We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent flavors!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kybynlar

Kybynlar
Ranked #5 of 24 Restaurants in Trakai
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Harelbeke, Belgium
Level Contributor
139 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Excellent flavors!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

We went to Trakai on a Monday when the castle museum was closed but luckily we discovered this place was open. We had soup, Kibinas and a fish pie. All very tasty. The atmosphere and interior were not super but the good food made up for it.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    110
    39
    16
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zaporizhzhya, Ukraine
Level Contributor
176 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Usual place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

We visited this place on our way to bus stop. Just wanted to try those local pies (kibinas). Nothing special to be honest, we ordered the ones with spinach and they tasted as usual pies with spinach. The design can impress only those who never ever saw old carpets and old tables. My grandmother had a lot of such stuff in her house. So, don't expect much from the place.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank brilliantcreature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katowice, Poland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Not so excellent as expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

We've chosen this restaurant because of the recommendations in the internet. However, we were somehow disappointed, especially by the interior and the lack of the athmosphere. The design is simple. Bad impression is made by the storage of tissues, saltshakers, pillows and other stuff just in the entrance to the restaurant. It doesn't encourage to enter and shows the lack of respect for the customer. Additionaly, there was a big gas canister aside the buffet. Sitting in the first room near the buffet you can watch the open back room and hear the talks of the staff while eating. During our visit the MTV channel was running in the restaurant. It obviously didn't make a good karaim climate.
Having said that, the dishes tasted good. For grape leaves filed with meat and fried choped chicken with couscous plus one tea we paid about 43 LT (using 10% discount thank to the brochure from the tourist info point in Trakai). The western european tourist wouldn't find it expensive.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lech S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't miss it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

I chose this restaurant when reading tourist brochure about Trakai. Why? Because I wanted to try the traditional Karaim cuisine. And it was excellent choice. We went there for lunch with my parents and my brother when waiting for trip boat through the Galvė lake around the Castle. It was sunny day so we decided to stay outside on a big terrace. Very nice surprise was that menu contained the pictures of the food.This helped to decide. We started with kybyns – 4 different (beef, chicken, curd + spinach and with cabbage). Price between 4-7 Lt per piece. All of them were very good. Of course we tried a beer and of course the local one called KYBYNLAR (0,5l for 6 Lt).Then we saw something that looked really interesting called ČANACH but it was mentioned that the preparation will need more time. In order to be in time for the departure of boat we decided to take just a soup. As it was hot we decided to taste JAZMA (cold soup with cucumber and garlic). It was fantastic. There were not many guests so we were served quickly. We really enjoyed our lunch. And one advice: do not forget to take a free copy of brochure of Tourist Pass 2013 – Vilnius-Trakai-Druskininkai, in the Tourist Information Centre (Vytauto str.69) www.trakai-visit.lt/en/tourist-information-centre. It is full of discount coupons and you will find there even one for this restaurant (10% discount).

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Evina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tartu, Estonia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Kinbins are good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Happened to eat their on our first day in Trakai. As a result have made it our eating base :) Very good kinbins and beef pie. Mutton not excellent, but pretty good. Recommend.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank iNikem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kybynlar also viewed

Trakai, Vilnius County
 
Trakai, Vilnius County
Trakai, Vilnius County
 
Trakai, Vilnius County
 

Been to Kybynlar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing