We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive but narrow”
Review of Ruths Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ruths Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Skagen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Ruths hotel is a 5 star hotel in old skagen. Actually it showed out to be 3 hotels, The main building and 2 other buildings a walk away. We got a room in the original old building, Standhotellet, which was cosy and nice but the double room was very small - just possible to walk around the bed - and the price per night was dkr 2000 (€268), that is overpriced. Everything else was okay. The breakfast buffet too, but nothing special, which should be expected in a 5-star hotel with these prices. In the main hotel building there was a terrasse with serving, but in the afternoon mostly with a lot of very noisy people drinking champagne and other heavy stuff - these welldressed and probably wealthy people seemed actually drunk most of them. I would choose another hotel next time - there's a lot in the beautiful area of Skagen and old Skagen. Remember to see the famous sunset from the beach in old Skagen

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jhmikkelsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (236)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 236 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2012

Ruths Hotel is located in the old part of Skagen conveniently on the beach. It's roughly 5 kms away from the city centre of Skagen on the other side of the peninsula and thus they have the privileage of being able to enjoy the sun setting over the ocean.

The hotel is impeccable with excellent service and with a business center. It's also in a quite part of Skagen far from the touristy attractions and drunkards late at night and therefore is an option with business travellers or for meetings.

The have a restaurant with an excellent chef from France. We had well over 60 clients for dinner and we received very good ´comments from all of them. For a relax and quite setting, this is the place to be in.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DavidReiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Went with friends for a one night stay at this lovely hotel. Certainly a great experience. I would like to go there with my husband, as I found the place very romantic indeed. Loved the comfy beds, the atmosphere and luxury breakfast. I can only recommend this place.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MinistryOfTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2011

a few days away with a friend - we shared a junior suite - absolutely lovely room. Not a sound outside except the sound of the sea. Decor is beautiful, scandinavian neutrals but not dull, room had lovely high ceiling and a balcony. Lovely log fire with comfy sofas downstairs and helpful staff always on hand. good sauna and steam room. Breakfast delicious. Swimming pool perhaps a little on small side, and why the exercise bikes in the pool? but beautifully warm. Its a couple of miles from Skagen itself and without a car you might feel stuck but Skagen itself is charming, the art galleries artists houses etc well worth visiting, and otherwise walks in the sand dunes and by the sea are why you are there - and the air feels so clean. Only slight niggle, the hotel has bicycles but charges quite a bit to hire them. With a hotel at this sort of price shortish bike hire could have been thrown in

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank londonlawyer54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

My wife and I spent 2 wondeful days at Ruths Hotel in the old part of skagen. we arrived at 3 pm. The staff gave us a "tour" around the hotel which are locatet in severel buildings. We rented a Standard dobbeltroom which was placed in a building next to the main hotel building. The room was nice, clean, and cosy. After check in we went to the beach, which is right next to the hotel. Because it was my birthday we had dinner at the hotels gourmet restaurant. Book in advance, it was completely full on an ordinary tuesday evening.
It was a fantastic dinner, best lobstertail i ever had, and a fantasic wine meny. After a good nigts sleep, we had a lovely breakfast, we rented bikes at the hotel and went into Skagen city, we went to see "den tilsandede kirke", Skagen "downtown" and up to "grenen". We had lunch at "Skagen bryghus" good beer and burgers. In the evening we had dinner, at the hotels Brasserie, which was fine. After dinner we went to the beach. A bottle of champagne and a nice sunset, completet our stay.
minor details:
no aircondition, but you can open the windows.
no minibar, but you have acces to a "lounge" with cold beer, soda, vine. ect.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CM6000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

Stayed in room 35 a Junior suite with jacuzzi for 2 night during July 2011 with my husband and 5 year old son

Arriving at the hotel you are meet by a very kind receptionist who quickly check you in, show you around the hotel and follow you to your room.

The room is nicely decorated but a little boring compared to international 5 start hotel level. But it works nicely. The beds are REALLY good which is VERY importent for me
There is no need to book a room with a jacuzzi as it is the small one.
The is an outdoor terrace for this kind of rooms which is perfect when you a child with you. The is no view at al from this room!

The spa in-door pool is open from 16-18 for children. Our son loved it and it will be one of the reasons for returning. It is nice that it is only open in this period.. because then you do not have to discuss when to return to the hotel with your cildren ;o)

Breakfast is nice and have everything you want.. The egs are VERY soft as ask for one wich is more cocked.

You can have dinner at the brasseri (See other review) or the gourme restaurant. Returning in the evening you can sit by the fire and enjoy a dring or take a late dessert.

The location of the hotel is in the old part of Skagen which I can only recommend as this area is more quiet... the out door space for the Brasserie is VERY nice during the evening(Remember to book space!)

Remember to go to the dune during the sunset with a small bottle of champaign.. so charming sitting there enjoying the sun set

Room Tip: If you like an out door space with no view then book a Junior Suite with a Jacuzzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank loa380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

Stayed 2 nights to enjoy the sea, peace and true Skagen atmosphere. Well decorated rooms kept in a Maritime style. The place is known for its Jet-Set clients - rich and famous. Breakfast is ok - regular. Good for couples who want peace and time - out. Expensive and good!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank g_lundbergh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skagen
1.3 mi away
Color Hotel Skagen
Color Hotel Skagen
#2 of 4 in Skagen
286 reviews
10.0 mi away
Aalbaek Gl Kro
Aalbaek Gl Kro
#1 of 1 in Albaek
96 reviews
2.8 mi away
Brondums Hotel
Brondums Hotel
#6 of 27 in Skagen
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Skibssmedien Skagen
2.8 mi away
Hotel Sonderstrand
Hotel Sonderstrand
#5 of 27 in Skagen
35 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Petit
Hotel Petit
#3 of 27 in Skagen
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruths Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruths Hotel

Address: Hans Ruths Vej 1, Skagen 9990, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Jutland > North Jutland > Skagen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Skagen
Price Range: $221 - $380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ruths Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ruths Hotel is a historic seaside hotel located in the heart of a idyllic village called Gl. Skagen that is surrounded by dunes with lyme grass and rose hip bushes and also the beach with the legendary sunset plaza on the Top of Denmark. The hotel itself consists today of four buildings with rooms and apartments designed with Danish furnitures and typical Scandinavian beach side hotel style, an underground parking garage, conference facilities and romantic banquet facilities - all within 200 meters. In the main building of Ruths Hotel is besides the reception also a wellness and spa area with a heated therapy pool, exercise machines, sauna, steam room, massage shower, and the option to book massages, beauty and fitness treatments. The culinary experince in a cozy setting can be enjoyed either in Ruths Brasserie or Ruths Gourmet with our gastronomic head chef Dennis Juhl. Between the two restaurants is our lounge, where a cup of coffee with some exclusive pampering of the sweet tooth can be enjoyed by the crackling fire from the fireplace. Despite the fact that we are a five-star hotel and many describes Ruths Hotel as a luxury hotel, we actually don't strive to give a luxury experience. We want to give our guests a five-star experience of exclusive life enjoyment, and it is with this exclusive pampering that you will experience how the heart rate drops by 10 beats, the body is forced to relax and you will achieve a sensation of presence and time for each other. We can not help it - It's in our nature ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ruths Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing