We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The genuine Skagen-feeling”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hjorths & Kokholmshotel
Ranked #5 of 26 Skagen B&B and Inns
Asker, Norway
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The genuine Skagen-feeling”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I am so happy we stayed at this hotel, and not in the middle of busy Skagen! At Hjorths & Kokholm you get the chill-out feeling in touch with nature (sanddunes in the middle of nowhere) and Skagen-feeling (in the footsteps of Krøyer).
The lovely garden in front of hotel is a must for a cake, a glass of wine, lunch or dinner. Restaurant is the best we experienced in Skagen and worth the drive!
We stayed in the second floor at Hjorths. Steep stairs up, so be careful! (I saw an older couple crawling up the stairs) Lovely rooms in old Skagen style and a tiny balcony with no space for chairs. Rooms might be a bit old and dusty, but still charming. The rooms at Kokholms (the other building) seems to have bigger terraces and a bit more modern.
No internet connection in the rooms, but there is internet connection in reception area and livingroom in mail building.

Room Tip: Cozy old fashioned rooms, but small balconies in Hjorths. If you stay in Kokholms, there is a 150 me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harepus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    18
    6
    4
    4
See reviews for
12
37
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aarhus
Level Contributor
114 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Don´t expect TV, telephone or mini bar in the rooms (Some have a refrigerator), this is a place where you come to wind down and relax – and eat prober Danish cuisine.
Hotel is located in the middle of nowhere, which also happens to be some of the most stunning scenery in Denmark (Skagen is a short drive away).

Rooms are in the “main” building, Hjorths Hotel, and in the nearby buildings, Kokholms Hotel and Moster Kirstens Hus (Just 50 meters away). Some rooms have a balcony or terrace. In my opinion the coziest rooms are in the Hjorths part of the hotel (On the first floor), but rooms in Kokholms are larger. Rooms feel a little old, but are charming and clean. Beds are comfortable.
The beach is just 1000 meters away. If you want a morning dip, the hotel provides a bus (Book the night before you want to go, and make sure they turn on the sauna in the morning too!)
WIFI is available in the reception if you need to stay in touch with the World ;-).

The reception and restaurant (Breakfast and dinner) is found in the Hjorths building.
Breakfast is simple, but sufficient. For dinner the restaurant serves great seasonal food!

Will definitely recommend this hotel, but don´t expect a 5-star boutique hotel!
This is a simple, clean and cozy place, where one can escape the busy life. After one night here, your pulse and pace will have dropped dramatically.

Room Tip: Try to book in advance, as the hotel have a lot of regular/repeat guests. Ask for a room at Hjorths...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Calle77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Göteborg
Level Contributor
485 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

I stayed at Hjorths & Kokholmshotel in May 2012, as part of small road trip in northern Denmark.
The hotel is 10 km south of Skagen, a bit out of the main road, not far from the beach and from the great moving dune.
The room was furnished in an old style, which is quite common in that part of Denmark. The bathroom was small but adequate. Some rooms share a common bathroom in the hotel, but the price difference is not really worth it.
Walls are fine, but the hotel is overall in a quiet location.

The on-site restaurant served very good food, in a friendly atmosphere. It is a over-priced, but there are not many alternatives closer than Skagen, and it will be pricey anyway.

Recommended.

Room Tip: Some rooms face the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guillaume R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lillehammer, Norway
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

16 km outside Skagen city you will find a romantic place to sleep and eat. I remembered this hotel from 20 years ago, but had forgotten the name and the place to find it. The tourist information helped me!

We did not stay in the hotel, but had a lovely meal and another quiet and romantic experience, not far from the sea. You can also go there for just a cup of tea and a cake!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globereporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimstad, Norway
Level Contributor
79 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We had a nice room with a small balcony, excellent service from the staff, very cosy hotel. Only negative comment would be that the selection at the breakfast was slightly limited (but the quality was good). Taxi from hulsig train station to the hotel is about 12eur.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bjos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2011

The service and location of Hjorts is absoultely down memory lane. Like my grandma's house and the strange moving sanddune is a marvel! And thank god there's no tv ín the rooms, but only one i the joint livingarea at the ground floor. Don't miss it!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lund_martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannheim
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2011

The hotel is located a bit south of Skagen on the west coast, close to one of the famous sand dunes called Råbjerg Mile. The location is perfect for those who want a tranquil setting by the sea. It takes about 10 minutes to walk to the sea where you will find a gorgeous beach. The hotel itself consists of two separate buildings. We stayed in the "Kokholms" which feels like an annex but it's actually nicer situated. Breakfast is good and offers a lot of varieties. They also serve lunch and dinner at the restaurant, impeccable service and good quality.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Forscher77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Skagen hotels
7.6 mi away
Color Hotel Skagen
Color Hotel Skagen
#2 of 4 in Skagen
251 reviews
6.7 mi away
Ruths Hotel
Ruths Hotel
#1 of 4 in Skagen
211 reviews
8.8 mi away
Hotel Sonderstrand
Hotel Sonderstrand
#7 of 26 in Skagen
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Brondums Hotel
Brondums Hotel
#6 of 26 in Skagen
119 reviews
8.7 mi away
Hotel Petit
Hotel Petit
#3 of 26 in Skagen
134 reviews
8.7 mi away
Hotel Strandvejen
Hotel Strandvejen
#18 of 26 in Skagen
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hjorths & Kokholmshotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hjorths & Kokholmshotel

Property: Hjorths & Kokholmshotel
Address: Kandebakkevej 17, Skagen 9990, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Jutland > North Jutland > Skagen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Skagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hjorths & Kokholmshotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hjorths Hotel is situated 800 m from the Skaggerak Sea and 17 km from central Skagen. The hotel dates back to 1890. It offers free parking, a tranquil setting and an attractive garden with outdoor furniture. The bright, modern rooms at Hjorths Hotel offer either private or shared bathroom facilities. Some have a balcony and view over the sandy dunes of Kandestederne. The on-site restaurant uses fresh, raw products in its dishes. Guests can enjoy their breakfast and relax in the garden or on the terrace. Free wired internet access is available in public areas of Hjorths Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Cancelon, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hjorths & Kokholmshotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing