We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A marketing coup or a substitute cook”

Le Petit Gourmand (Hotel Pod Jasany)
Price range: $7 - $34
Cuisines: Czech, French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Le Petit Gourmand The cosy restaurant with 20 seats and a 10-person salon with a fireplace will surprise you with its almost homely atmosphere. The intimate environment is fine for romantic moments over extraordinary gourmand experience. Suitable also for business meetings or business dinners. The menu offers specialties of Krkonoše, French and international cuisine, including venison and fish. Most of the food is imported fresh, even from suppliers in France. Our own wine cellar offers a wide selection of French wines from Burgundy, Bordeaux, Cotes du Rhone, Provence, Alsace, Loire valley as well as the best wines from Moravia, especially from the guru of the Moravia vineyards Mr. Miloš Michlovský. You can taste them in our stylish wine cellar. The offer of wines is complemented with a selection of various French and Czech cheese. Download wine list here. Wine list - Le Petit Gourmand In summer we have a garden restaurant open with a garden house under the spreading ash trees and an outside grille, where we can prepare specialties in the open air. The team of our chef Radim Pitrun is looking forward to your visit. You can book your seats in advance. We want you to come back... just like you come back home.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
128 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“A marketing coup or a substitute cook”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Look at the presentation photo: an interesting plate well prepared, kind of mixed with visibly enough energy to compensate a good day of ski and enough preparation to look tasty,

It is a great marketing photo. Enjoy it because we did not see any. Le Petit gourmand is killed by its marketing which promises you a nice restaurant with French accent and fresh products. Great photos (even of the chef)... to be short you're hungry just reading the site. A successful marketing.

The result is poor: no trace of the fresh products, no creativity, a short menu (in order to mask the poverty of creations), a disappointment. Especially in comparison to the hotel nearby.

So forget this restaurant, even the good wine card will not enable you to forget the bad experience

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank WillyHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    8
    1
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Very unfortunate, failing asset in otherwise very good hotel”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Le petit gourmand is the restaurant of the Pod Jasany Hotel. If I have only positive things to say about the hotel (very nice), they unfortunately do not apply to the restaurant!
Don't really know where to begin... As guests in the hotel, we went for dinner the first evening, with some expectations due to the previous reviews and the rank of the restaurant in the village (ranked nr 1 at the time). We had a special welcome from the waitress, who clearly was very irritable, quite rigid and most unpolite. The food we ordered showed to be simply terrible:
Rabbit was very dry and hard with a sad and bitter greyish sauce (microwaved?), Duck had same consistence but served without sauce, Veal cheeks were greasy, without finesse and a very small portion, goose liver was lackluster etc. Desserts were equally poor... Only dish that was OK was the carpaccio, though the cheese shavings were no Parmesan, but a local and less tasty alternative. Wine list is quite good and wine pricing is rather attractive.
To us it seemed like the chef that might have once runner the restaurant, have now abandoned the place and is nowhere to be found. All in all, a dinner to forget! There are plenty of very good alternatives in this small village. Choose them until Le Gourmand finds back a chef.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank hosteratu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Creative!”
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

It was a convenient choice for us since we were staying at Hotel Pod Jasany. But the food wasn't disappointing and the prices were reasonable.
We were there for three evenings. Service can vary depending on the staff on duty. The friendliest was the guy.
The lack of variety for children's menu is however quite true.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank backingermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Hlavni Mesto Praha, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very tasty food”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Great food, only one imperfection was food for children - small variety. But I think that this restaurant specialized for adult, who want to have delicious food and vine, so in this point, it was really great

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Katie_Prague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Very disappointed.”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

In the hotel Pod Jasany we're staying because of a local restaurant Le Petit Gourmand and a their rich wine card. The restaurant was a big mistake, the hotel is cosy.

Unfortunately, the restaurant is so small that you feel like a sardine in a can. The whole restaurant is large like our bathroom at home :-( At breakfast there were screaming infants and you can't sit anywhere else, tables and chairs outside were wet and no one cared.

Dinner was terrible. The soup was pretty good and the beetroot ravioli with goat cheese too. But unfortunately, that's all. We chose the wine Chateau La Gaffeliere 1999 Grand Cru Classé, we had to wait a long time, and then we heard it was sold out. No dressing on salad, I had to make at least salt, pepper and balsamico vinegar. Deer tenderloin was too much roasted and tough and so much cream was no mention on the menu.
The big tragedy was the veal cheeks. It should be best speciality of this restaurant, but it's the worst. DISGUSTINGLY FATTY MEAT. We couldn´t eat it. See photo. The staff said arrogant that no one apologize for it (!) that „this is ok, because it is a very young meat and it can´t be trim off“. What?! Supposedly they are best in the Czech Republic about cheeks... Absolutely not!!! Sorry, but we're not stupid. We had so much cheeks, we know how to look. And everywhere else was better than here.
By the way, the staff in the wannabe „gourmet restaurant“ I won't comment. Never more.

In Spindleruv Mlyn are several restaurants, which are definitely better than this horror. Go for example to restaurant Bakchus (excellent steak tartar) or Appetite Restaurant in the hotel Lomnice.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank eTrezalka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Petit Gourmand (Hotel Pod Jasany) also viewed

Spindleruv Mlyn, Krkonose National Park
Spindleruv Mlyn, Krkonose National Park
 
Spindleruv Mlyn, Krkonose National Park
Spindleruv Mlyn, Krkonose National Park
 
Spindleruv Mlyn, Krkonose National Park
Spindleruv Mlyn, Krkonose National Park
 

Been to Le Petit Gourmand (Hotel Pod Jasany)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing