We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A slice of magic!”
Review of Likinia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Likinia Hotel
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Monemvasia
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A slice of magic!”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Hotel Likinia is special. Set within the ramparts of Monemvasia Castle, it exudes magic and charm. On our arrival and throughout our stay, we were made most welcome by the owners. Check out the breakfast dish of scrambled eggs and tomatoes which we found to be delicious, and have since cooked several times thanks to the owner giving us the recipe! The breakfast area is a delight: set under archways with an abundance of colourful potted plants leading up the stone steps from the courtyard area. We were also upgraded at no extra cost, because we were celebrating a birthday. A definite repeat vacation.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerrybus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    43
    18
    2
    2
See reviews for
94
236
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Hotel Likinia is a unique hotel in a unique location. Charming owners and staff making our 2 day delightful, breakfast delicious. Our room had windows on three walls and a balcony with views over the courtyard and sea. The furnishing was high quality with a very comfortable bed. Monemvasia is unique as it is built on the side of a rock with narrow streets and is totally inaccessible to cars making it a joy to walk about and enjoy, with fantastic views from the top in the old town. There is no other place or hotel like it.
Colin & Pam

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissamos, Greece
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I stayed at Likinia Hotel in May for 2 nights. The room was sumptuous, with a fabulously comfortable bed and lots of assorted pillows. The rooms are converted from the old dwellings in the town and each one is different. Mine had great views of the sea. My friend's room had a large balcony. The owners are charming and will try their best to make your stay enjoyable. I thoroughly recommend the breakfast which is delicious.

Room Tip: There are pictures of the rooms on the website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AvrilKissamos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
1 review
Reviewed May 23, 2013

I had a pleasure to stay in Monemvasia two times and both times it was Likinia hotel . I loved location of the hotel - it's a bit away from the main streets and not noisy so I really relax when I am back to the hotel and it takes only 5 min. ( taking in account how small is the Castle) to get to the main street. Nice design, rooms, clean, fresh, welcoming. Great place ! Regards from Latvia.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arina_Solnceva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Monemvasia is a rare, wonderful place to visit, and the Likinia Hotel is a great place to hang your hat.  It's in a peaceful, quiet part of town (but still close to excellent restaurants), the rooms are well appointed and receive great attention, and the staff and owners are wonderful, looking after your every need (thanks for the help in getting heavy luggage to the hotel!).  And did I mention the breakfasts are superb? This is the place to stay in Monemvasia, especially during Easter Week!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NotJoeThePlumber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell River, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We spent 4 nights in this wonderful hotel. The hotel is very conveniently located within lower Monemvasia. Our room (number 10) had windows on 3 of the 4 walls with views of the village and the sea. The room was gorgeous and clean. The bed softer than others I have encountered in Greece with ample pillows and a fluffy duvet. Voula who is the owner or manager was very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. She speaks enough English to get by with English speaking tourists. We were met at the entrance of Monemvasia by Alexander who carried our luggage to the room and also assisted with parking the car. No cars are allowed within the walls so you must park along the road leading to Monemvasia. Alexander will follow you and transport you back to the main gate. You must take the time to hike to the ruins. They are worth the effort. I recommend doing it in the evening when the temperature has started to fall. Breakfast consists of a selection of cereals, breads, fruit, yogurt, ham, cheese, eggs scrambled with tomatoes, spinach pie, a vegetable and ham omelet, cheese pie, jam and honey, coffee, and fresh orange juice. It did not vary day to day but with the selection we did not mind.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SFJ123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We read the reviews on TripAdvisor and followed the link to Booking.com. Easy, except that many reviews mention Room 1 (a suite) and Booking.com doesn't tell you which room is which. We made our best guess and included a note requesting Room 1. A few days before the trip I got a phone call from Likinia telling me that Room 1 was not available. Okay. Oh but wait, it could be available (for a few dollars more) if we cancelled our reservation with Booking.com and paid them directly. Well, we did. It felt a little weird, but we assumed it was best. It did work out, and we were given Room 1, but it seemed like a strange system.
Upon arrival, we were escorted to our suite. No tour or explanation or check-in, just dropped in our suite. The manager sent a text message saying to call if we needed anything. Suite 1 was very pretty, but I wouldn't call it a suite since it's only one room. Very comfortable and clean with a lovely view, but not luxurious. Hot water was not abundant and on most days didn't last through even one shower. Breakfast was fine - exactly like every other breakfast we had in Greece. Mostly we wanted to sleep in, although it was not always possible. One morning the owner called and woke us to see if we were coming to breakfast, another day she called and woke us to see if we needed room service. There must be a less intrusive system, like "do not disturb" signs. Also, as you lie in bed you face the red LED light from the TV and similiar lights from the fuse box. If you are a sensitive sleeper, you will need to find a way to mask them. The experience of staying on The Rock was fun, but I think we spent more than we needed on what was essentially a simple inn. There seem to be lots of accommodations to choose from - so look for the best price, since the best things (the beauty and quiet of Monemvasia) are free.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GatsbyUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monemvasia hotels
0.0 mi away
Malvasia Traditional Hotel
Malvasia Traditional Hotel
#2 of 23 in Monemvasia
267 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bastione Malvasia Hotel
Bastione Malvasia Hotel
#7 of 23 in Monemvasia
191 reviews
0.1 mi away
Byzantino Boutique Hotel
Byzantino Boutique Hotel
#4 of 23 in Monemvasia
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Moni Emvasis Luxury Suites
Moni Emvasis Luxury Suites
#5 of 23 in Monemvasia
110 reviews
1.3 mi away
Panorama Hotel
Panorama Hotel
#9 of 23 in Monemvasia
170 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Xifoupolis
Hotel Xifoupolis
#6 of 23 in Monemvasia
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Likinia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Likinia Hotel

Property: Likinia Hotel
Address: Castle of Monemvasia, Monemvasia, Monemvasia Municipality 230 70, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Peloponnese > Laconia Region > Monemvasia Municipality > Monemvasia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Monemvasia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Likinia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LIKINIA Hotel is a newly built hotel located inside the historic Castle of Monemvasia in the Southern Peloponnese. The stone built hotel, which has been constructed with absolute respect to the historic surroundings and architecture of the Castle, is offering a very pleasant and relaxing accommodation to its guests, thanks to its comfortable furniture and modern equipment. All the architectural elements were preserved during construction, such as arcs and cisterns, while there has been a wonderful combination of marble floors in each room and marble walls in their bathrooms. Its beautiful construction, its bright rooms thanks to their numerous windows, and its tasteful furniture are making LIKINIA Hotel a jewel for the Castle of Monemvasia. LIKINIA Hotel is located in Chrysafitissa Square, which is adjacent to the southern part of the Castle's fortification, just above the sea. Thanks to the hotel's proximity to the sea, most of its 4 suites and 12 rooms have a beautiful sea view and its guests may enjoy the coolness of the sea breeze through its numerous windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Likinia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing