We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware!”
Review of Hotel Sigulda

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Sigulda
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Sigulda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We booked a room for two nights at this hotel online, guranteed with a credit card. Before leaving for Latvia, I reconfirmed with the hotel who sent us a confirmation letter which I printed and brought with me. After a very uncomfortable bus ride to Sigulda (no AC, mid-day on a 90+ degree, humid afternoon), we walked to the hotel with our bags. We were excited by the look of the hotel and were even more excited to check in, shower and start exploring the area. When we reached the reception desk we were asked 'Do you have a car"?, when we explained no, we came by bus, the two employees at reception explained there was a problem and "we gave your room away". Their explanation was that there was an orchestra staying in the hotel who had a few more members than they reserved for so they simply gave our room away. We were stunned! No matter that we guranteed with our credit card or that we had a confirmation in hand, they simply gave away our room. When they realized we were unable to simply get in a car and go away, they then called another hotel nearby who thankfully had room and took us in. They should have done this before we arrived when they decided not to honor our reservation.No offer either of helping us to the other hotel with our bags, simply pointed us in the direction and let us schlep ourselves over there. No apology, they gave us a split of wine as a token. Things happen in travel but this was inexcusable and there were a lot of simple things they could have done to make up for giving away our room. I would not recommend risking your vacation and booking this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
2  Thank Bpatton22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Sigulda, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Sigulda, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear Bpatton22,

We are extremely sorry to learn that you were disappointed.

You were transferred to the other hotel because of chamber orchestra’s „Kremerata Baltica” stay at our hotel and festival in Sigulda. Artists changed their repetition schedule, therefore we had to transfer Your reservation. Our emplyees pre-booked room for You in two hotels in advance (SPA hotel Ezeri and Hotel Pils) depending on Your transportation possibilities.

We sincerely apollogize for the inconveniences caused to You and hope for Your understanding!

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (179)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 179 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2013

Visited Sigulda with my friend and stayed in Hotel Sigulda. We had a room in new part 1st floor, it was clean and neat, furniture and mattresses were new. There was a hairdrayer, shower gel and shampoo provided. Hotel staff was very helpful with information about touristic places. The breakfast was nice - good choice of tasty food. Location is fantastic - everything is pretty close to the hotel. In the restaurant we enjoyed just a glass of wine, but we saw the food of other guests - it looked really good, nicely decorated.

Room Tip: new building rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Sigulda, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Sigulda, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear Jane L,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about Hotel Sigulda with other travelers.

I was pleased to read your wonderful review – it is always good to hear that our guests have had a wonderful experience.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we are looking forward to your next visit and wish you all the best!

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for one night in the weekend with my boyfriend. The location of the hotel is great – very central and close to all touristic places. Staff was friendly and helpful. We really liked breakfast – hot and cold options available. The city itself was quiet, but nicely decorated for Christmas and landscapes were really beautiful as the snow has covered everything. Very romantic....

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Keily T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Sigulda, Manager at Hotel Sigulda, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Dear Keily T,

Thank you for taking the time to post your experience at Hotel Sigulda with other travellers on Tripadvisor.

I was pleased that you were happy with most aspects of your stay and liked breakfast.

We are looking forward to welcome you in our hotel again in near future!

Best regards from Sigulda,
Liene Dudko

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Location is very good, by the bus and train station. A mixture of old and new building. Reception staff helpful. Rooms at new building are spacious. Clean bathroom. The manager must be very tight so... take shower gel/shampoo, hair drier with you. No tea or coffee facilities in the room. Breakfast was ok, but run out of toast bread and variety decreased by weekdays.Constant dripping on tin roof/ gutters at night can be annoying. We did notmanage to use swimming pool and sauna due to inconvenient opening times. Unpleasant room smell at times, so we had the window open. I would try another hotel if I visit Sigulda again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NIKEF2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Sigulda, Manager at Hotel Sigulda, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Dear NIKEF2,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about Hotel Sigulda with other travelers.

Please accept our sincere apologies for inconvenience caused to you due to water dripping on roof. In the middle of January we will start a renovation of hotel rooms in the part of the hotel where you stayed.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we will do our best to make your next visit to our hotel pleasant.

With kind regards,
Liene Dudko

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Booked double & twin weeks prior only to be told that no double available upon check-in. Very sparse, with 70's woodchip walls painted drab yellow/brown; not even hairdryer! Constant dripping on tin roof/ gutters at night kept me awake. Fancied a swim after breakfast-informed pool didn't open til late-afternoon and @ LVL5 extra!! Penny-pinching hotel!!
+ve notes - central, car-park & friendly.

Room Tip: If you must be central, get a GUARANTEE for room type prior and negotiate for FREE pool use if you c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maris-Potato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Sigulda, Manager at Hotel Sigulda, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Dear Maris-Potato,

We appreciate your constructive feedback and regret to hear that you were not quite satisfied with the guest room which didn't meet your expectations.

I want to ensure you that we take guest comments seriously as they help us in our plans to further planning of our guest room renovation. We will start a renovation in the new part of the hotel in the middle of January.

Best regards,
Liene Dudko

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

At 40 lats a night we didnt expect any luxury hotel, but overall this was our most dissapointing accomondation while in Latvia. We stayed in a room in the "new" part which seems like something from the 80s. There was this unpleasant smell in the room like somone had wet the bed and they had tried to mask it with an overdose of perfume.

The bathroom was in better condition than the room itself!

The breakfast was decent, but they could have filled up with egg/bacon. We never did see the eggs, and when the staff came in with a plate of bacon everyone in the room "rushed" there to get the few slices they refilled with.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MagicByte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Sigulda, Manager at Hotel Sigulda, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Dear MagicByte,

Thank you for posting your comments about our hotel in Tripadvisor.

I want to ensure you that we take guest comments seriously as they help us in our plans to further planning of guest room renovation and improve standards of quality and guest comfort we wish to offer our guests. Therefore in the middle of January we will start a renovation of the hotel part where you stayed to improve hotel rooms and guest comfort.

Please accept our sincere apologies for inconvenience caused to you due to breakfast. I ensure you that we will do our best in order to prevent such situations during guests stay at our hotel.

With kind regards,
Liene Dudko

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2011

The strong points are the central location, the friendly staff and the facilities for training courses, seminars and conferences.
Good breakfast.
The double room was clean and the bathroom quite large.
The elevator for luggage works only if you ask for permission.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulcristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sigulda
1.6 mi away
Spa Hotel Ezeri
Spa Hotel Ezeri
#3 of 10 in Sigulda
83 reviews
0.5 mi away
Livonija
Livonija
#2 of 10 in Sigulda
59 reviews
0.8 mi away
Segevold Hotel
Segevold Hotel
#8 of 10 in Sigulda
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Aparjods Hotel
Aparjods Hotel
#4 of 10 in Sigulda
49 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pils
Hotel Pils
#5 of 10 in Sigulda
49 reviews
14.7 mi away
Karlamuiza Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sigulda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sigulda

Address: Pils Street 6, Sigulda 2150, Latvia
Location: Latvia > Vidzeme Region > Sigulda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Sigulda
Price Range: $51 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sigulda 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Sigulda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing