not communicated properly. The communal table experience is described clearly on our website and we understand that this is a matter of taste. However, there are also smaller tables fit for two for separate service during breakfast.

Since we are a small family operated hotel there may be brief moments when the reception/central building is closed. The hotel's central building remains open until quite late subject to seasonality.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

I booked Theophano Art Hotel for my mother and father and they were very satisfied. They said the service is great (Fani and the team) and the inside of the hotel was very tastefully decorated in sympathy with the wonderful Byzantine town of Monemvassia. They cannot recommend Theophano Art Hotel highly enough!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dionysis2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monemvasia hotels
0.0 mi away
Likinia Hotel
Likinia Hotel
#1 of 23 in Monemvasia
469 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bastione Malvasia Hotel
Bastione Malvasia Hotel
#8 of 23 in Monemvasia
206 reviews
0.0 mi away
Malvasia Traditional Hotel
Malvasia Traditional Hotel
#2 of 23 in Monemvasia
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Byzantino Boutique Hotel
Byzantino Boutique Hotel
#3 of 23 in Monemvasia
253 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Flower of Monemvasia
The Flower of Monemvasia
#11 of 23 in Monemvasia
120 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Xifoupolis
Hotel Xifoupolis
#7 of 23 in Monemvasia
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Theophano Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Theophano Art Hotel

Address: Castle of Monemvasia, Monemvasia, Monemvasia Municipality 230 70, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Peloponnese > Laconia Region > Monemvasia Municipality > Monemvasia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Monemvasia
Hotel Class:3 star — Theophano Art Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The name Theophano Art Hotel is an expression of the fact that, apart from wishing to create a unique environment for guests, we also wanted to display our family collection of art and antique furniture, lovingly hand picked on our travels in Greece and abroad during the last twenty years. The collection ties in wonderfully with the buildings, and invites guests to enjoy it both in their rooms and the hotel's common areas. The common areas are an important part of the hotel as the accommodation is extended outside the individual rooms. The hotel offers a breakfast room and a lounge which overlook the Myrtoo Sea, where guests may enjoy their breakfast, or relax in different times in the day. There is also a shady veranda, a roof terrace with panoramic views and several separate lounges where guests may play board games, read, use the internet. These spaces are also used for events of different kinds. In the past we have successfully hosted book presentations and poetry readings, jewelry and painting exhibitions, classical music concerts, yoga retreats and weddings! In our hotel no two rooms are the same making every stay a whole new experience for guests, no matter how many times they return. The rooms differ both in terms of architecture, views, orientation, size and balcony as well as in terms of decoration and furnishings. Thanks to this, guests forget that they are in a hotel room and they find themselves immersed in the warm atmosphere of a mansion house. The hotel's location, on the square of Chrysafitissa, the largest open space within the Castle, is absolutely stunning. Once there, the visitor can directly enjoy panoramic views of the sea, the historic fortifications and the traditional settlement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Theophano Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing