We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“stay away”
Review of To Kanoni

To Kanoni
Ranked #8 of 38 Restaurants in Monemvasia
Price range: $8 - $28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Drinks, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: To Kanoni Restaurant is characterized by the Peloponnesian cuisine, which is based in three elements: Top quality products, perfection in implementation and creativity. Years of experience search for the best that nature has to offer, each and every season, from local producers around the area of Monemvasia.Enjoy our local cuisine with fresh cooked dishes like Fried local goat cheese, sausage made from the old times recipe with orange and smoked with sage, our specialty Eggplant Kanoni with grilled eggplant, tomato, onions, peppers, cheese feta all baked in the oven. The traditional Saiti with homemade thin dough filled with spinach and grilled on the platter, our Kleftiko lamb with vegetables and local cheese Graviera baked in the oven, our famous shrimp spaghetti and of course our fresh fish with the accompany of local world awarded local wines from the vineyards of the region.Our moral satisfaction is the pleasure in each of our clients.
Peristeri
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“stay away”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

I understand the fact that the area has few restaurants and is really busy on high season. Although... no human being can eat in such tables.... they are ridiculously small. When the placed the order the waiter asked me if i need something else, trying to sell a bit more, ok lets say i order something more when are you going to place it for gods sake? The waiters told us to wait for a while to get a table and we waited patiently. When the table was finally empty a "smart" couple that had just come [--] on our table and the waiters did nothing. It’s not my job to fight with them.
Such restaurants do very bad "promotion" on Greece

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Manolis-Greece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    119
    62
    37
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Definitely overpriced”
Reviewed May 4, 2012

Definitely misleading prices and the portions are small. Sure in the terrace the view is very nice, but that is also true for all the rest of the restaurants inside the castle. I would not recommend it, just go to Matoula Restaurant, which has the same amazing view but the prices are lower, the service and the food are much better.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sotiria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Misleading Prices -- bordering on dishonesty”
Reviewed May 1, 2012

During three weeks of travel throughout the Peloponnese, we were left with the impression that Greeks are basically an honest and sincere bunch -- we can't say that the proprietors of To Kanoni left us with the same impression. To make a long story short, we were given a bill for more than double the menu price, with a vague explanation about a charge for bread and water. Others in our traveling group shared similar stories. We are not averse to paying a little extra in a unique setting, but it would seem appropriate to advise the customer of such charges clearly and in advance of the meal. The To Kanoni folks were nothing short of misleading in our view. Dine elsewhere until they rethink their business practices.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank Poverty_Bay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RestaurantGuruGreece, General Manager at To Kanoni, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
I am sorry to hear about your experience at our Restaurant, The prices could not have being double off the menu, we do charge for bottled water though and for the bread which accompanies each person I am sorry that you were not informed in advance, but if you had let us now on time be sure that we would not have harged you since it was the waiters fault, we strive to have every client of ours satisfied and that is our goal. We hope to see you again to clear your bad impression about our establishment, thank you for your time and review, it helps us become better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens-Greece
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“try somewhere else”
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Small portions, not very well cooked at high prices
(Prices plus 20% ~ 100%! Compared to other restaurants).
[We paid ~ 95 € for 4 people's lunch and left "Kanoni" feeling "hungry"
price example: for "the traditional cake-small portion- with 2 small balls of ice cream" we paid 10,40 €!!!!!!. (5,40 € for the cake and extra 5,00 € for ice cream)
In the next restaurant we paid 72 € for 4 people's lunch and ate quite well, delicious food.
same price example: for "the traditional cake-normal portion- and 2 normal balls of Ice Cream": we paid 4,5 € instead of 10,40 €]

At last they have to understand, all those concerned with Tourism, that it is time to change their attitudes! It will be better for everyone in Greece!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank va m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location, good food, slightly overpriced”
Reviewed October 13, 2011

The location of this restaurant is great, the food is good (but not amazing), but as all places inside the castle, the prices are much higher.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Christos C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed To Kanoni also viewed

Monemvasia, Monemvasia Municipality
Monemvasia, Monemvasia Municipality
 
Monemvasia, Monemvasia Municipality
Monemvasia, Monemvasia Municipality
 

Been to To Kanoni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing