We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite hotel in Denmark”
Review of Ruths Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ruths Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Skagen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 24, 2012

It is just so relaxing to stay at Ruth’s hotel in Skagen. The service is simply unique and the staff extremely friendly. You will meet a world class receptionist when checking in and be given a tour of the hotel. The breakfast is great. After a fantastic meal in the gourmet restaurant I recommend to relax by the fireplace with cappuccino and petit fours. I have stayed here several times on a romantic weekend and also stayed there with 2 children once. They also loved the relaxing atmosphere and luxury surroundings. Today when I go to Skagen to stay in my own summer house I always come back to the hotel to visit anyway. I still want to stay there from time to time.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (241)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 241 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2012

Hotels in Denmark can be average. Certainly expensive, and often with small rooms and less than friendly service. Ruth's is certainly different. We were only staying one night, so can't comment on the restaurant (apart from Breakfast). The room we had was great. A good size, with a decent bathroom and small balcony.

High class AV equipment from B&O made it a little special. We had been shopping during the day at "Slagter Munch" butcher in town and the staff happily accepted our bag of goodies to be stored overnight in the hotel fridge.

Nice toiletries and a very nice breakfast - buffet for cold and a small, but well cooked egg choice. Freshly squeezed orange juice was a bonus!

If you are looking for the ultimate in luxury, this isn't it. There are no elevators, as the hotel is not new but if you are looking for a high class place to stay in Old Skagen, (don't forget to enjoy the sunset) it is ok, but more expensive than average.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the sea and look for the larger rooms, they are not all the same size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pjanusik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

I wouldn't go back. Some pretty basic deficiencies in this five star hotel. eg no lift to room and no warning about steep stairs. Missing toiletries, had to ask on three separate occasions. Small room, charming but stuffed with things that made the stay less relaxing; huge cushions but nowhere to put them, tiny wardrobe with half the space taken up by ironing board, large impressive looking B and O sound system but no instructions. Good location but no view from any of the hotel rooms, private or public. No sea view as suggested on website. Very good breakfast, Pleasant staff, but golly you did have to wait your turn.Spa disappointing. Nice pool but littered with the debris of previous users when we went and no staff. (Nevertheless we had a great stay, mainly riding the bikes we rented from the hotel through the marvellous countryside.) I know Denmark is expensive but I felt Ruth's was very overpriced.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loglet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Ruths hotel is a 5 star hotel in old skagen. Actually it showed out to be 3 hotels, The main building and 2 other buildings a walk away. We got a room in the original old building, Standhotellet, which was cosy and nice but the double room was very small - just possible to walk around the bed - and the price per night was dkr 2000 (€268), that is overpriced. Everything else was okay. The breakfast buffet too, but nothing special, which should be expected in a 5-star hotel with these prices. In the main hotel building there was a terrasse with serving, but in the afternoon mostly with a lot of very noisy people drinking champagne and other heavy stuff - these welldressed and probably wealthy people seemed actually drunk most of them. I would choose another hotel next time - there's a lot in the beautiful area of Skagen and old Skagen. Remember to see the famous sunset from the beach in old Skagen

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jhmikkelsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Ruths Hotel is located in the old part of Skagen conveniently on the beach. It's roughly 5 kms away from the city centre of Skagen on the other side of the peninsula and thus they have the privileage of being able to enjoy the sun setting over the ocean.

The hotel is impeccable with excellent service and with a business center. It's also in a quite part of Skagen far from the touristy attractions and drunkards late at night and therefore is an option with business travellers or for meetings.

The have a restaurant with an excellent chef from France. We had well over 60 clients for dinner and we received very good ´comments from all of them. For a relax and quite setting, this is the place to be in.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DavidReiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Went with friends for a one night stay at this lovely hotel. Certainly a great experience. I would like to go there with my husband, as I found the place very romantic indeed. Loved the comfy beds, the atmosphere and luxury breakfast. I can only recommend this place.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MinistryOfTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2011

a few days away with a friend - we shared a junior suite - absolutely lovely room. Not a sound outside except the sound of the sea. Decor is beautiful, scandinavian neutrals but not dull, room had lovely high ceiling and a balcony. Lovely log fire with comfy sofas downstairs and helpful staff always on hand. good sauna and steam room. Breakfast delicious. Swimming pool perhaps a little on small side, and why the exercise bikes in the pool? but beautifully warm. Its a couple of miles from Skagen itself and without a car you might feel stuck but Skagen itself is charming, the art galleries artists houses etc well worth visiting, and otherwise walks in the sand dunes and by the sea are why you are there - and the air feels so clean. Only slight niggle, the hotel has bicycles but charges quite a bit to hire them. With a hotel at this sort of price shortish bike hire could have been thrown in

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank londonlawyer54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skagen
1.3 mi away
Color Hotel Skagen
Color Hotel Skagen
#1 of 4 in Skagen
302 reviews
10.0 mi away
Aalbaek Gl Kro
Aalbaek Gl Kro
#1 of 1 in Albaek
97 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Skibssmedien Skagen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Brondums Hotel
Brondums Hotel
#6 of 27 in Skagen
138 reviews
5.1 mi away
Holidaycenter Skagen Strand
2.8 mi away
Hotel Sonderstrand
Hotel Sonderstrand
#5 of 27 in Skagen
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruths Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruths Hotel

Address: Hans Ruths Vej 1, Skagen 9990, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Jutland > North Jutland > Skagen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Skagen
Price Range: $217 - $374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ruths Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ruths Hotel is a historic seaside hotel located in the heart of a idyllic village called Gl. Skagen that is surrounded by dunes with lyme grass and rose hip bushes and also the beach with the legendary sunset plaza on the Top of Denmark. The hotel itself consists today of four buildings with rooms and apartments designed with Danish furnitures and typical Scandinavian beach side hotel style, an underground parking garage, conference facilities and romantic banquet facilities - all within 200 meters. In the main building of Ruths Hotel is besides the reception also a wellness and spa area with a heated therapy pool, exercise machines, sauna, steam room, massage shower, and the option to book massages, beauty and fitness treatments. The culinary experince in a cozy setting can be enjoyed either in Ruths Brasserie or Ruths Gourmet with our gastronomic head chef Dennis Juhl. Between the two restaurants is our lounge, where a cup of coffee with some exclusive pampering of the sweet tooth can be enjoyed by the crackling fire from the fireplace. Despite the fact that we are a five-star hotel and many describes Ruths Hotel as a luxury hotel, we actually don't strive to give a luxury experience. We want to give our guests a five-star experience of exclusive life enjoyment, and it is with this exclusive pampering that you will experience how the heart rate drops by 10 beats, the body is forced to relax and you will achieve a sensation of presence and time for each other. We can not help it - It's in our nature ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Hotwire so you can book your Ruths Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing