We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”
Review of Hotel Sarmata

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Sarmata
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Sandomierz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Hotel Sarmata is a charming hotel in Sandomierz, located just half a block from the entrance to the old town. The hotel has great charm and we loved our large room with lovely furnishings. The breakfast buffet was very satisfying, but the highlight was our dinner when we had horseradish soup. The staff was very friendly and met all of our needs.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (253)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Sarmata
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 253 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here on a bicycling trip booked by VBT, so I don't know the prices. We had a huge room in the Manor House which in summer would probably be very hot due to lack of a/c.
Breakfast was good not exceptional service was friendly throughout. Location excellent for touring and shopping the Old Town.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

A really neat old style hotel with a nice big room. Its location is excellent, just a few minutes walk to the old town. Nice friendly (english speaking for those of who don't speak Polish yet) staff.
Good WIFI.
Good full breakfast buffet that included tasty cookies.
Krzysztof, the propietor is a charming and fun guy, if you have a chance to chat with him.
If I am ever back in Sandomierz, there is no where else i would stay.

Room Tip: The 'attic' rooms are big.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Sarmata as part of a VBT bike tour through Poland and were very impressed with both the facility and service. The hotel is located right across the street from the main gate into Sandomierz and sits on lovely wooded grounds. Our room was newly decorated in a comfortable Old World style, very inkeeping with the Old Town buildings of Sandomierz. The bath was very up to date and everything was very clean. The breakfast buffet had lots of choices including made to order eggs & sausage, and the waitstaff was pleasant and helpful. We were fortunate enough to have a private dinner and mead tasting in the room below the restaurant, which was a wonderful experience. We tasted excellent food made from old family recipes and tried three kinds of Mead, a honey liquor made in Poland.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the main road may be a little quieter.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CiscoMadison_WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We selected Hotel Sarmata based solely on its geographic location, stayed two nights and were very pleased with the experience. It's less than a 5-minute walk to the Old Town. The extensive breakfast buffet was delicious and filling. The room was very comfortable -- a lovely breeze in the evening, we didn't even need the floor fan (in mid-August) -- with good Internet connectivity. We were on the second floor and I like the way the hallway and stairway lights are motion-sensitive, so they go on when you need them to. Most of the front desk staff speak some English (we were the only Americans in the hotel. Maybe in the town.) My husband enjoyed a "vodka tasting" at the bar one night. We wanted to have dinner in the restaurant, but that night there was quite an exuberant wedding with very loud music in the downstairs hall, so it didn't work out. We definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

I have worked fairly extensively in Poland, and have to say that this is one of the three nicest hotels I have stayed in.
Excellent staff, good food. beautiful old style rooms with modern bath facilities. Decent internet connection, worked well for the big files that I routinely work with.
Very close to old town, just a great place to stay if you happen to get to Sandomierz. O don't often write reviews for hotels, but this one was well worth the time.

Room Tip: Like most all hotels in Poland, you will be climbing stairs. Fine for me, but if you have physical p...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Best located hotel in Sandomierz - just 100 m to Opatowska Archway, with guarded parking area and garden, buildings and interiors filled with old Polish traditional character and style. Rooms small but good enough for sleeping.Pity - there is no air-condition in rooms, just ventilators.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ge0rgePL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandomierz hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Maly Rzym
Hotel Maly Rzym
#3 of 11 in Sandomierz
81 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Basztowy
Hotel Basztowy
#4 of 11 in Sandomierz
83 reviews
4.1 mi away
Dwor Dwikozy
Dwor Dwikozy
#2 of 11 in Sandomierz
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Dobry Czas Hotel
Dobry Czas Hotel
#5 of 11 in Sandomierz
13 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pod Cizemka
Hotel Pod Cizemka
#9 of 11 in Sandomierz
31 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Korona
Hotel Korona
#8 of 11 in Sandomierz
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sarmata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sarmata

Address: ul. Zawichojska 2, Sandomierz 27-600, Poland
Location: Poland > Central Poland > Swietokrzyskie Province > Sandomierz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Sandomierz
Price Range: $50 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sarmata 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sarmata located in the direct vicinity of the charming Old Town, was restored from a 19th-century mansion of a noble family. The interiors of the mansion complex, including the hotel, the restaurant and the wine cellar, which pay tribute to its signature historic details, ensure a truly memorable experience. Hotel Sarmata offers accommodation for 127 guests in 50 rooms and suites with bathroom. Hotel Sarmata is a member of Schloss-Gut-Hotels Gruppe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HRS, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Sarmata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing