We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magical weekend”
Review of Hotel Nautilus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Nautilus
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Tabor
Certificate of Excellence
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
“Magical weekend”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

we spent with my husband a very enjoyable weekend at hotel Nautilus. The entire hotel is tastefully renovated. staff is helpful and nice, excellent food, pleasant wellness. hotel is located in the historical center of Tabor, an evening stroll the ancient streets is great. Stay at this hotel I recommend.
Renata, Prague

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renata V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    53
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
42
138
15
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Altos, California, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

This is a gem of a hotel. Nicely located at the corner of a medieval village square, it is impeccably & tastefully furnished. Everything looks new, polished and clean. The rooms are large. The complimentary bottle of Bohemian Sekt was very much appreciated and enjoyed with pastries purchased at the village bakery across the square. Food in the restaurant was excellent. The serving and hotel staff were all quite helpful. My group of 5 travelers all truly enjoyed this hotel.
Medieval Tabor was laid out with intentionally confusing streets. So it took awhile to navigate our rental van into the village square. And the first time we tried to leave town took even longer, requiring a 2 block backing up one of the narrow old streets to reverse direction. But who cares, c'est la vie. This was just a top notch, top tier hotel in a very pleasant and interesting village to visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WMV2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philly Steeler
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Stayed here with our 3 children and Grandpa. Wow! The rooms are huge, the bathrooms more than spacious and the kids loved everything about it! It is ideally located on the town square and the view out of the window was postcard perfect. The renovations were done with such taste. Everywhere you look there is another interesting artifact or piece of art. From the outside, you would have no idea that the inside holds such treasures. The kids enjoyed the rooms overlooking the town square. Everything about the facility from the location to the decor makes it the perfect place to relax after a day of touring and even as a jumping off spot to Praha, Vienna, Bratislava, Munich etc. There is so much in the area to enjoy and discover should you decide to stay a few days. Just people watching from the restaurant, Goldie is fun. Consider taking the tour to the town's underground. We stayed in August and despite the fact that there is no air conditioning, we were not uncomfortable. Our rooms had 2 very large windows and a fan. That made it fun for the kids to people watch from their "birds eye view." Breakfast was delicious. We had no trouble communicating with the staff. The WiFi was appreciated and worked in the rooms. The huge tub in the bathroom was both welcome and relaxing. The rooms had ample places for luggage, they were well lit and modern. Would not hesitate in recomending this facility to singles, couples for a romantic getaway and families on vacation.

Room Tip: First floor rooms overlooking the town square and restaurant are ideally located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhillySteeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I don't usually write reviews, however cannot help myself and have to do it this time. Me and my wife (chronically "difficult" hotel guest :-) ) stayed at the Nautilus in Tabor Czech rep. mid September 2012 for couple of nights. From the moment we walked in we were simply astonished. Great atmosphere and very well designed place. What, however, makes it a real treasury, is the staff, service in general, spotless-clean room and a marvellous food. There is NO one staff without a smile. They were all very helpful and friendly. Everything and everyone runs just so smoothly... Great breakfast with some czech home-made pastries (nice surprise) and a smashing dinner with lovely restaurant atmosphere (yet again, made mainly by staff, although the restaurant itself is a pearl). Shame tripadvisor does not offer more stars for rating. We travel a lot and have to say we we've never been treated like at the Nautilus, not even in the "well known" 5*s! The Nautilus and its staff deserve 10+ points and we'll be definitely back! Well done and keep the great job!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Hotel Nautilus is set in a perfect location on the corner of the town square. We stayed in a room on the top floor. The hotel is upscale and beautifully decorated with fossils and geologic specimens, however our room was modestly decorated compared to the rest of the hotel. We can't give an excellent rating because although the room was quiet, there were no windows, only a single skylight (that could be opened). So if you don't want to stay in an attic, don't stay on the top floor. The staff at reception were excellent, although she forgot to give me my credit card with the receipt, requiring a return taxi drive back to get it. The breakfast is excellent and one morning they even delivered it to our room when we requested it. The restaurant on site, Goldie's, has a lovely atmosphere and was generally excellent food, but the risotto and salmon I had one night were so salty that it was difficult to enjoy. Unfortunately for us the restaurant staff speak German but little English compared to other restaurants even elsewhere in Tabor so it was a little difficult to figure out what to order. Service was prompt and courteous. I would definitely recommend and return to this hotel (just not an attic room) and eat in the lovely restaurant. It is a jewel in the small historic town of Tabor.

Room Tip: Our top floor room had no window, just a skylight that could be opened.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westernyank180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

The Hotel Nautilus is a well designed modest hotel with the perfect location on the town square of Tabor. While the rooms and bathrooms are small, every effort was made to have a perfect placement of hooks and surfaces to put luggage for two people. The rooms do not have A/C which can be a problem in the summer. Wifi reception was excellent. In a word Charming!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Tabor is a very sweet little town with everything of interest is based around the town square where the Hotel Nautilus is situated. It has been revived by an English couple who have very tastefully decorated the rooms. They are all apparently different. Ours was very comfortable with good wifi reception.

The only slight issue I have is that all the rooms are on the narrow cobblestone street which is one of the main access points to the square (one way so it isn't too busy). It was beautiful balmy weather and it would have been great to leave the windows open at night but we had to close them. No sound when they are closed. We also had a very good meal at their restaurant.

Secure parking is available out of the square so you have to drop the bags and then park if you have a car. It is only a couple of short streets away.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tabor
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palcat
Hotel Palcat
#2 of 7 in Tabor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Tabor
Hotel Tabor
#5 of 7 in Tabor
3.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wellness & Congress Hotel Dvorak Tabor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel Elzet
Hotel Elzet
#4 of 7 in Tabor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
24.1 mi away
Hotel Biograf
Hotel Biograf
#1 of 8 in Pisek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
24.3 mi away
Hotel Concertino Zlata Husa
Hotel Concertino Zlata Husa
#1 of 3 in Jindrichuv Hradec
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nautilus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nautilus

Property: Hotel Nautilus
Address: Zhizhkovo nam. 20/20, Tabor 390 01, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > South Bohemian Region > Tabor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Tabor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nautilus 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nautilus is a new boutique 22-room hotel on the main square of Tabor, a medieval hill-top town one hour's drive south of Prague in beautiful Southern Bohemia. The interior was designed by the British owners and is decorated in a unique style including fossils, modern art and antique restored Czech furniture. The restaurant serves international food and the surrounding countryside includes numerous stunning castles and villages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel Nautilus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nautilus Hotel Tabor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing