We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice!”
Review of Hotel Grahor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Grahor
Ranked #2 of 9 Sezana B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Zagreb, Croatia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very nice!”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Excellent family run hotel less than 2 minutes from highway but still hidden in the forest with picturesque views of Slovenian country side. Rooms are well equipped, clean and have all amenities you would expect from 4* for price of 3*. Free parking, free internet and fresh prepared a la carte breakfast included in the price. For dinner I highly recommend to try the in-house restaurant - amazing food, that has taste of Balkan but is served and prepared with European manners. Polite staff - both in restaurant and in the hotel. Regardless if you need overnight stay on your way to/form Italy or would like to spend quite weekend with someone - this is much better option than in most places in Friuli Venice region. I give 5 points for excellent value for money relation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doktor24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    19
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
28
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

We were in a hurry to find a convenient hotel as we were moving from Barcelona to Budapest and needed a place to stay ont he way. This hotel came as a surprise as it was only a few min front the highway but looked a felt nothing like it. The conjoined restaurant had very good food and has extremely polite waiters as did the hotel. We enjoyed the brief stay very much and would any time recommend the place either for short or long term stay. Very nice indeed!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mette U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

My wife and I stayed here when doing business in nearby Ajdovscina Slovenia. The hotel, built a number of decades ago, offers current amenities while keeping the charm of an old-world hotel. The room was well appointed, clean, and comfortable with views of the Slovenian countryside. It sits just off the Motorway which runs to nearby Trieste, Italy.

While staying there, we made an excursion to Trieste, a 15 minute drive from the hotel. I strongly suggest consideration of this hotel when visiting Trieste, as it is a great value and allows you to avoid the congestion of the city when not absolutely necessary. The staff was friendly and there is a restaurant on property and breakfast is available just off the lobby.

There are certainly nicer hotels in Trieste, but for your dollar, you simply cannot go wrong staying at this hotel and saving your Euros for other travelling expenses. It is quaint, attractive, and comfortable. What more can you ask from any hotel?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank provoshane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, England
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

This small hotel is situated not far from the motorway, in the quiet village of Dane, near Sezana. It's easy to spot, it has a big sign on its roof. I'm not sure who'd normally use this hotel, unless, like us you're visiting the Lipizza stud nearby, but if you find yourself travelling to/from from Croatia etc, do stay here, it's a real little gem.

Our deluxe room cost 100 Euro for one night, and was really plush with a lovely sunny balcony. Everywhere was spotless and staff very polite and helpful. The manager even delivered a plate of freshly-picked cherries to our room!

The co-owned restaurant is just around the corner and the food was fabulous. Again, the staff here were very courteous. In the morning, breakfast was a virtual feast and we left feeling stuffed to capacity!

On the whole, I can highly recommend this hotel. It was the best hotel we stayed in during a trip through Europe.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EloquentSwanJoggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marzabotto
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

The staff is very friendly and speaks both German and Italian.
The room was little, but very comfortable and in a quiet, very silent position.
The breakfast was good and various.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Italian68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Namur, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
394 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2012

This hotel is a real delight. All is perfect: staff friendliness and skills, room size and comfort for a reasonable price, breakfast and attending restaurant. Free wifi works well in all rooms and the vicinity is great for the occasional jog. The view on Sezana is beautiful from the balcony.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paarl, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2011

The hotel is set in a beautiful setting. The rooms are up to standard, but the staff at the hotel are appalling in customer relations. It started when we wanted to go for dinner. The young grumpy man at the recption said that the restaurant was at the back of the hotel. So we wandered out in search. This is not a big property. We went to the back, to the building alongside the car park but could not find anything that resembled a restaurant. We went back to the reception and asked him again where the restaurant was. He says "Can't you find it?" I said "Obviously not, otherwise I wouldn't be here asking you again." He says just go to the back, through the passage and right, you'll find it there. We eventually did, but a simple explanation would have worked alternatively, if the staff are unable to direct, a sign would have helped.
The restaurant is fabulous, the service excellent and the food really good.

Then came the next saga. I thought I had left my Rolex watch and diamond ring in the room, at this stage we were in Italy. I called and asked if they could send someone to the room and check, alternatively could they ask the maid (only one) if she saw them. I expected a simple yes madam, we will do so. The answer I got was the maid has gone home, call tomorrow.

I said I was in a fairly nervous state and could they not call her and ask her, or could they not call the receptionist that was on duty earlier in the day, if she had them handed into her.
The recptionist reluctantly said he would go and look in the room.

I called back later to ask if he found them, only to be put onto the manager. He proceeded to yell at me and tell me how stupid I was for leaving them behind. I advised him that it was very stupid of me, but surely these things happen often and a search of the room and a chat with the maid is what I expected.

I sent an email, advising that a reward would be offered if they found the items.

To my relief I found them the next day, tucked away in my luggae, which I stupidly had forgotten.

I found them obnoxious to say the least.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sezana
19.8 mi away
Kempinski Palace Portoroz
1.2 mi away
Hotel Tabor
Hotel Tabor
#1 of 1 in Sezana
33 reviews
7.7 mi away
Hotel Miramare
Hotel Miramare
#6 of 50 in Trieste
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 mi away
Hotel Franz
Hotel Franz
#1 of 2 in Gradisca d'Isonzo
617 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Maestoso
Hotel Maestoso
#1 of 1 in Lipica
126 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Prunk
Hotel Prunk
#5 of 9 in Sezana
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grahor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grahor

Property: Hotel Grahor
Address: Dane pri Sezhani 9A, Sezana 6210, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Slovenian Littoral Region > Sezana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Sezana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grahor 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Grahor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing