We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Memorable experience”
Review of Monopati Residence

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Monemvasia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Monopati Residence
Ranked #8 of 25 Monemvasia B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Memorable experience”
Reviewed April 11, 2014

My husband and I stayed last month for two nights at the Monopati Rooms. Since it was a slow time, were were given the house, which was very spacious. We loved the yummy breakfast in the kitchen and the interesting discussions with Isabelle Sonnard Giannou and Cristos. I had just come down with a cold and on the full day that we were there, a brisk and frigid wind blew all day. The house was a lovely place to spend the day, drinking tea and resting, and I was ready to resume the rest of our vacation. The only drawback with the place was getting our luggage up to the location.

Room Tip: Prepare to climb up and down the quait cobbled streets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank panush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
27
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We spent one week at Monopati and it was absolutely perfect. Great place, incredible breakfast overlooking the Mediterranean Sea. Very Friendly and nice host, always felt like at home!

Monemvasia was beautiful and loved to be able to stay in the middle of such a perfect little town. Don't stay on the main land, make sure you stay on the island!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FelixBorner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arusha
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

LOVED staying at Monopati. It was the perfect mix of feeling at home while away, but also having a wonderful breakfast served up each morning. Breakfasts included yogurt, breads, local treats, homemade jams, honeys - you name it! It is close to the main square, swimming access and all the shops. Very charming and perfect for a short or long stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraBorner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

What a lovely place to stay - right in the heart of the old city, a tiny house with little terrace for sitting out, not light inside because its what it is, but we were not inside all day anyway!! For us the highlight was breakfast on Isabel and Cristos terrace - what a view, and they were completely charming too.Highly recommended.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank cbvLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bath
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

I have been hesitating about writing a review, but only because I do not want too many people knowing about this beautiful place, thus making it potentially difficult for us to go back! Monemvasia is wonderful, with Byzantium remains, totally unspoilt in a stunning part of the Peloponnese. Monopati is run by a delightful couple who have managed to preserve the essence of the traditional life on the rock, but have combined it with comfort and style. The welcome is very warm and the delicious breakfasts on their balcony are to be especially recommended. Certainly one of our best holidays.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank papouBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Monemvasia is best experienced by staying inside the lower town walls, and that experience is made even greater by staying in Monopati. Other reviews capture all the reasons. The apartment/house are comfortable,and clean, and full of conveniences (from coffee maker to wifi) -- but Monopati maintains the feeling and look of its Byzantine context and setting. As Isabelle put it, to stay at Monopati is "to share our home."

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waterguy41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, NJ
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Monemvasia is one of the coolest places I have ever been. Isabel was delightful and we loved the apartment. We were traveling with our teenage daughter and we loved that we each had our own bedroom and the little kitchen, etc. was great.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lrpjak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monemvasia hotels
0.2 mi away
Likinia Hotel
Likinia Hotel
#1 of 23 in Monemvasia
415 reviews
0.2 mi away
Malvasia Traditional Hotel
Malvasia Traditional Hotel
#2 of 23 in Monemvasia
267 reviews
0.1 mi away
Byzantino Boutique Hotel
Byzantino Boutique Hotel
#4 of 23 in Monemvasia
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ardamis Traditional Guesthouse
0.2 mi away
Bastione Malvasia Hotel
Bastione Malvasia Hotel
#7 of 23 in Monemvasia
191 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lazareto Hotel
Lazareto Hotel
#14 of 23 in Monemvasia
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monopati Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monopati Residence

Property: Monopati Residence
Address: Citadel of Monemvasia (Kastro) | Laconia, Monemvasia, Monemvasia Municipality 230 70, Greece
Location: Greece > Peloponnese > Laconia Region > Monemvasia Municipality > Monemvasia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Monemvasia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monopati a long-terme residence Located in the heart of the Byzantine Citadel of Monemvasia and nestled in pristine surroundings, Monopati, an enchanting and rustic residence, invites you to settle down and relax, taking in the unique atmosphere. The houses have been restored with natural materials, blending the advantages of modern comfort with the authenticity of their medieval origins. We offer two types of lodgings at a reasonable price: ideal for a long-term stay (beginning at 14 days), whether for work, such as a sabbatical year, or for rest and recreation. Here, time has no meaning. The day starts with a copious breakfast or a dip in the clear waters of the Aegean Sea. Open year round. In Monemvasia every month has its own charm... In the end, we always arrive at the place where we are expected... from Jose Saramago ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing