We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel and very nice stuff, however I expected better food service.”
Review of Hotel Kukucka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Kukucka
Certificate of Excellence
Bratislava, Slovakia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel and very nice stuff, however I expected better food service.”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

I spend 2 nights in September there. Room was clean, modern and charming designed. We enjoyed all provides services. The only thing was the food service. We expected higher quality.
To sum up I would deffinitly recommend this hotel! :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindulienocka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    37
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
56
41
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We recently spent a long weekend at this hotel, staying in a standard room and using the meal plan (breakfasts and dinners at the hotel restaurant) as they were included in our voucher.

Location - I was surprised the hotel is right by the road. It does have beautiful views of the mountains, though, depending which side your room is on.

Decor - the hotel is all wood, wood and wood. At times, when I returned to our room, I felt like I was in a finnish sauna, because of the wooden smell :) However, the decor is nice, very winter-shaby-chic, with linen curtains with snowflakes on them. The bathroom is very polished with a wonderful shower rain head. Just the toilet behind the door is quite squished there.

Meals - I was excited to eat at the hotel as the menu lists such gourmet options as coconut risotto or all kinds of steaks. However, the meal plan was very simple and ordinary Slovak cuisine, with nothing special. It felt more like 3 rather than 4 stars, so I was a bit disappointed. Worst of all, seems like they do not understand what it means to be a vegetarian in the Tatras - despite having asked about the meal options before our arrival, and being assured vegetarian options would be available - 2 nights out of three there was chicken soup and no non-meat options. So I expected a bit more from a hotel that positions itself as international.

Room Tip: Request a mountain view if you can - you will avoid the road right under your window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zuzana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Litvinov, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I think this is the best hotel in Tatranska Lomnica. I just came back from business trip and I need to share my experiences on this really great website that helped me with finding. Price of accommodation is reasonable for comfort.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plzen, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
229 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Beautiful, clean and new hotel, one of the best in Vysoke Tatry. Great staff, modern interiors and very quality kitchen! There is also small, but great wellness, its needed to book wellness some time in advance, so you have privacy for 2 hours just for yourself! Absolutely recommend!

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view, its amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blechaluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pardubice
Level Contributor
96 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

This is a nice mountain hotel with typical design inside and outside, lot of wood was used for a construction. Price of accommodation is acceptable, you do not pay much more for a half board option and in fact there are not many acceptable restaurants in the area so it is a good option. We had in the package also one dinner in their sister restaurant Humno which was a nice change and food was very good there. Telling the true, breakfast in the hotel is very good, nice selection, local products but half board dinner is worse, main course was not very tasty but you will get a good quantity instead (appetizer, soup, main course and big desert). Year ago we did not have the half board so we eat a la carte food and it was not so great, too (only much more expensive). Staff is nice, free Wi-Fi and parking.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karel123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahti, Finland
Level Contributor
105 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Stayed 2 nights at hotel Kukucka. Suite with one bedroom,kitchen and bath with whirlpool. Had dinner with business friend first evening - disappointing as food had no taste, porl tenderloins and sidedish something I don't know. But next morning and second morning breakfast was excellent. You can order egg dishes etc, cappucino. Fresh bread was available, croissants, nice salami, fruits, ananas etc. Staff was very polite and could english. Menu was also in english. Overall though dinner disapapointment also restaurant is ok but especially room was very good. And the location with superb view to Tatra is excellent. Try to get a good price and then this hotel is highly recommendable. Hotel lobby has a special fireplace seems to be a soapstone one - would have been nice seeing a real fire!

Room Tip: Choose room/ suite not on he street side as the mountains are on the back side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jukka L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debrecen, Hungary
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed with two children at Residence Kukucka two times for 3 nights, and it is for sure that we will return in summertime too. The apartments are furnished with top quality materials. One can see that the investor did not care about the price of furniture, appliances etc. Quqlity was the most important factor. (Two big size flat screen TV-s in the apartment from the top brand.) Through free reservation there are sauna areas are available, so you can use it as a private sauna. The breakfast is outstanding with all the choices for adults and kids. Staff speaks fluent english. To be honest I am always critical with the hotels, apartments where we stay, so in this regard I am not an easy person, but I could not find a fault at this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viktor_HU_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tatranska Lomnica
0.4 mi away
Hotel Lomnica
Hotel Lomnica
#1 of 6 in Tatranska Lomnica
40 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel SLOVAN Tatranska Lomnica
Hotel SLOVAN Tatranska Lomnica
#2 of 6 in Tatranska Lomnica
75 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grandhotel Praha
Grandhotel Praha
#1 of 9 in Vysoke Tatry
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Grandhotel Stary Smokovec
Grandhotel Stary Smokovec
#1 of 1 in Stary Smokovec
209 reviews
10.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Kempinski High Tatras
1.2 mi away
Hotel Lesna
Hotel Lesna
#1 of 3 in Stara Lesna
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kukucka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kukucka

Property: Hotel Kukucka
Address: Tatranska Lomnica 059 60, Slovakia (Formerly Kukucka Moutain Hotel)
Location: Slovakia > Presov Region > Tatranska Lomnica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Tatranska Lomnica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kukucka 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel KUKUCKA is located in the centre of one of the most beautiful and the most visited villages in the High Tatra Mountains - Tatranska Lomnica village, where one of the longest ski slopes in Slovakia ends. In the close surrounding of this High Tatras village breathing with history there you can find lots of unique natural phenomena like caves and waterfalls. There are more than 600 km of hiking paths and even a possibility to take a trip to the top of the Lomnicky stit (2634 m high peak) by a suspension cableway, to make it short to the most beautiful view of the eastern Slovakia. Picturesque surroundings of the High Tatras, harmony of nature, luxurious and comfortable accommodation - the ideal place for your holiday. You will love to relax in a magnificent style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Kukucka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing